~ A “No Rhyme or Reason” Recipe Because It is Saturday ~

Peggy's Cove

Peggy’s Cove (Photo credit: bouave)

Here is a tried and true recipe that is so good (and need I say it: EASY) as a side to go with your Christmas ham. It is from my messy “No Rhyme or Reason Cookbook” that is really just a red notebook filled to the gills with pasted in, stapled, and taped in recipes, many hand-written.

Some of the recipes are from magazines and newspapers, but most are from family and friends. The cookbook has personality plus. So what if it is coming apart at the seams—that makes it all the more adorable.

This recipe comes from my sister Peggy, thus it is called:

Great Baked Beans à la Peggy

4 – 15 oz. cans of pork and beans (or any derivative thereof)

1 onion

3 tbsp. vinegar

¾ cup of molasses

1 tsp. dry mustard

¼ cup of ketchup (I have used chilli sauce)

Bacon on top

Dice onion and throw all the ingredients into a casserole or if you are so lucky, one of those expensive Le Creuset dishes from France. (I have to stick with my Corningware). Artistically drape the bacon over the beans to create your own Picasso. Bake 1 hour at 350 degrees, then 15 minutes at 400 degrees.

The molasses gives these beans a wonderful depth, and of course the bacon is just a cheap trick to make it taste even better. Everything tastes better with bacon!

Everything Tastes Better with Bacon

Everything Tastes Better with Bacon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Published in: on December 1, 2012 at 1:14 pm  Comments (46)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/12/01/a-no-rhyme-or-reason-recipe-because-it-is-saturday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

46 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I don’t think we can get molasses here – not sure.

    • sometimes I use maple syrup or brown sugar if I do not have any molasses

      • I don’t even know what molasses is exactly – sorry to be so ignorant. I vaguely remember it being mentioned when I was a kid in Canada

      • The thick viscous syrup we call blackstrap molasses that provides the robust bittersweet flavor to baked beans and gingerbread is available throughout the year. Blackstrap molasses is just one type of molasses, the dark liquid byproduct of the process of refining sugar cane into table sugar. It is made from the third boiling of the sugar syrup and is therefore the concentrated byproduct left over after the sugar’s sucrose has been crystallized.

      • Okay – now I want some – it sounds like a power food!

      • it is! good description

    • I’m not sure where you are, but here in the UK we tend to call it black treacle.

      • Western Australlia

  2. Yum. That sounds delish! I’ll definitely try this, and yes, everything tastes better with bacon!

  3. simple quick and tasty

  4. Yumm! Thanks for the recipe, LouAnn. And you’re right, everything does taste better with bacon!

  5. I heard on the radio the other morning that a company have just brought out bacon scented shaving foam – I do think there are exceptions as to what can be improved by bacon.

    This does sound tasty though!

  6. I call this a receipe for all seasons. It’s quick and easy as you wrote. I don’t think anyone could fail unless they can’t follow simple directions.

    • it would be good for just about anything from barbeques to Christmas dinner

  7. I haven’t hear “filled to the gills” in a while and now I wonder if an expression only in certain parts of the country.

    • are you from Canada? It actually surprised me too–it is not an expression I have used often (or ever before)

      • I’m originally from Michigan, which of course is close to Canada . . . .

      • we are neighbours–I am about 30 miles from the Windsor/Detroit border

      • What a coincidence! Unfortunately, I now live in Phoenix, Arizona, but I grew up in Kalamazoo, Michigan. I guess that must be the region for the expression.

      • I think you could be right

  8. This reminds me of how my Mother used to make Baked beans. I can still see the jar of molasses (it had a lion on the bottle) she would ask me to get for her.. Those dishes were so good.. ah, sweet memories!!

    • did you mom ever make baked beans from scratch – mine did–I tried it once and the stupid beans never softened–so give me a can of beans any day
      glad this brought back good memories

      • No I think she used cheap canned beans and jazzed them up and cooked them in her cast iron skillet in the oven. I keep meaning to buy me one for the food is so good..

      • I know, me too–my mom used to use a cast iron skillet too

  9. Haha my bacon brother would love this :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  10. This looks SO good! If I had a can of pork ‘n beans (or any beans) I would make some for supper tonight with our fish and scalloped potatoes.

  11. Love baked beans! Sounds delicious! ~ Sheila

  12. This looks like something my Auntie M used to make. I’m glad you shared the recipe.

  13. Made this recipe several times at the cottage this past summer, always tasty.

  14. Everything does taste better with bacon!

    Adieu, scribbler

  15. Anything with bacon, sounds good to me. :)

  16. My husband loves beans and would love this – though around here we call this combustible fuel.

  17. [...] ~ A “No Rhyme or Reason” Recipe Because It is Saturday ~ (onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com) [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 620 other followers

