~ Two ~ Party On!!!!!!!

Times Square New Years Eve Ball

Times Square New Years Eve Ball (Photo credit: ★ SimonPix)

Let the party begin! It is New Year’s Eve–let’s party like it is 1999! (Or if I were being truly wild and crazy–1977,  but that is another story). Grab a hat from mybeautfulthings, some champagne from Chay, wish RoSy a Happy Birthday, devour some munchies that Eagle-Eyed Editor so kindly brought, and don’t bump Robin Coyle’s table–we don’t want her to fall off!!

Robin robincoyle (she is the one in the lampshade) and I are hosting this party with our rose coloured glasses perched prominently on our noses. We want to enter this new year on a positive note–so here is the invitation with instructions:

You Are Invited to a New Year’s Eve Virtual Party

Where: Here

Why: To bring in the New Year on a positive note

How: By leaving a positive comment or resolution

When:  New Year’s Eve —all day and all night and into New Year’s Day

Come one, come all, and bring your most festive smiles.

Entertainment: You, Vanessa Chapman, and Rodents & Rebels

So join us for the frivolities and add whatever you think may make the party hardy!

Vanessa Chapman is dropping by with a song she and a friend have put together for us so make sure you find her–I think she will be in the kitchen. ").length > 0 || jQuery(".wpa script[src*='shareth.ru']").length > 0 || jQuery(".wpa iframe[src*='boomvideo.tv']").length > 0 || jQuery(".wpa iframe[src*='viewablemedia.net']").length > 0 || jQuery(".wpa .sharethrough-placement").length > 0 ) { jQuery( '.wpa' ).css( 'width', '400px' ); } setTimeout(function(){if(typeof GS_googleAddAdSenseService !== 'function'){new Image().src=document.location.protocol+"//pixel.wp.com/g.gif?v=wpcom-no-pv&x_noads=adblock&baba="+Math.random()}},100); } );

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/two-party-on/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

272 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy New Year everybody! Woop Woop!

    As promised, here I am with my other half, Neil, singing a song for the party. In true party style, we’re hanging out in the kitchen, and you even get to see me hurt myself at the end (accidentally you understand!). If you’re having a virtual blog party, we’re available to sing there too, also weddings, bat mitzvahs…

    • The party has officially begun! Happy New Year’s Vanessa and thanks for stopping by. I won’t make you do the dishes.

      • Love it!

      • Me too – check back over the day Julie.

    • Very good…..Diane

    • Thanks for invite. Love the song! Happy New Year to the two of you!

      • thanks for coming LuAnn and a very Happy New Year to you too–there is some bubbly in the kitchen, just go around Vanessa and Neil

    • Wonderful song! Thanks!
      Scott

  2. Oops, don’t think that worked, try again…

    • We are all up for the challenge of a new year, even with a few chinks in our armour!

      • I used the code to embed the YouTube clip, so it should have showed right up in the comment, but oh well! At least it works as a link. I think I’ll just make a start on the cocktails…

      • That is a good solution Vanessa!

    • (Clap, clap, clap). Great video!

      • I can hear you clapping–it is perfect for New Year’s Eve.

    • awesome song. Great video.. thanks for the smile this morning :)

      • hey, you are not off the hook so easily — whistle us a tune or leave a positive resolution even if you are not going to keep it – Happy New Year

      • I will.. I was up early.. cobwebs are still in my crusty brain

      • I will await your awakeness.

      • giggle– i am not sure that ever happens woman.

      • ha ha ha – me too!

  3. Happy New Year!

    I’ve brought some Prosecco to the party. Our household is currently down and out with a wicked flu, so this is the only safe partying that I can do at the moment.

    My hopes for the New Year are to get through the 3 household moves ahead of us this month (my in-laws, my brother and his wife, and us), get us all settled and comfortable and to be happy. Right now the stress is overriding the pure happiness, so a party break is welcome.

    Let Happy Hour begin!

    • I love Procecco and I see you brought us all glasses with those cute little charms–how thoughtful–do you want them back.
      So sorry to hear your family is suffering from the flu and glad you can party with us. My son just told me he thinks this is lame–but he is 21, what does he know. He is leaving today to go back to London but school does not start until the 8th–he is going to a real party in Waterloo.
      A toast to you and all your moves and that they go smoothly my good friend~ Happy New Year!

      • You can keep the glasses – one less thing to pack!

      • smart girl!

      • 21? Wish I was 21 again. I might skip those parties and find a special someone instead to bring in the New Year.

  4. Happy New year to all.

  5. Happy New Year
    http://carldagostino.wordpress.com

  6. Happy New Year to all!!!!!! I hope everyone has a prosperous, adventurous, and safe 2013. Now can I have some chocolate from Cindy?

