Hope Springs Eternal

hope

hope (Photo credit: mindfulness)

“A writer is not a writer because she writes well and easily, because she has amazing talent, because everything she does is golden. In my view, a writer is a writer because even when there is no hope, even when nothing you do shows any sign of promise, you keep writing anyway.” ~ Junot Diaz

Love this quote and the fact that it applies to all of us, not just writers. Tell me if you agree that it applies even if you change it to read: when there is no hope, even when nothing you do shows any sign of promise, you just keep on anyway.

I tend to think that there is always hope, but agree that we should keep on, even if hope seems to have taken a vacation without us.

Do you agree that bliss is never giving up on hope? No matter how dim, or how hard it tries to hide?

Poem for Day 17:

Hope

Hope is the hold out

The one thing that can be diminished

Only by lack of faith

Published in: on April 17, 2013 at 7:17 pm  Comments (31)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/04/17/hope-springs-eternal/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

31 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This message touched me deeply and is so true. I have been facing challenges that I could not imagine,but I am going on doing the best that I can wih each day. Thank you for sharing the qoute.

  2. I am all about hope no matter what ~ love your post and your quote!

  3. That is a perfect quote my friend, without hope, how would we move forward?

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. I agree with the sentiment, one of my all time best movie quotes is the now famous “Just keep swimming…just keep swimming…” from Finding Nemo. Never give up!

  5. Without hope I/we could not go on in the face of so many difficulties in our lives…Diane

  6. Yes. It does.

  7. Hope is critical. Crucial. I can’t imagine Life without it.

  8. Hope is something we need to hold onto if we want some sanity in our lives. Well – that’s what I think.

  9. Beautiful poem.

  10. I love that -“hope is the holdout”. True!

  11. If you keep going, somewhere along your journey you will rediscover hope!! It’s out there, you just have to find it :)

  12. Yes to everything you said here. The quote about writers is great and you’re right that in can be applied to a lot of other things. I think giving up on hope is kind of like taking the easy way out. It’s much more difficult to hold on to our belief that there is still beauty and hope in the world. If we can do that, it makes life so much more valuable and wonderful.

  13. That quote definitely resonates with me. Even when things are decidedly bleak, I can always turn to writing. :)

  14. There is always hope.

  15. Love the quote, and your poem! Thank you for sharing, LouAnn!
    Andrea


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 630 other followers

