You Just Have to Do It in a Different Way

Türkçe: Name of the God

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This week, instead of providing a bona fide recipe, I am going to share with you a Recipe for Life. It comes from blogger Lois and her blog livingsimplyfree.

On Fridays, Lois does a wonderful post pointing her readers to blogs from which she has gleaned some joy, information, or a laugh from the previous week. This week, as one of her favourites, she featured a post by Paul Mark Sutherland called “Failure”.

This piece of philosophy, derived from Rehanna Moammadi really “spoke to me” due to a variety of things happening in my life right now–but I think it is just good general wisdom for all of us. So without further ado here is my prescription for life ~ when you think maybe you are on your last nerve, or close to the cliff:

Failure

Failure doesn’t mean you’re a failure

It does mean you haven’t succeeded yet.

Failure doesn’t mean you haven’t accomplished something,

It does mean you have learned something.

Failure doesn’t mean you’ve been a fool,

It does mean you have a lot of faith.

Failure doesn’t mean you’ve been disgraced,

It does mean you were willing to try.

Failure doesn’t mean you don’t have it,

It does mean you have to do something in a different way.

Failure doesn’t mean you’re inferior,

It does mean you’re not perfect.

Failure doesn’t mean you’ve wasted your time,

It does mean you have a reason to start fresh.

Failure doesn’t mean you should give up,

It does mean you should try harder.

Failure doesn’t mean you’ll never make it,

It does mean it will take a little longer.

Failure doesn’t mean God has abandoned you,

It does mean he has a better way.

These words are not magic, but they can have that effect if you let them. Even if things did not work out the way you wanted them to, you have learned something–but the line I liked the best is that failure doesn’t mean you don’t have it, it just means you have to do something in a different way. This line gives me bliss.

What line in Moammadi’s wisdom speaks to you and puts you on the road to bliss?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/04/13/you-just-have-to-do-it-in-a-different-way/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

39 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for the kind words. I am so happy this helped you.

    My favorite line is of course the same one you like, doing it differently. That has been the theme for my entire life. The first time I remember hearing that line directed at me I was 4 years old. My grandparents had just bought a new home and took me to see it. I couldn’t get up the step into the house, it was too large. I asked them to help me and instead they told me to figure it out. I eventually did, crawling into the house and using a chair to stand back up. I was angry at them for not helping, their response was “We won’t always be there to help you, but you can do anything any one else can do, you will just have to do it differently”. Years later I also learned that standing back and watching me figure things out on my own was the hardest thing they felt they ever had to do, but I’m so glad they did.

    • very smart grandparents and as a grandparent yourself you now know how hard it is to teach little ones when you just want to hug and kiss them and protect them

      thank you for the idea for the post

      • I sure do. You are very welcome, I love how blogging involves so much sharing.

      • me too :)

  2. Really love this! And how are?! It’s been ages! X

    • it has been ages–things have been a bit discumbobulated–how about you — nice to hear from you

      • That is just the word I would use to describe my past few months too! Sorry to hear its been the same for you. Sending love.

      • (((hugs)))

      • xxxx

  3. I like the line:

    failure doesn’t mean you should give up, it does mean you should try harder.

    I recently failed a very important exam at my job and it made me question the course of my career and then my life. After I got over feeling sorry for myself I realized, I don’t have to give up the path I am on and change course for an easier road, I need to try harder on the road I am on.

    Great post today!

    • that is so smart — we just have to realize that a little failure does not define us–I am glad it just made you more determined

  4. This is just what I needed to read today, LouAnn. The whole thing speaks to me. Thanks for sharing!

    • I know, it hits on so many different levels doesn’t it — and all of them useful!

  5. Awesome! Love the words “Failure doesn’t mean God has abandoned you, It does mean he has a better way.” When a door shuts, an even better window opens.

  6. I agree with another blogger.. the last two lines for me at this very moment have meaning although there are several good points…I am so waiting on God for an answer…Diane

    • I hope you get an answer you can work with–sometimes God’s answers are not easy.

  7. I like the way this nicely tells you to come back and approach a problem from a different angle. Something that’s good to be reminded about.

  8. Somebody once said to me, “failure is a gift, it allows you to learn, if you didn’t fail, you wouldn’t learn anything”. Thanks for reminding me you have a choice how you process failure.

    • so true – if we did not fail, we would not learn anything–we just have to find a new way

  9. I love the whole thing.. great post LouAnn. Thank you

  10. “It does mean you have a lot of faith.” That’s the one that I really like. It feels so positive. I also like the “…do something in a different way.” Great post Lou Ann. It’s always good to re-frame things.

  11. The whole thing is great, but picking a favourite part for me was easy:

    “Failure doesn’t mean you’re inferior,
    It does mean you’re not perfect.”

    I always try and remind myself that nobody is perfect, and it’s ok to screw up or fail at something. Then you just have to get right back up and try, try again

  12. I so needed to read this today, so glad you shared it with all of us! My favorite line is “Failure doesn’t mean you haven’t accomplished something / It does mean you have learned something.” I think a lot of us tend to focus on the end result too much, forgetting that the process is just as important, if not more.

    • I have been preaching that for awhile, along with education is an end in itself–I am a proponent of higher education whether it leads to a specific career or not–teaches you how to think and come up with solutions to all kinds of life problems

  13. I love this post my friend, as a student, this is exactly what I need to hear :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • it seems particularly geared toward students — I sent it to my college age son when I discovered it

  14. Love this! Thanks so much for sharing.

  15. All true, all needed reminders! Just helps me to realize, we’re all human, just doing the best we can. And we’re all in this boat together! Comforting when you think of it! ~ Sheila

    • that is how I felt – comforted to know I was not the only one to go through “failure” and that it does not mean there is no coming back

  16. [...] You Just Have to Do It in a Different Way (onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com) [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 628 other followers

