Coming Back for a Limited Time Only

The title of this post is somewhat misrepresentative–I am not coming back for a limited time only–I just thought that might get you interested in reading this post. As a journalist I know the importance of a headline, but I also know the importance of honesty–so to be more accurate — I am coming back on a more limited and day-to-day basis. Maybe I will even come up with a schedule (stranger things have happened–but for now I am leaving things a bit loosey-goosey, as opposed to henny penny.)

My so called “sabbatical” is just not working for me–I miss this lovely cyber world too much to leave it–but I am returning on a basis not quite as rigid as the one I had set myself up for lately. I think the poem a day in April exhausted my creativity in that I liked some of my poems, but some were produced under a certain amount of self-directed duress just to keep up with the challenge, and were not totally satisfying. I now know what it is like to hit “publish” and not be happy with what I produced.

Blogging Heroes

Blogging Heroes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have discovered a fellow Canadian blogger, David Kanigan of Lead. Learn. Live.  just recently, and his words resonated with me on why he blogged. He has adopted Seth Godin’s reason for blogging as his own. He says:

Why Blog?  I think Seth Godin captured my inspiration for blogging when he was asked why he blogged.  He said “if you are blogging for other people you are going to be disappointed…even if no one would read it, I would still blog…this is a great chance for me to clear my thoughts and put them into the world, what an opportunity.” ~ David Kanigan

My second inspiration for the day comes from another fellow and favorite Canadian of mine,  Le Clown,  whose post today served to make me feel less guilty about sometimes not fulfilling responsibilities in a timely fashion (or sometimes at all). He quoted an online friend of his who said:  “NEVER feel guilty if you don’t have time to do something. [...] Life is WAY too short to waste any time on people who make you feel guilty.”

So, I am back. And though sometimes I may hit Publish when I am not sure I should, I am going to take Seth’s statement to heart and take the opportunity this blog affords in getting my thoughts out into the world, with the addition of dropping a little guilt along the way. (Don’t pick it up if you see it on the side of the road!)

Bliss is doing what feels right.  Not posting did not feel right to me. What about you?

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/05/09/coming-back-for-a-limited-time-only/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

57 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wonderful! Welcome back :)

  2. Glad to see you back. I know! I can’t imagine being away too long!

  3. LouAnn, I started out doing a post a day and I even had a schedule. I held on for longer than I imagined I would. The stuff I “published” was hit and miss, usually miss. it became a joke with a few other bloggers who were also trying to adhere to a schedule. I think eventually I came to the conclusion that, as with everything else that’s emotional, it’s better to feel your way than to force your way.
    I love everything you write because I know it comes from your heart. I think that should continue to be your guiding principle, that, and to be kind to yourself. :)
    Hugs!
    Lisa

    • this is excellent advice–on so many levels–thanks so much Lisa–I will remember to write from my heart and not force my writing just to get a post out there–:)

  4. I totally agree with that quote – blogging for yourself – I adore blogging and I do it to reflect on my writing and the time I’m spending on it.

    I also try not to fill my life with guilt from the obligation of ‘should’. I banished that word from my life some time ago due to health concerns and I’m much better for it.

    Great post: glad you came back not out of obligation but because you missed it so much! :)

    • you summed it up well–I think my blogging friends could do without me–but I cannot do without them
      -I want to banish should too — spend too much time on them

      • And that, in turn, is why we always come back to you!
        I heartily recommend an attempt to banish ‘should’ – not easy, but it makes a HUGE difference! x

      • I am going to try, ’cause guilt is soul-sapping

  5. HA!! I knew you couldn’t stay away from us because you love us too much :). I’m so glad you are back because it just wasn’t the same without you. I, too, have slowed down when it comes to blogging and I find I am more inspired to write that way. When I was posting every say it had almost become like a chore. Just do what feels right and we will love your posts no matter how often they are written. :)

    • You are right–I could not stay away and it is true–I love my blog friends–how else would I have found you–
      I want to be challenged–but you are so right–it should not become a chore!

      • Awwww :). Yup, it has to stay fun. Sometimes I only post twice a week now, and it’s so much more relaxed that way.

  6. LouAnn,
    My advice to you is this one: keep on having fun with blogging, no matter what you write about. Fun is one of my biggest motivators.

    I love me some Seth Godin. If you enjoy his work, may I suggest Chris Brogan AND Julien Smith? There is a lot of love in their words. And wisdom. Always happy to read you.
    Le Clown

    • I will certainly look into Chris and Julien–and thank you for the inspiration today. And I will remember the secret ingredient- Fun!

  7. I am glad you are back. Living by a schedule didn’t work well for me either. I tried to write every day of the week. Life would get in the way at times and other times I just felt pressured. Taking weekends off helped tremendously. Then of course not long after I lost my computer and realized just how much I needed to blog for myself.

