Nothing New Under the Sun

English: A natural sponge, to be used in house...

A natural sponge named LouAnn.(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

*“Unique situations require unique solutions.” -Nnamonu Tochukwu.

My question is ~ are there unique solutions to situations that are not unique?

I could make the argument that there are no unique situations—just the same dramas, comedies, and circumstances on a roller coaster ride with twists and turns that at first make them seem unique. But on further investigation, they are not.

What is the old line—there is nothing new under the sun?

I have taken note, in my quest to find bliss, that some days it is within my grasp, some days I possess it, but other days it is just that millimetre too far away. I understand that what is happening in my life directly affects my bliss, and that I am not yet evolved enough to be able to sweep  the things that interfere with it to the wayside when a solution is not readily available.

I am a sponge. I take in what is around me, and it becomes part of me. I must learn to be the opposite without losing my compassion. What is the opposite of a sponge? I just Googled that question and there was “no word found”. I need to be less porous and more impermeable without losing my humanity.

Big Possibilities

Big Possibilities (Photo credit: Melody Campbell)

Is that possible?

*Found this quote on the blog Wise Counsel ~ http://teeceecounsel.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/uniqeness-quote-unique-solutions/

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/8909/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

44 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. There’s a need for those of us who take everything in. It makes us more empathetic and better able to consider the human side of things while others consider the nuts and bolts of the issues. However, the challenge is not to ruminate over things. As always, I strive for “Everything in moderation.” For me this happens with meditation (which I’m not good at), exercise, and timers.

    • you make some excellent posts – hmmm–meditation, exercise and timers — I think that is workable

  2. If you find out how to be less of a sponge, let me in on it. When my girls or husband or grand daughter is having a rough go, I am immediately swept up in their troubles and am constantly trying to fix it. I have learned however, to be more of a sympathetic ear, rather than “the fixer”.

  3. You and I seem to be in the same place in our lives, at least philosophically speaking. This is an excellent question. I wish I were less of a sponge, myself, for right now. Maybe this is a time in our lives when we need to learn to be impervious, like teflon.
    The problem is, it seems to be an all or nothing venture. If we become impervious, then everything gets deflected, even the good stuff that we need and like. On the other hand, if we’re sponges, than everything gets absorbed, even the bad stuff that we wish would go away.
    What to do…?
    I think this is why some people “compartmentalize” their lives, so that they can attempt to keep different rules for each compartment. Sounds exhausting, right? haha! Let me know when you find the answer. :)

    • I am not finding the answer today – it sounds like balance but today I am off balance

  4. Perhaps it’s about remembering to wring out the sponge when it becomes saturated, LouAnn! xoxoM

    • good solution–thanks Margarita–it is all in the follow through though

      • Yes, it is in the follow through. There’s no one way to follow through, however, so as you look, you’ll find the start of the follow through that’s right for you. Baby steps! xoxoM

      • I am in the crawling stage today

      • lol, yes, and crawling is STILL moving, LouAnn! I know, it would feel better to be skipping or running. Crawling is still progress! xoxoM

      • ha ha :)

  5. I’m not sure it’s humanly possible to not be affected by our surroundings. That is what makes life sometimes deliriously wonderful, sometimes unbearable. Your search for bliss is understandable. I’m not sure I would want to be blissful every day. What’s that old joke about the guy (has to be a guy; a woman wouldn’t do this) that keeps hitting his thumb with the hammer over and over and is asked why….”Because it feels so good when I stop.”
    We need the ups and downs of life to keep us even. Of course, it helps if the downs equal the ups.
    I’m really enjoying all your posts and all the comments on your bliss….:)

    • I need a few ups to balance the downs right about now – glad you are enjoying my struggle…oops I mean my journey to find bliss

  6. There is nothing new under the sun. That’s quite a beautiful saying from King Solomon of old. We often absorb things, like you pointed out, give them our own interpretations, then respond in the way that we are most accustomed to or that we most approve.
    Faith, on the other hand, is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. Intuition and creativity are often beneficial solution creation tools, when we can believe what we hope for.
    Neither problems nor their solutions may be new under the earth, but they are often new to us. With our unique perspectives, we can offer unique solutions.
    Thanks for quoting me. Here is a link to the post: http://teeceecounsel.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/uniqeness-quote-unique-solutions/

    • I like your take on the subject better than mine – much more uplifting. Thanks for the link. :)

      • You are always welcome. “Two good heads”, they say, “are better than one”. The more we build our faith and confidence, the more we can produce better results and solutions in life. Collaboration also enhances performance. “One will chase a thousand, two will chase ten thousand”. That’s synergy! I love your welcoming heart and objective mind. It’s a beautiful combination. Keep up the good work.

