Exotic Bliss ~ Saturday Recipe

super bowl

super bowl (Photo credit: sinosplice)

If you have been reading this blog for any length of time, you know that the recipe I am providing today is a bit out of my league. First of all, it has way more than five ingredients and a few more than three steps, as well as being slightly exotic. But it is so delicious I could not resist sharing it with you.

On Super Bowl Sunday, I went to a hockey game with friends, and after the game they made us this delightful meal. It hits so many high notes, I barely know where to begin~the chicken was bronzed in the sauce, and the medley of ingredients served to provide a powerful  but delicate punch.

I am not a sports fan, but have been to a couple of Windsor Spitfire games, and am beginning to understand why people enjoy hockey. It is fast-paced and exciting. I was in an arena that held as many people as my small town (6000 or so). The noise is phenomenal, but it is a companionable noise, and the feeling of community is palpable. My only argument with hockey is when they throw down their gloves and go at it, or smash into the opposite team members with anger. That is when the spirit of the game is lost (for me).

English: Tajine pot. Français : Un Tajine

Tajine pot.  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This chicken recipe was so good that even I, the queen of easy cooking, am going to attempt it. We had couscous under the delectable “stew” and chunks of butternut squash on top. My hostess forgot to put the slivered almonds on top (they were ready—but like me, she sometimes forgets one ingredient when she has guests), and to be honest they were not missed—but I imagine they would provide a nice crunch.

So without further ado—I present you with:

MOROCCAN STYLE CHICKEN

12 chicken thighs, skinned and boned – cut into chunks

2 tablespoons olive oil

3 tablespoons dried currants

2 tablespoons of honey

2 or 3 large cloves garlic, minced

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 and 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon (or a little more)

1 and 1/2 cups bottled salsa (mild or medium)

1/2 cup of dried apricots chopped or figs or prunes or a combination of these

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup chopped or slivered almonds

Method for Crock Pot:

Cut each chicken thigh into 4 or 5 pieces. Set aside.

In a large metal bowl, mix together olive oil, garlic, salsa, water, currants, apricots, honey, cumin and cinnamon.  Add chicken pieces and stir well.

Transfer to crock pot and cook for 2 hours on high and then 4 or 5 hours on low. Stir occasionally.

Serve over couscous or rice. Follow directions on package for cooking.

Top with chopped or slivered almonds. Serve hot!

Cucurbita moschata 'Butternut'. Original descr...

P.S. You could cook some chunks of sweet potato or butternut squash and serve on top for colour as well as nutritional value.

Do you have a recipe that is “out of your league” but you would be willing to try because the results are so delectable (or dare I say it, in keeping with my theme: blissful)?

Published in: on February 9, 2013 at 11:31 am  Comments (62)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/02/09/exotic-bliss-saturday-recipe/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

62 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am a terrible cook. Complicated recipes scare me.. I am not brave like you :)

    • seriously, this does not look all that hard or I would not even attempt it — my only difficulty is that I do not have any of the ingredients–so I would have to start from stratch
      I am a take it out of the freezer and warm it up kind of gal at least 50% of the time

      • Our pantries match! I am currently bumming because I have no flour to bake a coffee cake.. but my waist line does not need that right now. Just seems that during a snowstorm I should bake really bad things.. haa.

      • I have some flour —
        you bake from stratch–I am so impressed

      • send some my way and I’ll pass ya a slice when I am done. I can’t cook but I can bake… it is not a good thing :)

      • ohhhhhhhhhhhh…I love baking–okay, here is the flour ****************************************************** (that is supposed to represent flour)

      • :)

      • baking is definetely more fun than cooking. I like the preciseness, repitition.. it is meditative. And very sensory.. ok enough blathering on, muddying up your space here with my meanderings

      • please, muddy my space anytime — if baking is meditative then I should take it up

      • it can be.. for me at least. Stops the mind

      • I so need that!

  2. Well done…definitely out of your comfort zone of cooking..lol I really haven’t experimented in ‘out of my league’ recipes…but I did do my ‘baked beans actually using the real beans that I soaked overnight and just hoped that they softened this time…and ‘voila’ they did…with help from my sister-in-laws direction…boil for 2 minutes then soak overnight and then simmer the next day for 50 min…and then bake…Diane

    • I tried to make baked beans from dry once and had no luck–maybe I will try your sister-in-law’s directions–my mom used to make homemade baked beans and they were so delicious

      • They were actually quite good….when simmering for 50 minutes just make sure they don’t ‘boil’ at that time because the beans will burst…Diane

      • thanks for the pointer :)

  3. Looks great ~ I like ‘different’ recipes :)

  4. This looks good, the only change I would make for me would be to lose the currants, I really don’t like currants or raisins in dishes (apart from in sweet things). So maybe I would increase the apricots a bit instead.

    The macaroon recipe that I made on my Sugarness blog was out of my league really – http://sugarness.com/2013/01/14/macaroons-our-first-attempt/ but I figured if I’m going to have a cooking blog, I need to be willing to experiment a bit!