    • Ooops…I forgot to mention that I love the song. Any song about happy hour works for me :)

    • you deserve it–but you will get more if you whistle a tune

  7. I love this! Will be logging on and off for the day so see you around here, peaches. Tonnes of new year love X

  8. Happy New Year! Stevie Wonder is playing in the background, fun and frivolity abounds, glasses are being clinked, lips are being kissed and we are filled with the joy of today and hope for tomorrow! Cheers Lou.

    • Cheers Peg – Happy New Year–I thought I heard Stevie–he must be in the den. Joy and hope are good things for 2013!

    • I missed out on the kissing part – was busy cooking and on the phone when the time hit. Well, it’s a shame. Since it’s virtual, can I just have been surrounded by hot models and smile?

      • you can anything you want young man–but this is a PG party — smiling is more than allowed

  9. Btw, Love the song Vanessa and Neil, bravo!

  10. I have never gone to a virtual party before – this is fun. Happy New Year everyone – I will check in later with my resolution once I find it.

  11. Awesome song by Vanessa and Neil! I will be dropping by with some artichoke/spinach dip, a bottle of Moscato and my favorite upbeat oldies, including Waterloo Sunset in honor of your son having a REAL party to attend and this one… because without my friends…..blogging and otherwise…. what is the point? Happy New Year everyone.

    http://youtu.be/nCrlyX6XbTU ..

    • I have just discovered Moscato and I love artichoke dip–I have lots of crackers so you don’t have to bring some. Looking forward to your musical choice–and I agree with you–without our blogging friends–what is the point?

  12. [...] right, it’s open house over at On The Homefront‘s place for a virtual New Year’s Eve party; everyone’s invited! I agreed to sing [...]

  13. It is 8.52pm here in Western Australia and still sweltering – I need a drink and I still haven’t found my resolution -

    • We are about 12 hours or so apart and it is just a little too early for a drink, (not much)–so enjoy one for me until I get there!

  14. we have an opportunity to conduct ourselves in a new way.

    One of the ways we can do this is to choose love over hatred.

    It’s up to me

    It’s up to you

    One person, one heart at a time, is all it would take.

    I know, it’s hard to love sometimes…

    but hatred takes much more energy.

    Negative thoughts breed more negative thoughts…

    and often we, who have them, suffer the most.

    Perhaps, like me, you will choose love…

    when someone believes differently than you

    when things don’t work out quite the way you planned them

    and it feels like the entire world is against you.

    Let’s start with the person nearest to us.

    Let’s choose love.

  15. It will be interesting to go back tomorrow to meet the Procecco and Moscato people!

    Oh I found my resolution – to laugh about something every single day.

    • a perfect resolution–I may just steal it! we will still be here so come back for a visit–Robin is still on the table!

      • Yes that sounds like Robin haha!

      • I noticed you trying to climb up and she pushed you off–come on Robin–you can share with Julie–she promised to do the Macarana (or however you spell that)

      • Robin is never gonna beat me at beer!

      • light, draft or regular? what is your favourite kind.

      • Little Creatures double strength

      • must be a down under drink–we will have to import

      • It is very downunder and I can’t find it myself so have had to resort to wine – alas!

      • not a bad thing to resort to!

      • Not bad at all! It’s just past midnight here and I am going to go to bed – love you and thanks for inviting me!

    • Here, perhaps, I can help with the laughing this early –
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vmgGxhK_AUc
      Good old Charlie Brown.
      Happy New Year!

      • Happy New Year and thanks so much for that addition to the party!

  16. Happy New Year to everyone and may I offer you some treats from the Sunshine state; we have fresh fruit, cuban coffee (pre-hangover stuff) and for the adventurist, a cuban cigar (*cough*)..
    Wishing everyone all the best in 2013!!!!

    • I told them to expect cigars–you bring a lot to a party–enjoy and thanks for coming!

      • ;-)

    • Haven’t smoked a cigar in awhile – (puff puff, hack…) tastes bad…oh take the cellophane off first, huh?

  17. I’m here! :)

    It’s nearly 2pm on New Years Eve here in the UK. it’s cold, wet, and windy. Flu ridden hubster is on the sofa watching DVDS whilst I’m sat at my desk under the guise of studying *shhhhh* ;)

    Will pop back later when it’s a more suitable time to be consuming alcohol ;)

    Xx

    • sounds good to me–we will toast then! sorry about you hubster–

    • That’s going around here, too. I have several friends who have or just got over it. Bad news!

  18. You know I love a good party … especially in the midst of good people!
    It’s time to dance! Happy New Year LouAnn!

    • Frank – thanks so much for getting in the spirit and this is a spirited offering–perfect for making a party–Happy New Year!

  19. Happy New Year and I am bringing pork roast with sauerkraut and hot dogs to eat for good luck in the new year. Is that only a western PA thing because no one has heard of it here in Arizona. Super creative and fun post—love it!

