Starve a Little

I don't think my fridge has ever been this messy

I don’t think my fridge has ever been this messy (Photo credit: *Bitch Cakes*)

Sometimes I fill my fridge with food

And it is too full

And I cannot find anything

Sometimes my mind is the same way

It is too full

And I cannot find anything

I do not feel like cooking when my fridge is too full

There is too much choice

I cannot think when my mind is too full

There is too much choice

Sometimes we need to starve just a little

To find our creativity.

Published in: on April 25, 2013 at 9:54 am  Comments (38)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/starve-a-little/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

38 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Exactly, I loved this, you are amazing. Thanks and Love, nia

  2. Great poem, made me chuckle :)

    • it is true though isn’t it? we need space to think, create and cook–got all the fixings for the bean salad yesterday–am going to make it up in a few minutes so it can marinate

  3. My mind is always too full LOL! That’s why I love my electronics so much because I can transfer some of the information to my iPhone or my computer, so that I don’t have to try and remember so much :). I don’t know what I would do without the calendar on my iPhone. My brain would likely explode!

  4. Love this poem. It seems that my mind is always too full.

  5. LouAnn,
    Now is there an ADDENDUM to this poem, for the refrigerator in your basement?
    Le Clown

    • I think that is the problem–there is no fridge in the basement–have one in the garage though that is not in use–hey you have given me an idea! Thanks Le Clown….

  6. An interesting concept :)

    • so, is your fridge ever too full?

      • heh-heh … of course … but my family of gannets pretty soon empty it! :)

  7. This hit just the right spot for me this morning. I feel like I’ve been too cluttered and now I’m ready to “starve” a little – open the pathways up for creativity. Interestingly my fridge has become much less full and
    I’ve also lost about 10 pounds. Losing weight for me is such a mental game. I also think I’ve lost some emotional weight, too. Stuff that’s been dragging me down, if you know what I mean? ;)

    Remember that book/movie about the Mongoose… Was it, Rikki Tikki Tavi? His mother told him to eat half of the banana rather than the whole thing, so he could stay fast. I think there is a lesson in that for all of us. Just take and live by what we need – trim off the proverbial fat, and we will stay fast in all areas of our life?

    Who knew I would write this much at 7:30 this morning! haha!
    Have a great day LouAnn – thanks for inspiring me. :)

    • And thanks for inspiring me back–I have had one too many indulgences of late and must put the brakes on–I lost five pounds a while ago–and have found it and five more–I love the advice on how to stay fast–and I find a fridge with less in it makes me more creative –thanks for all your early morning thoughts Lisa and have a wonderful rest of the day – Lou

  8. That’s exactly it! I sometimes have to bore myself to death to reignite my creativity. How come this doesn’t work with kids? They are bored to death after 15 minutes without an electronic device and just return to the same old thing.

    • Do what my mom used to do–send them outside to play–although I tried this and one son would go out but the other one refused — so what are you going to do?

      • Thank goodness, I am (or they are) pretty much past that stage, but it is still their go to activity when the weather is bad or no one is home. I think they’re too old for me to change them now anyway. :)

      • Mine are too — I have put my failures behind me and am enjoying (for the most part) their adulthood–but as someone once said to me–the bigger they are the bigger their problems–and she was kind of right and kind of wrong–when they get older they start to solve their own problems–at least in part

      • Yay! Something to look forward too! Mine are in transition, except my youngest, but she often seems like she should be the oldest. :)

  9. Hmm, my fridge has never been so empty. The emptier my fridge, the more full my mind. weird.

  10. A lot of truth in that little poem….Diane

  11. Love your thoughts on this. My fridge is nearly always half empty. What does that say about my head? :D

  12. Starve a little to find creativity…. what a great concept! Been feeling a little too bloated up in my mind this week with the result that no blog post has been written so far. Looks like some starving is in order! :)

    • sometimes we need to clear our minds in order to write–I find if I have too much on my mind I cannot filter it all out and it becomes confusing – happy starving

  13. Oh, I cannot agree with you more! And right now, everything in my life is a bit too full. Wait That doesn’t sound right. Leading a full life is supposed to be good. But I’m still going to weed out the refrigerator. :) This is a lovely post, a great poem, and oh, so true.

    • I keep trying to weed out my fridge and my mind–slowly but surely…. glad you liked the poem :)

  14. [...] of my blogger friends said it best I think, in her recent poem. “Starve just a little to find our creativity.” Isn’t that fantastic? As soon as [...]

    • thank you for including me in your post — I am glad to be your blogger friend! :)

  15. Living alone, I find your dilemma an interesting one. Usually I have some grand idea and not sufficient ingredients. Or it’s a recipe that calls form something that I wouldn’t use for another # of years.

    Now I have to observe whether or not my creativity parallels my larder! :D

    • you have a different dilemma than I — and I have to say that even when my fridge is full, I am missing some important ingredient — right now it is horse radish

  16. Wow! Culinary wisdom… Not going to think about this one, just enjoy it…

  17. Hmm…this is another great example of how something that is usually seen as positive…a full fridge, a full life…can also be a negative. So often, the challenge is to find the balance…enough food/activity/work for sustenance, but not so much as to be overwhelming. Let me know when you sort out how to do that! I’m still looking for the magic formula for creating and maintaining that balance! ~ Sheila


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers

