I Blog, Therefore I Am

A classic fairy with a wand

This has nothing to do with this blog post — I just liked the magic of it.(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“A blog is in many ways a continuing conversation.”  ~  Andrew Sullivan

Right on Andrew! Apparently Mr. Sullivan is “the first mainstream journalist to experiment with blogging.” Called The Daily Dish, his blog started in 2000, “soon gained a large following, enabling him to interact with his readers and garner almost instantaneous responses to his work.” (Found this bit of blog history in The Writer’s Devotional by Amy Peters.

All I can say is Thanks Andrew ~ we will all happily continue your tradition, mainstream journalists or not.

Bliss is blogging, whether it be as a mainstream journalist, a little known journalist (like me), the hobby blogger, or the social blogger–what do you think?

Published in: on May 30, 2013 at 1:54 pm  Comments (42)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/05/30/i-blog-therefore-i-am/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

42 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is very true.

  2. What’s amazing to me is I really had no idea what blogging entailed until a friend of mine pushed me to start one up three years ago. Now I don’t think I could live without the blogging community and support I’ve found from people all over the world.

    • I know what you mean–I had no idea what it was all about–but I am glad I found out

  3. I never thought I’d take to blogging. Boy was I wrong. Happy blogging!

    • I know what you mean–I really did not even know what blogging was when I started

  4. I really like the idea of the blog being a continuing conversation, because what I like most about the medium is that it isn’t definitive. There is space to come back and change your opinions.

  5. It took me a long time to fully embrace blogging, and understand the community aspect of it (I’m slow that way). But now I love it :-)

    • It took me awhile too–probably 8 months before the whole concept became clear

  6. Love the quote.

    I have been amazed at how a blog I started in 2006, thinking it would be a good way for our family to keep up with us has transformed into a means of connecting with people all over the country (and world). Naturally, my family almost never visits.

    I’ve been amazed at the ebb and flow of my own writing and interests and those of the people that stop by and comment. Here’s to more years!

    • wow–you have been at it for awhile and can trace the ups and downs and sideways of it all–here is to lots more years for you

  7. Very interesting- regarding some of the history of blogging. So here’s to , Lou Ann, a lovely person and a lovley blog.

  8. I second that completely! And who doesn’t love a stimulating, ongoing conversation? :D

    Cheers
    CCU

    • true and you keep it going on your blog both with great recipes and good conversation

  9. I blog for bliss – but the types got me thinking about other types, such as marketing.

  10. Blogging makes me feel complete. It’s that simple!

  11. For a long time, blogging felt intimidating to me and I kept thinking, “I’m no writer, why should I have a blog?” Now I can’t imagine my life without one. In the beginning, I nearly gave it up but after trial and error, I’m definitely seeing the bliss in blogging!

    • so glad you stayed in the game — you are a very thoughtful and interesting blogger and one of my favourite commenters!

  12. I enjoy this blogging business as much as the next fellow (OK, move over and let me talk to the next fellow), but bliss is too strong of a word.
    I like to write (Like is a good word) and I am somewhat gratified in finding a stage, a platform, but…..

  13. Someone said to me yesterday….what TYPE of writing do you enjoy the most? and the first thing that came into my head was blogging lol ;)

    xx

  14. Absolutely so. :)

  15. Well said ~ BLISS is Blogging ~ and connecting! ♥

  16. I love the quote! :)

  17. Hard to believe i’ve only been blogging for under a year. I have no idea what i did before.

    • I know what you mean–it feels like forever–but a good forever

      • Yep. And the thing is I can blog just about anything i like and somebody somewhere will read it.
        I’m still not changing the name of my blog though ;-)

      • I think it is catchy if not true

      • That seems to be the consensus. I’ve done a lot of brand building, and I’m not going to throw all my hard work away.

  18. I agree…blogging is a wonderful way to connect with people. It has been an amazing way to “meet” bloggers in all sorts of situations and locations. That has been the most unexpected piece of blogging, finding all of these unexpected digital friends! ~ Sheila


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 621 other followers