    • I don’t care where the tradition comes from–it is a fine one and if it gives us good luck then I am all for it. Thanks for dropping by with such good food!

    • Having pork and fried cabbage for the noon meal. We have heard of it here.
      Scott

  20. Smiling joyful heart
    bright hope and goodness abound
    love kindness for 2013

    and I’ll be back ’cause the music at this party needs to be a little more bootylicious

    • ps– I enjoyed the music that has already been posted..

    • did you check out Frank’s comment and the dance–now that it bootylicious–but please come back and bring more — it is going to be a long party!
      I like your haiku -it is absolutely perfectly in keeping with the theme of the party!

  21. And then at the witching hour, friendships made and arms and all looped together and then the shouts of cheers go out, the laughter and giggles can be heard. this night will only in time but as for friendships made and bonding everyone will still have this in their minds to recall upon when times are low, Someone shouts from within the circle of new found friends and the favourite song of all time is sang. Everyone moves forward, then back but the smiles and laughter are always shown and the song rings out loud…

    Happy new Year everyone. and may your 2013 give all that you wish for. At the end the song we must all make a silent wish…Thank you all for a wonderful time..My wish is made…:)

    • Perfect–I will be back to comment more–just found out I am supposed to be working today–

    • Got my stuff written up for this week’s paper–so am back to appreciate the music–wonderful choice–and I love your sentiments in your comment–thanks so much good friend and Happy New Year! I am still listening–

  22. Happy New Year! My two 2013 resolutions: write a little every day, and share the kindness around… maybe it will rub off and stamp out some evil if we all make an effort. ; )

    • what a wonderful two part resolution — one for you and one for all of us – thanks so much Anne and Happy New Year!

    • I like the “sharing the kindness”. But stamping out the evil will be difficult if I am writing a little every day (horror).

  23. Bravo! Bravo! Encore.

    My resolution? Make someone smile every day. The side benefit? I get to smile every day too. And LouAnn, Vanessa, and Neil . . . awesome party going on here. Thanks for making me smile today.

    • Your antics on the table are making everyone smile–you have some good legs there girl!

      • My best feature. Will you hand me my hat . . . er . . . I mean lampshade?

      • it broke, I will have to find you a more sturdy one

      • Rats.

      • when you get up from your nap I will have a new one!

    • ahh and you make me smile Robin..see so your resolution is already working like magic

      • yay Robin! yay unfettered!

      • Lovely! Happy New Year, Audra.

      • she is writing to you atop a table–I have asked Barefoot Baroness to give you a rest so you can have a drink and eat

      • I think I’ve had too much to drink already. My head is spinning.

      • I have a guest room made up just for those of us that need a “rest”–

  24. I’m not to ‘awake’ yet….but will think on my resolution and will be back later….I loved the entertainment so far…Diane

    • we will await your resolution with great earnest

    • Okay, while you are resting, I have some dancing…they haven’t been drinking and won’t.

      • well, that certainly didn’t work, maybe I have been drinking! Once more:

      • wonderful–love this!

  25. Happy New Year, Lou Ann. My New Year’s Resolution is to watch more movies. That’s a simple one, right? I should be able to achieve this. Wishing you the best year ever! Happy 2013!

    • a good resolution–pleasant, fun, and enriching – Happy New Year!

    • so glad you came–so it is New Year’s at your place – yay–woo woo–fireworks–guns going off–come back tomorrow

  26. •*¨*•☆ಌ☆•*¨*☆ •*¨*•☆ಌ☆•*¨*☆ Happy of Happiest New Years Lou & to all your beautiful guests!! •*¨*•☆ಌ☆•*¨*☆ •*¨*•☆ಌ☆•*¨*☆

    I adore your concept of Bring Your Own Positive Comment to your party You are brilliantly creative as usual.

    Wish & hoping tour 2013 be filled with a heart full of much laughter & be surrounded by loving & kind friend who lift you emotionally & spiritually always.

    My thoughts for 2013 will ring out through out the year in as many ways as I can master. I will let peace on this earth begin within myself and hope to shine through out the hearts I am in touch with

    My thought today:”Your Life is a reflection of your thoughts. Think Only The Great Ones.” ಌಌ

    Thanks so much Lou, Magnificent party! You are certainly the “Hostess with the most-est ” ;-)

    • well have some munchies and champagne before you leave–thanks for the comments–they are truly uplifting and in the spirit of this party
      Robin is getting tired of dancing on the table–want to spell her off so she can eat drink and then be merry again?

