Bliss is Being up to the Adventure

Heaven

(Photo credit: irunandshoot)

“We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us.”  ~ Joseph Campbell.

 I think what Mr. Campbell said was exceedingly wise: get out of the way of your life and live it.

 Reminds me of the saying: “Man plans. God laughs.” My first interpretation of this is that we are silly to plan, that we cannot make things happen according to our Type A personalities, and that life is just too random to plan for.

 But I have read an interpretation of this same saying which proves that there are at least two sides to every story. I cannot remember who it was, but they made the point that God is not laughing at our plans ~ she is laughing with us and encouraging us.

I don’t think we are supposed to throw our hands up and let what happens, happen. God likes it when we use our resources to make things happen—but we have to remember that everything does not always go according to plan.

I have made and fulfilled plans. And been disappointed at the outcome. I have done things by the seat of my pants and been rewarded.  I am now taking Campbell’s words to heart and letting go of the life I planned (but not giving up on planning) and accepting the life I have been given.

Life is a mystery. We can plan for it—but we must also plan to be surprised. Campbell has a pithy observation about this too. He said:  “The big question is whether you are going to be able to say a hearty yes to your adventure.”

Bliss is being up for the adventure—what do you think?

Published in: on June 2, 2013 at 2:28 pm  Comments (37)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/06/02/bliss-is-being-up-to-the-adventure/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

37 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ah, that’s the challenge…like you, I weave between being a planner, down to minute detail, and winging it! And yes, I’ve had success with both approaches, as well as failure. I think life has a way of showing us that we have to become adaptable and flexible…no point in being rigid, there is too much we can’t control. But I could never give up planning for the “next.” Planning makes me think, makes me participate, makes me invested in what I do. Happy Sunday! ~ Sheila

    • “Planning makes me think” — I think that is the best argument that can be made for planning! Thanks

  2. It’s a good philosophy – just let go and live. We’ve all had interferences in our plans at some point. Our first response is usually to buckle down, figure it out and make a plan to overcome. But once you accept the change or challenge and decide to go with the flow, life becomes easier and more relaxed. Mostly. :) I cant say its always easy though.

    • no–it is not always easy–I am facing stuff I am trying to work through right now and it is not easy, but hopefully it will make the future better

      • I thought you might be making your way through something based on your last few posts. I hope you have lots of support and are taking care of yourself through it.

      • you are very astute–thank you for your kind thoughts and I hope you are feeling better

      • I’m getting there, thanks.

  3. I agree pretty much 100% with what you said! Letting go of our notions of what is ‘supposed to happen’ is very hard to do, and yet quite necessary for true growth. Also interesting to note how you can make progress, then still, months later, find yourself falling into the same silly thought patterns! Great post.

    • it takes time to change our patterns–and I find myself in the same ruts sometimes and having to dig myself out one more time–apparently I did not learn the lesson well enough the first, second, third, fourth………….times

  4. Most definitely!

  5. Saying yes to this hearty adventure with you, LouAnn, and remembering to dance with God’s plans and let Him lead sometime. OK, most of the time.

    • hard to give up control, although I do not think we are not meant to have some input

  6. I think life is supposed to be an adventure, every time I started making plans something unexpected changed them for me. Reading your words I started picturing god sitting up there deciding when to throw a wrench into our plans just to see what we would do with the unexpected.😊

    • I think you could be right–as they say, the best laid plans of mice and (wo)men

  7. Love the sentiment…get out of your own way, and let your life happen. I’m a planner, love to make plans, but I can adjust the plan to make room for new ideas…..most of the time :)

    • I think that is the key–to be flexible and not rigid in your plans cause sometimes they get changed on us!

  8. I like to plan my own actions, choices and am an agnostic so don’t really believe in a god, but I can say, it does make me feel in charge :D
    But when they do change without reason, then I believe in fate and have no problem with it!

    Cheers
    CCU

    • you seem to have all bases covered–you are a flexible planner which is the best kind

  9. It is a challenge for me to plan as best as I can and then see all those carefully make plans fall away. Most often the adventures that I do not plan turn out to be the best ones (but I won’t often admit to it). :-)

  10. It’s hard to find the balance between letting things go their own way and planning ahead. On the one hand, planning makes sure we don’t fall headfirst into nasty consequences. But on the other hand, we can get so caught up in planning that we miss out on other chances to live our lives. I definitely do think everything happens for a reason though, even if we can’t see it at the time.

    • I agree with you,though a few things that have happened to me remain a mystery to me–maybe it will be revealed in the future
      You always have a thought provoking comment — thanks my friend

  11. Absolutely! I am so up for the adventure!

  12. Thought provoking with good insight and something to be learned from this post.

  13. Joseph Campbell is worth reading. He introduces (to me) the subject of comparative mythology and offers the myths as a path, as an array of paths way toward the bliss you talk about.

  14. I love this post LouAnn… Joseph Campbell always has something good to say… did you ever see the amazing series of interviews with him by Bill Moyes – the best thing Moyes has eve done, I think…

    • I should see if I can find it — I need to immerse myself a little more in his wisdom

  15. Some adventures are hard to say yes to, and it’s best to put your head down and plod on.

  16. It’s really hard to do this, I think. It can be disappointing and frustrating to accept that our reality doesn’t match our vision. But I agree that it’s important- mostly I agree because I have no other choice :-) My life has never gone according to plan! But I feel like when I cling to my ideas about the way things should be, I miss out on the great things that are right in front of me.

    • it is exceedinly hard to do this — but I agree with you that when we are just full of plans, we sometimes miss out

  17. Here I am again with one of my favourite sayings, “Whatever.” :D


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 620 other followers

