Heaven in a Bun: Bliss

Heaven on earth

Heaven on earth (Photo credit: MarocStoun)

Jessica from howsweetitis provided this recipe: Loaded Cheddar Hot Dogs. yep, they’re a thing! on her blog today. I am totally stealing it and hope she does not mind. I am changing the name to Heaven on Earth Hotdogs though.

I am loving this recipe, though I most likely will find a way to shorten it up as I am a lazy cook and will probably not spend 45 minutes to cook hot dogs, no matter how gourmet. I will find a way to make these in under twenty minutes in one skillet not two—I promise. Also, they say if you change one thing in a recipe it is yours—so I am changing something—those of you who want to find out what I changed, go to howsweetitis. And I would definitely double the recipe—making six hot dogs is just not enough!

Loaded Cheddar Hot Dogs

Yield: makes 6 hot dogs

Total Time: 45 minutes

Ingredients:

6 hot dogs
6 whole wheat hot dog buns, toasted
1 sweet onion, diced
12 ounces of sliced mushrooms, chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 tablespoon honey
1 garlic clove, minced
6 ounce cheddar cheese, freshly grated
4 slices bacon, fried and crumbled
ketchup, mustard + relish

Directions:

Heat two skillets over low heat. Add one tablespoons each of olive oil and butter to both skillets. To one skillet, add diced onions with a pinch of salt. Stir to coat. Cover and cook over low heat for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally to ensure the onions don’t burn. Remove lid and add honey, tossing to coat and cook for another 10-15 minutes, until completely caramelized. Once caramel-y, set aside.

In the meantime, add the chopped mushrooms to the (second) skillet, tossing to coat. Cover and cook for 15-20 minutes, stirring once or twice. Add in garlic and cook for 5 minutes more. Remove from heat and season with a pinch of salt and pepper. Set aside.

Cook hot dogs as desired: either grilled or in a skillet over medium heat until browned. Place each hot dog in a bun and top with an equal amount of grated cheese. Place hot dogs under the broiler (or even back on the grill) for a minute or two just until the cheese is melted. Top with ketchup, mustard and relish, then add mushrooms, onions and bacon. If not serving immediately, wrap in aluminum foil tightly. They can be reheated this way too!

This recipe made me so hungry, I am going out to dress up some hot dogs and have them for lunch. While I am fixing them I will try not to remember why hot dogs are bad for me, or what is in some of them, or that I really should not be eating them. And for those of you who are vegetarian, health conscious, or just not into hotdogs–sorry.

My bliss today: a souped up hot dog. What is your food bliss today?

Note to readers: look in the comments–Zen A. translated the “Heaven on Earth” sign for us!

Vicious Hot Chick

(Photo credit: ~db~)

Published in: on May 11, 2013 at 4:18 pm  Comments (37)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/05/11/heaven-in-a-bun-bliss/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

37 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds heavenly…. but 2 skillets? Not gonna happen!
    Happy Mother’s Day!

    • I know- you will not find me dirtying two skillets–we will have to rework this – Happy Mom’s Day to you too

  2. Hmmm, wondering how this would work with “Not-Dogs”… No “fakin bacon” but maybe some portabello mushrooms, seasoned with some smoked salt, smoked paprika, and smoked roasted garlic. We’ll see. I’m the only one in our household who’d go for anything like this, so it’ll have to be for a time when I’m feeling creative enough for more than one thing! xoxoM

    • I think anything covered with the the rest of the recipe would be good–almost don’t need the hotdogs!

  3. Lou Ann, even though I haven’t eaten any meat for a long time, this receipe looks so good. I’m getting a whiff of the ingredients right now.

    • as I said to one other person who commented–you almost don’t need the hotdogs!

  4. The picture caught my eye… only because it was in my language, haha. That said, that hot dog looks absolutely heavenly!

    • now, that is cool–does it say what it is supposed to?

      • It says:

        “There is a heaven on Earth.
        This heaven is here, here, here.” :)

      • thank you so much! this is very exciting!

      • Reply 2– I went back to my post and mentioned that you translated the sign for us!

      • Thanks for the mention. It was no problem. :D

  5. My food bliss today is…simply…hard shelled tacos with refried beans and avocado and tomato. Nothing complicated today…

  6. Lou Ann this is off topic… but I’ve not been getting email notifications this afternoon from anyone….I found out by fluke when one blogger I follow put a link on fb and I hadn’t got any notice…and then I checked you and some others and didn’t get any either…. Have you had very few this afternoon also by any chance… Trying to figure out if it’s just me or others as well…Diane

    • I don’t think it has affected me–would it help to go to your Reader and see who is posting?

      • Okay…so I had checked those I follow and settings but not the reader…Posts Do show up in the reader but I’m not getting the notifications through my email.. and yet if anyone other than bloggers send an email I do get it… I’ve asked wp for help …I’ll check again and again lol…but thanks for telling me to check the Reader….at least I can respond from there..Diane

      • I have had funny things happen with WordPress at various times and they usually correct themselves after a while–hope this is true for you!

      • ;) Diane

  7. OMG, I think I just gained 5 pounds looking at that picture. Looks so yummy!!

    • I went out and made some chili dogs as I do not have the recipe fixings because it made me hungry too

  8. That recipe looks delicious. We had hotdogs today at the cottage with a variation on Grandma’s macaroni salad – super yummy!

  9. I’d like someone to cook me one of those for Mother’s Day. Enjoy your day tomorrow!

  10. Hotdogs are a staple at the cottage, your recipe sounds yummy, maybe we’ll doctor up our hotdogs next time.

    • maybe without using two skillets? though I am sure that real cooks don’t mind dirtying pots and pans and dishes

  11. Achieving food bliss status is too easy for me … in other words, I like too many thing! … so it’s using whatever I’m craving … which recently is Cranberry Sausage Spaghetti. http://afrankangle.wordpress.com/2008/12/15/battle-cranberry-sausage-spaghetti/

    Happy Mother’s Day.

    • you will have to provide that recipe for my Recipe Saturday–sounds intriguing and delicious–actually you have provided me a link (I see now)–can I use it giving you kudos?

      • Absolutely … and I hope to make it this week to satisfy my craving.

  12. This recipe makes my mouth water but forget it! My husband hates cheese!

  13. That sounds like it would be soooo tasty :)
    Great ingredients!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  14. Ayayay, Loaded Chedder Hot Dogs.
    The text in the photo is Arabic so I had a mindf$%# thinking you were Arabic all of a sudden.

    • I can barely handle English and a little fractured French–I just liked the look of the sign and the translation from Zen A. was on the mark for the post

  15. […] Heaven in a Bun: Bliss (onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 610 other followers