      • In a heartbeat!
        Step on down there Robin. Take a deserved break.
        You all call me now when you are pouring the champagne, I’ll be right there

        Somebody needs to change the music! Better yet lets try talking Gerry into playing a couple tunes. ~

      • he provided one but more would be wonderful–how about Love Stinks or Highway to Hell

  27. I’m new here…can I come in? Your party sounded like so much fun from the outside. I’ve brought extremely special party hats and honkers…

    I have lots of the usual resolutions about health and exercise and neatness. But my biggest is to conitnue with Random Acts of Kindness every day this year. And hope I can improve and spread some more joy with my photography.Happy New Year! Glad I found you!

    • So glad you dropped by and Random Acts of Kindness are in keeping with the party’s theme–welcome and Happy New Year!

    • I made my resolutions and positives in my current post. I am sorry if those were to be given at the door!
      Here is the link:
      http://kindredspirit23.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/2012-in-review/
      I need to head. It is past 2:00 AM and I a worn-out guy!
      Thanks, part was/is great!
      Scott

      • Glad you came and brought all kinds of entertainment–will have to check out those resolutions and positives~

  28. Happy New Year Aunt Lou and to all your lovely party guests! I tried to attend a few minutes ago but got kicked out :-) This is my second attempt at popping in so hoping for a more successful visit! I am just staying for a moment to say hello, have a couple sips of coffee and a peanut butter choc chip dessert. But I will pop back later for some champers and some appetizers! I found an old recipe box not too long ago and in it a recipe that said Salmon Cream Cheese Spread from Aunt Lou-Ann….do you remember it? it’s delicious! Will bring it later for everyone to try ;-) xo

    • happy you dropped by – a little early in our neck of the woods for champagne–but come back later–wish I could remember the recipe–don’t I owe you a cookbook (which is rather rich coming from me)-love you Chay and Happy New Year to you and the girls and Eliot!

  29. What an awesome party – great friends, music, laughter, resolutions..Thank you for inviting me!! It’s pretty chilly here today, so I’ve brought some hot buttered rum (which I’ve never had but am dying to try)…a resolution? Re-gift kindness, smiles, joy; keep going to the gym; volunteer..haven’t thought of more because I’ve got the hot buttered rum on the brain…Happy New Year!!

    • yum-hot buttered rum–you did good and like regifting kindness (just keep that gym stuff off my blog-ha ha)
      Happy New Year–thanks for coming by–there will be champagne a little later and Robin will need some spelling off

  30. Sorry I’m a little late. I stopped at the Cheesecake Factory. When the manager learned that I was going to a party at LouAnn’s, he told me to take one of every kind of Cheesecake with me! So I’ve brought a bunch of delicious cakes with me!! YUM!!

    Wow! Such a fun atmosphere and Audra is right, let’s get this music cranked.
    So I’ve found a few quotes that I wanted to share for the coming year. That’s my offering. They are from my little book, Keep Calm and Carry On. (all my other books have been packed and are stuck in storage.)

    Always be kind, for everyone is fighting a hard battle. -Plato

    The robbed that smiles, steals something from the thief.
    -William Shakespeare (He’s a smart one, that Bill!)

    If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs, it’s possible you haven’t grasped the situation. -Jean Kerr

    There is no trouble so great or grave that cannot be much diminished by a nice cup of tea. -Bernard-Paul Heroux (I might add, or coffee)

    and finally…

    If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again. Then quit. There’s no point in being a damn fool about it. – W C Fields

    Now it’s time to party – Where’s that lampshade???!!!

    HAPPY NEW YEAR LOUANN and ROBIN!!!!
    xoxox
    Lisa

    • Happy New Year’s Lisa-love your quotes especially WC Fields and Jean Kerr–I like people who cut their losses or are honest. Love the cheery cheesecake and chocolate swirl–thanks so much for dessert–I knew I forgot something
      Can you spell Robin off for awhile–she is dancing on the table in the great room and is getting tired

  31. It must be nearly time for wine but Mrs BC and the kids are afternoon into the evening napping after a horrendous day hitting the sales. Would it be rude to drink bubbles alone?

    • nope you can drink them with me–cheers Mr. B – glad you hopped aboard

      • Glad to be here

      • now grab a lampshade–I think there is one in the dining room

  32. Your request is met…

    • thank you- beleive it or not–it was my husband and my theme song when we started dating–but later we disproved it–thanks so much–you are wonderful–I was actually dancing!

  33. I’m going to give you my favourite inspirational quote from my father with the greatest piece of life he ever gave me, “son if you have to drink gin for f#&*s sake use a tot measure” hope this keeps some of you safe tonight

    • I would like it if I understood it–I am not too bright sometimes–what is a tot measure?

      • I guess the easiest way to describe it is a shot glass to measure how much gin you’re getting per drink. They come in various sizes they were a gil where I grew up or 35.5ml in the UK the legal measure is 25ml

      • I learn so much from my overseas friends!

      • It’s probably just more useless knowledge stored in the back of my head.

      • no such thing as useless knowledge!