      • :) I need your message today

    • A seeking soul always finds. I’m glad my words could help!

  7. Compassion understanding, assistance with out being immersed. The opposite of being a sponge. Nice words if one is given to live by the meaning of those words. I’m not very good at not being a sponge when it comes to family and my pets. Of course my children come first but I have not completely learned how to remove myself from their difficulties. Maybe it is different for a mother. I don’t have an answer for not being involved with my children. When they ask for help I am at their disposal.

    • one can never divorce oneself from your children or their difficulties–they come first

  8. I think it’s just the way we are made. Women are wired to be compassionate and empathetic while men are usually less so. We worry, we care, we nurture – it’s just part of our nature :).

  9. Lou Ann, I am going through this as well. My mind is elsewhere on a situation going on that is painful for me and my family and I’m far away from all of them, but I’m here with hubby. It’s difficult to not be a sponge when you have upsetting situations going on in your life. I try to settle down, be good to myself, maybe read a good book just to get my head and heart to settle down. I hope you can find some peace today — that’s what I wish for you — when you have that, well, you got everything, right? Have a peaceful, restful and lovely weekend, my friend!

    • your wish of peace hopefully will win out this weekend–thanks so much Brigitte–I am so sorry about your situation–sometimes we are helpless to do anything

  10. It’s so hard not to be a sponge because so much is happening around us all the time. Sometimes I soak up a little to much and need to escape to ‘dry out’ a little before tackling the big issues again ;)

  11. When I saw the challenge, i also thought of that quote about “nothing new under the sun.” and the fact that we are all absolutely unique. I agree that we definitely don’t want to become hard as nails, but finding that delicate balance between sponge and steel is tricky.

    • it is tricky and should we find it we will be much closer to finding our bliss–unfortunately I have not found that balance

  12. I think for me, the only way I’ve learned to be a bit less of a sponge (love that analogy by the way) is to be more flexible. Of course, some days I’m more chewing gum-flexible (meaning things stick easier) but other days I’m rubber-flexible (still malleable but things bounce off more). We just have to learn to take in the good and bounce off the bad. :)

    • that is a great analogy – be like a rubber ball–one of those little red white and blue ones to deflect and be flexible – you are a genius!

  13. I guess it’s context and perception that makes things unique, even if the events themselves aren’t unique. And since no two circumstances are exactly the same, everything ends up being unique. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it, anyway. :D

  14. I used to be the sponge, carry all that around with me but as I get older I tell myself once I go to sleep, what happened that day, stays in that day..Unless I invite to come to the new day :-)

    • good plan – there are a few things that happened in the last two days that should stay there

  15. Just was reading something yesterday–today?–about how we can be with what arises without taking on the suffering of the person in front of us. To just be with an open heart, perhaps even feeling the heart hurting, but staying open without closing down. I think it’s possible. Not easy, but possible.

  16. I love that you are a sponge! So am I! It can be good, learning new stuff and relishing in the knowledge but it can be difficult too and Mr S would wish that I didn’t soak up everybody else’s worries. Is it a feminine thing, to worry about others so much and to want to put everything right for everyone? :)

    • I think it is a feminine thing which in essence makes it a good thing
      nice to find other sponges–now I don’t feel so bad –

  17. OMG! Now I am going to spend the rest of the evening trying to think of an antonym for sponge. Is a rock an anti-sponge?

  18. from another sponge…i wouldn’t change that about myself. i think there are a lot of magical moments for us sponges. i agree with one of the writers who said we just have to wring it out once in awhile. Part of the reason you are the lovely woman that you are is your sponginess.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 628 other followers