    • I read that and thought your macaroons were so pretty–you hit me as someone with no fear of experimenting–you seem to be a lover of life

      • That’s a nice comment about me, thank you, I like that! I think I do naturally seek out the fun in things where I can!

  5. I don’t bother with “out of my league” recipes because my boys are jerks, I mean, picky, eaters. I do have a faculty lunch potluck thing next week, though…..maybe it’s a good time to try yours!

    • I have picky eaters too — it is not a joy to feed them–but this is an impressively good but not too hard recipe

  6. sounds fantastic. I am bookmarking so I can try soon!

  7. I don’t mind attempting new recipes – sometimes they work out, sometimes they don’t. And I nearly always forget to put something in too. My mother forgot the buns in the oven, every single dinner party she threw.. Until the guests caught on after repeat visits and would remind her to check the oven.

    • I know–I forget stuff all the time–last time it was a salad, sometimes the bread or buns,…
      that is so cute about your mom

  8. Nice recipe even though I don’t eat meat. I like the picture of the dish that I suppose it is served in (from Wikipedia- very pretty dish)

    • I wonder if you could use a substitute – the flavours are so good together

      • Tofu would probably work. The hard or medium. Tofu abasorbs whateverit is cooked with. Thanks for the reply.

  9. I love to cook, and I’m rather good at it. However, my family’s tastes are very different from mine (go figure) so I only attempt high-effort recipes when I know I’ll be happy with just satisfying myself since more often than not either my husband or my daughter, or both, will go rooting for something else to eat. Frustrating! xoxoM

    • tell them to find the peanut butter – I have one son for whom I keep frozen pizzas on hand

      • Frozen pizzas it is – one likes peanut butter, the other doesn’t. Oy! xoxoM

      • my pizza son doesn’t eat peanut butter

      • PB is definitely an acquired taste. I didn’t acquire it until well into my twenties. My daughter has always despised it. Eons ago, when RItz introduced their Ritz Bits PB Sandwiches, I thought they’d be a great snack for my toddler. It was a cool fall day, I bundled her up in her stroller and loaded the “walking deli” with the Ritz Bits. She asked for a snack, I gave her a couple of Bits, and continued pushing the stroller up Broadway. A few minutes later, she asked for more food and, when I handed it to her, I noticed huge “crumbs” all over her jacket. “Hmmm,” I thought, “I didn’t think it was so windy.” I catch on slowly, but eventually I figured out that the child was spitting the vile Bits out of her little mouth and they were sticking to her jacket! No more PB for her! lol xoxoM

  10. Sounds yummy! I will be giving this one a try. :)

  11. The list of ingredients alone has me licking my lips! Thinking about giving this a go, thanks for sharing!

  12. It does sound scrumptious, LuAnn, and if I was really in the cooking mood, I would definitely attempt it. I’ll copy it anyway, just in case. :)

  13. On Super Bowl Sunday you went to a hockey game?!?!?!?

    • I wondered if anyone would pick up on that –we were back before it started (not that I watch it anyway)

      • Phew.

  14. I try new recipes all the time, sometimes they work and sometimes not so much….went out and bought all the ingredients for the Moroccan chicken, making it tomorrow, a great Sunday meal….I can make it ahead of time, go out shopping, come home and have a late afternoon nap, perfect Sunday!

  15. Sounds good LouAnn, even though spice flavors might not be the fav iin this house. Thanks for stopping by to welcome me back today.

    • I was surprised at how well I like them – I find that curry is not a favourite of mine
      You looked like you had a fine reunion

      • The gathering was a success … btw … I assume you saw that I answered your question. ;)

      • I did and went back and looked – your aunt looked like a happy gal

  16. Different = brilliant most of the time, definitely applies to your recipe :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  17. Oh, that sounds scrummy! I love that you tried something ‘out of your league’! I do it all the time and sometimes come across a gem as this one sounds. :)

  18. My doughnuts that I attempted to make were a failure. I’m not saying that they’re out of my league, I just haven’t successfully made them yet. I don’t believe in ‘out of my league’ recipes, just recipes that are more complex than others or require more planning, patience and practice.

    I might give your recipe a go. Shall let you know how I get on.

    • I love your attitude – think I should adopt it–will be interested to hear how you like this dish

      • I made it Friday evening and my family loved it. I’m writing it into my favourite recipes recipe book. :D Thank you for sharing!

      • I am so glad you liked it – I was impressed with the flavours

  19. It may have been out of your league, but it sure looks delicious! I am quite delightedly waiting for Tuesday night to have some chicken enchiladas at the Mexican restaurant in our nearby city. Maybe even a celebratory glass of wine to toast the last three weeks of detox.

  20. sounds wonderful. we’ll have to give it a try!

  21. [...] Exotic Bliss ~ Saturday Recipe (onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com) [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 621 other followers