  34. I just realized the best part of this party…. There’s no clean up!!!! YAY!!! (Please know I would have offered! haha!)

    • I know you would have– no clean up and hardly any getting ready–

      • That, too!!! The fact that we’re thinking along those lines really reveals our age – right? LOL!!!!

      • maybe–or that we are just smart cookies–anyway, I am a ton older than you young lady, I am just immature

  35. [...] Be sure to join LouAnn and my New Year’s Eve party over at On the Homefront and Beyond. [...]

  36. Great party, great entertainment! :)This new year, I am resolving to start each day with a positive thought, no matter what I might be facing, in order to build up the positive energy inside and around me. Happy New Year to you!

  37. [...] Bloggers Robin Coyle and Lou Ann are hosting a virtual blogging party over at LouAnn’s blog, On The Homefront And Beyond, for New Year’s Eve, and I’ve prepared a feast. I’m making my tangy meatballs, [...]

  38. Great to see everyone here ~ I’ve brought along my best party smile here: :D and some prawn crackers, sweet ‘n sour and beef chow mien ~ now don’t fight ~ there’s some Moët to help it down ~ ahhhh, here she is, I knew champers would get her off the table … Robin, the lampshade queen, very fetching dear ~ good party :)

    Mulled wine later?

    • the food is to die for–and if you can tame Robin just a wee bit–she is up from her nap and dancing like a maniac
      the Moet is just the right note

      • Soooo civilised darling Louann ~ even calms Robin … momentarily :)

      • :)

  39. Looks like the party’s in full swing over here! And I notice that others managed to embed their YouTube clips properly where I failed, sigh. Four hours to go till midnight here in the UK. I always get emotional at New Year, so get ready to pass me some tissues, and another drink, in about four hours, thanks :)

    • I put you up in the body of my post and everyone is commenting so we have done something right–it is still eight hours to midnight and some change here

  40. Happy New Year, Lou Ann! Look at you go! I’m not big on resolutions, but I will share the same one I made on my post today: I am going to finish my book in 2013. I’ve been terrified after my computer crashed in August. But it’s time to get back on the horse.

    Having said that:

    And no, I’m not planning to use a lot of cocaine this year. I plan to ride. Ride the white horse and finish that book. Oh, yes I do. And this song (once you get past the advertisement), gets me psyched to write.

  41. Happy NYE!
    Thanks for the Bday shout out Lou Ann :)

    No resolutions – just going with the flow & hoping for the best for one & all. PeAce!

  42. Just stopping by sing Auld lang syne (sorry–a little off key) and wish everyone a HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! (Horns blowing, offering a hummus dip and some chips, and wearing a party hat.) I can’t stay long because we’ve got our own little birthday celebration going on at home, but wanted to drop in and say hi. You throw a lovely party, LouAnn!

    • glad you dropped by–love hummus and the hat goes with your eyes–oh, you say the hat is red–sorry
      Happy New Year Kathy and HB to your beautiful daughter

      • ha ha ha ha (blowing my horn at ya!)

      • don’t blame you for the comment I made

      • Quite alright, dear, is it time for so more bubbly?

      • it is past time for the bubbly!

      • I mean “some more bubbly”. Obviously I’ve had too much. (Even though I haven’t had any–yet.)

      • ha ha ha ha ha – I knew what you meant

  43. Woo hoo! Loved your song, Vanessa. Now, LouAnn, where’s your son the lead guitarist? I’m ready to rock!

    • He is playing at the Hamm’s tonight for their New Year’s Eve party! In a big barn.

      • Okay, then Ill turn up some rock on the stereo and may join Robin on the table before too long. :-)

      • it is a pretty good size table–Robin asked that it be big enough for others to join her- so go Lori go!

      • Yeah, baby.

  44. Oh, and Happy New Year everyone! Kicking it off with a great start at LouAnn’s party. (Don’tcha just hate it when you click submit before your mind stops with what you wanted to say? Oh, that’s just me, sorry).

  45. It may be unoriginal, but I’m wishing everyone a year filled with inspiration and wonderful times spent with family and friends. Now when is Robin going to start dancing on the table? ;)

    • she is just taking a rest and wishing everyone inspiration is a good thing!

  46. 3 hours to go here in the UK :) I have a nice cold glass of Riesling and I’m munching my way through After Eights :)

    Will be cracking the bottle of bubbly open at 11.30pm!

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    Xx

    • still 6 1/2 hours for us if I can add and subtract – am not so sure about that about now

      • 2am here now so you should be turning the page soon! :)

        Have a great one you guys!!!!!!

        Xx

      • Only three more hours–but I doubt I will be up to see it–Happy 2013 Vikki!

  47. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! You have all done a fabulous job…..My New Years resolution…..very corny…..to make sure that all those that I love, know that I love them, to be the best zannyro I can be and to not take life so seriously..

