You Are Not Alone

“I feel like I’m not alone,” some of those who wrote me said, and the sentiment changed my life. That’s what’s so wonderful about reading, that poetry and essays make us feel as though we’re connected, as though the thoughts and feelings we believe are singular and sometimes nutty are shared by others, and we are more alike than different.”¬† ~ Anna Quindlen from “Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake”

English: Flower bed Pretty spring flowers in K...

. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It is exactly this feeling, that you are reaching others, that you are not alone, that we are more alike than different that keeps both Quindlen (who is admittedly a bit more successful than I, being  a Pulitzer prize winner and all) and I writing.

The best writing I have read is something that hits a note with me. Something that resonates. Something that says what I have been thinking. Something that make me part of the world, not apart from it. And that is the kind of writing I strive to do. On a much more limited basis, I have had people tell me that they could identify with the words I have written, that my words made them smile and recognize that they are not alone.

I guess on some level, writing gives me power. Power to communicate what I cannot communicate well out loud. I say often that it gives my lonely voice in the wilderness a place to vocalize.

Bliss is feeling a part of something; something that penetrates the aloneness. What do you think?

Published in: on May 26, 2013 at 12:56 pm  Comments (36)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/05/26/you-are-not-alone/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

36 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I so agree, LouAnn. Both reading and writing, helps me to feel connected to my world, and these days, my photography, too.

  2. You’ve pretty much summed up why I love to write.

    • I love reading you – you remind me of me a few years ago–but your humour is different than mine and I love it–love your honesty

  3. I agree – reading, writing and blogging help me feel connected, especially when I find others who think like me. I enjoy Anna Quindlan’s books too.

  4. Knowing you as well as I do, when I read your writing, I always hear your voice and it’s like you’re talking to me…..and since we live a day’s drive apart, it is like you are here with me.

  5. Writing (and being read) is definitely one of the most therapeutic activities we can engage in. Next to worship, I have found it to be the most rewarding.

    • it is rewarding and I agree that worship is another good way of “connecting”

  6. Lou Ann, you write with understanding, your words are meaningful, sometimes profound, and much more.

    To answer your question: absolutely!

    ~yvonne~

  7. I enjoyed reading this post. There is a lot of food for thought.

  8. I am definitely in complete agreement, I feel like you bond by writing whether it be a post or a song, there is something so strong in that, it reaches everyone :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  9. I do agree that it’s nice to be a part of something. Loneliness just has to be one of the worst feelings in the world, and it helps to know that someone is going through/doing/thinking/etc the same thing you are.

    • it most certainly does — I do not mind being alone–but I do not like being lonely

  10. I couldn’t agree more. I think that’s why most writers, amateurs and professionals, write. To communicate but more importantly, to try and find a connection with other people. Not everyone understands the strength we find in writing (“wouldn’t that just make you seem more lonely and isolated?”) but as long as we can find the connection, we’re never alone.

  11. I couldn’t agree more :). I was painfully shy growing up (I know, hard to believe) and even now if you put me in a room with a bunch of strangers it kinda freaks me out, but the words just flow on my blog because writing just opens me up and all my thoughts flow. Plus it helps that my blogging family is so supportive and encouraging :).

    • I know whereof you speak–writing does open us up and gives us a venue we do not necessarily have outside of our written words–

  12. I just did a post on this very topic. “We read to know we’re not alone.” C.S. Lewis said that. I believe that’s so very true.

    • and it is so very true–I feel you can get to know someone through their words better than through conversation sometimes–and so many times we get caught up in the world of books because they become our “friends”

  13. This is a profound post that explains a lot about why I keep going with my own blog. It’s the connections in the outside wilderness world where I find like souls and loving encouragement to keep telling the untold stories. Blogging is a place to write what I do not say, and that is my “bliss.” Thanks. ~Dor

  14. It never ceases to amaze me how connected I can feel to like-minded complete strangers through their writing and comments, LuAnn. We are definitely not alone. Great post. :)

  15. Totally agree!

  16. I agree. That is one of the reasons that I love to write. That and the fact that I hope to inspire people to spew Froot Loops through their nostrils.

  17. […] You Are Not Alone (onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 614 other followers