    • Me too- and I had not really realized that before–thanks for your words of wisdom

  8. I am glad you are back… for some reason three of my favorite bloggers (you are one) decided to either change their blogs drastically or take a holiday and I was thinking it was something I did…. hence, more guilt. I feel like I haven’t posted as much lately because it is busy out here in the world sometimes. I had enough schedules for 35 years…. I am gonna concentrate on Flying by the Seat of my Pants more often…

  9. Oh and your title really isn’t misleading. When you think about it, we are all only here for a limited time! LOL

  10. Very glad to see you back! You did set yourself a hard challenge – all those poems!I’ll look forward to reading whenever you get around to it and I so agree about blogging – addictive, fun and for yourself first and foremost though I am delighted with all the ‘friends’ I have made through this medium. It has opened up a whole new world for me!

    All the best to you :)

    • thank you – and you just keep doing what you have been doing…………

      • It’s much easier finding beautiful things every day than writing a poem every day! :)

      • you certainly make it look that way–we are blessed to have so many beautiful things–but it takes a talent to find them everyday

      • Thank you! :)

  11. I guess I’ve evolved to mostly blog for myself and that I would probably still do it regardless of the feedback. It’s interesting, I’ve gone back and looked at some old posts from years ago — the commenters from those posts have mostly (but not completely) moved on. I feel a little sad about that sometimes, but I like how an active blogging community can keep bringing new people into your life.

    • I think I am going the same way–I am no longer as concerned about statistics as I was–maybe I am becoming a more mature blogger (am not there yet)–I must say I do love the community

  12. So pleased, and for you to do as you see fitting , we enjoy all these posts and miss them…thanks ;)

  13. I agree with David Kanigan’s reason for blogging… and often I am not altogether happy after I press ‘publish’ but most times I follow through because obviously the subject was on my mind..so even if others can’t always relate…I can…. BTW….I did miss not seeing your notifications in my email….so whenever you (or I) decide to say whatever….it’s okay with me… Diane

  14. I also believe in blogging for yourself at your schedule. I’ve found once a week works best for me. This is not a job. We’re not getting paid, so move into your own bliss without the pressure.

    • Oh, I like that, move into your own bliss without the pressure–excellent advice!

  15. Yah!! I was worried and very glad to see you back. Just enjoy yourself and blog whatever you want. You are the one who is setting yourself up with rules and conditions. No judgement here.

  16. So glad you’re back in my Inbox, I really missed you.

  17. YAY – Nice to have you back!
    Gotta’ do what feels right – just be you :)

  18. I learned early on that schedules was just not for me. While I work better under pressure, I don’t seem to write well under it. I also agree with Seth’s words, although it can be hard to keep remembering that especially when you start building an audience.
    I think above all, we have to do what feels right to us. I’d like to think I’m logical but most of my actions are driven by my emotions and how I feel. If I’m not feeling a post topic or the act of writing itself, I don’t post. I also used to feel guilty if I was off in any way but we have better things to do than feel guilty don’t we? That being said, I’m glad you’re back. :)

    • I am glad too — something was missing when I was away.
      But I am going to take the stress off by forgetting about statistics etc and enjoying the community–I have some wonderful friends (like you) and I missed them

  19. iI’m lazy and have too many chores to worry. I like to put something out there but can only do so if and when I can make it happen. :-)

    • that makes a lot of sense–sounds like you, unlike me, have it well under control–

  20. The blogging world has felt a bit strange to me lately, some of those that I considered my “core group” have stopped blogging, maybe temporarily, maybe forever, who knows! And it feels like when a friend moves away! I’ve also blogged and commented less in general over the last few weeks, not sure why, I still enjoy it! I guess we go in waves. Glad you’re back :)

    • I know what you mean–which may have led to my sabbatical which really wasn’t one–I had temporarily lost heart–I think you are right–we go in waves

  21. I know what you mean about the feeling of not blogging. On the other hand, I wonder how much of that is self-posed pressure. After all, readers are seemingly very patient and understanding

    • you are right–it is self-imposed–except for the haiku nazis who kept telling me I did write a haiku correctly–but I easily got rid of them

    • I was supposed to add a ha ha after my last comment

  22. Totally agree with your blog and the others that you mentioned. My blogging leaves a lot to be desired in some ways, but a person can only do what they can do.

  23. I often think of quitting but then I would really miss the place to air my thoughts and experiences. So the blog goes on……
    Thanks for this very insightful post and I’m glad you are returning as a blogger with no pressures. :)

  24. I’ve arrived at a similar conclusion, LouAnn. While I do love blogging and connecting daily, there are days when I just don’t feel like posting. Blogging is a practice of remembrance for me: remembering Love, Joy, Community, Oneness. Being present is also part of that practice of remembrance. Sometimes being present means being present elsewhere or in other ways. I’m just rollin’ with it! xoxoM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 611 other followers