    • good resolutions–corny is good as is not taking life too seriously—it is serious enough sometimes – Happy New Year zannyro

  48. Hi,
    Seems the party is in full swing or am I late? :D
    Looks like everyone is having a great time, and some good music as well.
    New Years eve is over here in Oz and we are well into New Years day.
    Happy New Year.

    • that is why I started it early and we are going to end late–so you are right on time!

  49. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  50. Hi….I’m back….My resolution for the coming year is going to be to promote healing in relationships that I know of that need it…and in general to help and encourage all those who need a friend…Sounds a bit serious for such a party as we’re having but it is my hope for the year…I’ve chosen a song that kind of speaks for me….I’ll be back later to celebrate with all…Diane

    • that resolution is exactly the theme of the party Diane–thanks for the song–I will have to take a minute or three to listen to it –see you later!

  51. Happy New Year one and all! Good health – happy days and sleep filled nights!!

    • thank you–and all three wishes would make life wonderful–I wish them back to you–and a very Happy New Year

  52. What a fun party! Woo hoo!

    My resolution is to find something to be grateful for everyday no matter how tiny it may be. And I wish everyone a wonderful New Year!

    Now where should I put the buffalo wing dip and chips?

    Thanks for the party!

    • over on the table next to the spinach-artichoke dip–love your resolution and glad you could make it here sherrie–Happy New Year

      • Yum, spinach-artichoke dip…

        Thank you again and Happy New Year! (all said between bites of delicious food!)

      • Join Robin on the table–it is not wobbly at all

      • Umm, I think I saw the dog dump the spinach-artichoke dip.on the floor. He was lapping it up like crazy. I think in the new year I’ll be more like your dog. You know…just go for and be happy.

      • Go for it and be happy–a good resolution. That sounds like my cat’s philosophy–eat, sleep, play and be worshipped

  53. Happy New Year! I’m sick so I can’t linger. Wouldn’t want to infect the other guests… :D

    • and I am sure they will appreciate that–but make sure you have some dip and bubbles–those are know to be flu busters

  54. My positive comment is the inspiring first part of Reinhold Niebuhr’s Serenity Prayer:
    God, give me grace to accept with serenity
    the things that cannot be changed,
    Courage to change the things
    which should be changed,
    and the Wisdom to distinguish
    the one from the other.
    Also, I did bring my amazing “creamy scallion dip” which I had prepared ahead for your last party. It’s from the 70s and is the best dip EVER.
    Luanne

    • That dip is to die for–send the recipe when you get a moment and thanks for the Serenity Prayer–so in keeping with our themes–Happy New Year

      • “Creamy Scallion Dip” with Drumstick snacker crackers.
        1 c. dairy sour cream
        1 c. creamed cottage cheese
        4 ounces Swiss cheese, finely grated
        1 T. chili sauce
        1/2 t. dill weed
        1/2 c. slice scallions
        Toasted slivered almonds (never optional)
        Blend together the first 6 ingredients and pour into a 1 quart casserole. Bake in a preheated oven at 325degrees 15 minutes or until heated through. Garnish with almonds. Serve warm with crackers. Makes about 2 2/3 c. I always made a double batch.
        Happy New Year!

      • I love that the almonds are never optional–this sounds easy aside from tasting heavenly–thanks so much! First recipe tonight!

  55. Happy New Year!
    This new 365 I resolve to…
    1. Finish my last few residency interviews with a big smile (even though I’m tired a la broke).
    2. Smile big on Match Day, whether I got my first or my last choice of residencies.
    3. Finish the last 3 rotations of medical school with the same determination and excitement with which I approached the first.
    4. Call my parents more.
    5. Cuddle Mr. Whine tighter.
    6. Do more of the things I instruct my patients to do. (gulp)
    7. Strive for excellence, even as I live in the moment.
    And, of course, keep writing what I see.
    All the best to you and your fab readers!

    • wow – you put some thought into those–I hope all seven come true and especially the keep writing part–I am so glad there are people in the world who take on such a challenging and needed career

  56. Wow! Look at all the comments here LouAnn. You rock! Great party. I’ll stick around to help you clean up.

    • thanks Robin–but I have a crew coming in later so just party hardy and enjoy yourself–you can stay for breakfast I hope?

      • Hair of the dog, I hope.

      • Caesar or Bloody Mary?

      • Bloody, please. Extra produce.

      • celery with leaves or without

      • With.

      • ok

      • Mind if I hang out for breakfast? I make a killer hollandaise sauce. We can do lobster eggs benedict with mimosas. I’ve got everything we need, including fresh squeezed orange juice from Florida.

      • Mind–girl come right in–the kitchen is yours–sounds fantastic!

  57. Sharing my card with you –
    http://www.jacquielawson.com/viewcard.asp?code=3946887033868&source=jl999

  58. I’m back …boy the food here is scrumptious ….and the company divine…the entertainment is good …dancing on tables…and the occasional song…I do love caesar’s but only one because I need some champagne at midnight…Did you say there was more than one midnight?…Oh well then I’ll have one for each…You can’t get ‘virtually’ drunk thank goodness……Where’s the most comfortable chair…I need to sit down…with my caesar that is…lol Diane

    • the den down the hall is the quiet room for a little respite so you can join the frivolity in the great room or kitchen later–you can have as many ceasars and glasses of bubbly you want at this party–no headaches, no driving home–what could be better

  59. My company for the holidays just left, and I’m exhausted…. and a little sad. I figured I’d stop by briefly for a little pick-me-up, and I’m so glad I did! You sure know how to throw a party! I brought along some feta foldovers and some coconut shrimp. Can I throw them in your oven for about 10 minutes?

    • sure, you just have to work around Vanessa–she is singing up a storm in the kitchen
      glad you came back–the holidays are exhausting so just enjoy a little virtual partying with your shoes off

    • Reply number 2 – if you have a recipe for the feta foldovers share it if you have a minute–I love love love feta

      • Found this Feta Foldover recipe on All Recipes several years ago and I’ve made them ever since.

        Here is the WONDER of the recipe…. Just make them, DON’T COOK THEM, just freeze them on a cookie sheet. Once they are frozen, throw them into a food storage bag and keep them in your freezer. Just pop a few in the toaster oven whenever you need them. Very very handy!

        8 ounces feta cheese, crumbled
        3 tablespoons finely chopped green onions
        1 egg, beaten
        1 (17.5 ounce) package frozen puff pastry, thawed
        1 egg yolk, beaten with 1 teaspoon water

        Directions

        Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
        In a small bowl, blend feta cheese, green onions, and egg. Cut pastry into 12 (3 inch) squares. Place a mounded tablespoon of feta mixture in the center of each square. Moisten edges with water, and fold pastry over filling to form a triangle. Press edges together firmly with a fork to seal. Lightly brush pastries with the egg yolk mixture.
        Bake for 20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden brown. Serve warm or at room temperature.

      • Absolutely love this recipe–sounds like something I would actually make–and yours are so lovely–flaky and buttery and feta cheesy with a note of onions – thanks for sharing this with us–I may just feature this and another recipe provided tonight on my Saturday blog post–recipe day,

  60. Just checking in and reading through – great party LouAnn! Just prop me up in the corner and kick me out when it gets too late.

    • you are welcome to stay overnight – I have your room made up at the end of the hall–tell me if there is anything you need

      • Perfect! Oh, and I got your card today – thanks!

      • a little late but hey the thought was there–should have been a Happy New Year’s card–I will get that one off in March–so you will have to be satisfied with this until then–Happy New Year Heidi!

  61. Hey everyone!! sorry I’m late. I got lost. But I brought Gloria Gaynor and a whole slew of champagne with me! Come on everybody. Let’s dance!! *pops cork*

  62. WOW! You guys have been partying ALL day long! I am just stepping in to sample the food, have a glass of bubbly, and say hi. Off to hang in the blanket fort, eat Sun Chips, and play video games with my boys. Cheers and a happy new year to you all. Hic! oh, excuse me. ;-)

    • Cheers and Happy New Year to you–I cannot think of a better way to bring in the new year than to hang out in a blanket fort with my kids (except they are in their twenties and out and about tonight)

  63. LouAnn, Robin, readers and bloggers,
    What a party this is..! 2012 for some was a challenging one; it was for me, and my family. I thought long and hard today about what I could wish you all, including myself, and this is what I came with: I wish all of us an uneventful, calm, and relaxing year. No surprises, like the Radiohead song… And if surprises there are, let them be joyous. Have fun, much love, and be safe.
    Le Clown

    • I am so with you–only good and joyous surprises,not those that hit you in the back of the head and leave you gasping for air and wondering what happened.
      Happy New Year Le Clown, Eric and fellow Canadian–thank you for dropping by–it was an honour.

  64. LouAnn,
    Happy New Year and fabulous party! I just finished the chocolate-covered strawberries so I will be bringing them right over. They will go great with the champagne. My wish for everyone for 2013 is that they live their dream each and every day and share their passion with the world. May we embrace each others’ differences and revel in the beauty of them. May all have abundant good health, both mind and body, and experience hope, great joy, and much lightness and love in the upcoming year. Happy New Year everyone!

    • Happy New Year to you too–and you brought lots to the party–chocolate covered strawberries and a wonderful wish–hope it comes true for all of us!

      • Me as well…fabulous party! :)

  65. Lou Ann/Robin,

    I am late to your party. Just got home from a long ride/journey and wish I’d come more prepared but wanted to drop by and say Happy New Year. I hope 2013 is a wonderful year for you, all of your lovely guests/friends here and for me and mine as well! I’m just going to say I’m so grateful for my friends (these here included — ones I’ve met and yet to meet) and for all the enormous possibilities that lay ahead. Be well, much love and as I sip my glass of wine and have a quiet night with my hubby and pups, I’m at a good place right now. And right now is really all we have and that’s a very good thing. Happy 2013 my friend!!!!

    • Happy 2013 and I think that all we can ask for is to be in a good place right now–I am glad you are there and hope everyone can find that place. So enjoy your time with hubby and pups–and thank you so much for dropping by. (My cat really took to your pups–so we can all be friends!)

  66. Do I still count as a guest even though on my end of the world it’s already New Year’s Day? Either way, I’d still like to wish you and everyone else a happy happy new year filled with more good times than bad times!
    This year has definitely been a tumultuous ride for me but I wouldn’t change a single thing about it. As I wrote on my blog, things always turn out so much more different than what you expected. It could be good or bad but either way, we just gotta keep on marching forward. Cheers to a great new year ahead for you and here’s to another year of being blogging friends. :)

    • Cheers to you my good friend and I will march along beside you–Happy 2013 and I am glad you made it over–would not have been the same without you. (I caught you singing a little karoke in the kitchen–good voice!)

  67. I missed the big 12 o’clock….I was on the phone ….HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE !!!! Diane

  68. Wow! It’s just coming up to 7.30am on New Year’s Day here in the UK and I see the party has been going on all night! Although I think LouAnn and Robin seem to have fallen asleep in a corner somewhere.

    Thank you for hosting it ladies, and thank you to those who made nice comments about mine and Neil’s song!

    • I am up, I am up–thanks so much for providing such wonderful entertainment Vanessa–you kept the kitchen hopping–see you later in the day

  69. What a great party that was … *sigh* … sad to see it over ~ wonderful to be part of it :) Happy New Year 2013 everyone.

    • come on over for brunch–Vanessa is moving to the dining room while we fix it–so glad you could come–Happy New Year Polly

      • On my way ~ bringing prosecco ~ I hear you could do with some, LouAnn :) Should I bring some smoked salmon, cream cheese, blinis and put them all together for you?

      • oh I am in heaven! bring them all and I will promise not to sing

  70. Too late! I heard you already … besides, Vanessa dropped you in it! :)

  71. Happy New Year to all you party animals!

  72. OK, I’m here – where’s the brunch? I’m hungryyyyyyy!!! LOL

    • Prosecco and orange juice in the great room–Robin will serve the rest

      • I had to Google prosecco, but when I found out what it is I got all excited. I could use some wine right about now. I’m liking this party :).

      • I could use some wine too–sans orange juice

      • You would have laughed at me just before supper. I went into the kitchen where my hubby was cooking supper, grabbed the bottle of wine right out of the fridge and swigged it right out of the bottle, and I don’t even drink. Can you tell I’ve had enough of the holiday season and holiday company?? LOL :)

      • ha ha — wish I could have seen your husband’s face–your holiday season went on just a little too long — here is wishing you some down time just for yourself–has your son gone back yet–mine went back yesterday but we have talked on the phone three times to day–I miss him but that is better than being glad he is gone–wishing you the best this year–and so happy to have made you as a friend (hugs)

      • Actually, my hubby told me I didn’t have enough and to take another swig LOL!!! Bryan is home until Saturday, so when my parents leave tomorrow morning (Yayyyy – oops did I say that out loud), I am hoping to have some one on one time with him, and we are going to take him and his girlfriend to the movies one night before they leave. Too bad your son had to go back already, but it sounds like you have a great relationship with him like I do with Bryan. It’s hard when they grow up and leave the nest, even if it’s just temporary for school, but we sure are proud of how they are turning out aren’t we? I am really glad I found you as a blogging friend too – you always seem to understand what I’m going through :).

      • enjoy the rest of your week with Bryan–and I love your husband’s reaction–he sounds like a keeper–goodnight my friend–have had too much excitement of late

  73. What a riot! Happy, Happy New Year Y’all! Sending everyone peace, blessings and bliss for 2013. Rock on! :-)
    Eliz

  74. Damn. I missed the party! HNY

  75. Hey, that was some party!

    Sorry I couldn’t call in on the night but my lovely friends were holding a Birthday Party for me so I had to be there, despite the Bronchitis Beast having got hold of me – and punishing me badly for going out for only three hours – so today is my first day back on the blog-read.

    So glad the party was such a roaring success, that you liked my hats and that Penny managed to stay on the table for most of the evening!

    Happy New Year to you all :) :)

    • glad you could finally make it–I think I sent birthday wishes–but I am sending them again

  76. Just went in and looked at that card! Fabulous! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers

