~ A Poohism To Get You Through Your Day ~

 

“When you are a Bear of Very Little Brain, and you think of Things, you find that sometimes a Thing that seemed  Thingish inside  you is quite different when it gets out into the open and has other people looking at it.” ~ A. A. Milne

Winnie the Pooh

Winnie the Pooh (Photo credit: JayPLee)

 This quote is known  as a “Poohism” and is part and parcel of the wisdom and philosophy of Winnie the Pooh, from the series of books created by A.A. Milne for his son.

Children are very wise. They understand the complicated statements made by their favourite characters. They know that Pooh is smart despite the fact that he is always saying that he is a Bear of Very Little Brain. And they know that sometimes something they are thinking inside their brains becomes something very different when it sees the light of day.

When I first read this statement I did not necessarily think of it as something positive. Sometimes when we reveal what is inside of us to other people they think we are rather odd; or the way we express ourselves does not magically trip off our tongue quite the way we imagined. But  sometimes giving those thoughts a voice can help disperse them, especially if they are thoughts of fear or revelations of angst.

Doodle You

Doodle You (Photo credit: neonbubble)

There is a sensitive blogger, summerteifi, who doodles her thoughts and by doing so gets them out in the open. Her advice is this:

“Express yourself, embrace creativity to help release these fears, pain and worry. Once out on paper, they soften and feel distant and become reassured by the motherly parenting parts of yourself. And if they don’t, keep doodling, keep sharing, keep expressing and never stop knowing this too shall pass.”

So how do you get your Thingish things out in the open?

      


The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/11/24/a-poohism-to-get-you-through-your-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

55 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Every day, without fail, but I sometimes dress them up

    • I am thinking I should reword that question-what do you think?

      • I think the question is a good one, but how happy others will be being honest in their replies? Who knows? :-)

      • well, we will just leave it be and see what happens :)

      • Forgot to mention that I like the Poohism. Pooh reminds me of myself. I look a bit stupid on the surface, but what you see isn’t always what you get.
        He’s a bit stouter than I am, though

      • I love Pooh–no stupidity there on both counts!

      • What yer saying? That I’m stout? :-)

      • no no no no no no no – ha ha

  2. Girlfriends help get the thingish things out in the open. What would we do without them? I do agree that once fears are aired, you can let them go a bit and angst deflates. Winnie the pooh’s wisdom is not just for kids.

    • I so agree – yes girlfriends and sisters are the best way to get rid of Thingisms

    • Ah, girlfriends. They are the best ones to share poohisms and angsts with. And best of all, sharing both these and your comical doodles too. Laughing at our angsts with our girlfriends, is one of my favourite pastimes of all times. Big love. X

  3. This was a great post!! Oh how I love Pooh Bear :). Can I be A.A. Milne for your virtual party?? I’ll bring some honey :).

    • perfect–as long as the honey is in a 1970’s recipe
      how are you going to look like a man? come as Pooh

      • Oh goody, I thought I had to come as an author. I would much rather be Pooh!!

      • well I will open it up just for you – and let others come as characters too–in fact I think that is better than just author–see what you did – you have created a better party already

      • Well, with you and I attending, how could it get any better?? LOL Ok, maybe if TBM comes too, it will be perfect!! Oh, and don’t forget Mr. Bunny Chow :). I know that his name has nothing to do with actual bunnies, but maybe he could come as Peter Rabbit!!

      • we will have to suggest it–love the way you think–Margaret Atwood is coming and she promised to smile

      • LOL!!

  4. I would have loved to peek inside A.A. Milne’s mind. Things really do seem much worse when they’re in your head and they just sit there in the dark and spin and spin. So sometimes I’ll tell Mr. Weebles, or my friends, or I’ll blog about it, and usually it will feel better just because I’ve gotten it out. And most of the time someone will say something that puts it back in its proper perspective.

    • yes, usually when you put it out there–you will get one comment or piece of advice that will makes sense to you

  5. Sometimes my thingish thingish things come out in my outside voice when they were better left inside.

    Being of very little brain and large bum, I feel a kinship to Pooh.

    • you are one funny girl–and I know what you mean–my outside voice sometimes wins

    • I loved this reply! Let those thingish things flow out, even if they feel like they should be left inside because by the sounds of it, you are only wonderful funny lass, so whatever comes out of your mouth will be worth hearing, for sure! And that goes for everyone else too. X

    • Love that! :)

  6. I love Pooh and wish more children were interested in Pooh today than the newer Disney characters, but I believe he will live on and see a resurgence.

    As for getting my thoughts out, I write, blog, and yes have several people I am close to that will hear me out and share with me their thoughts as well from my adult children to good friends.

    • My youngest son loved Pooh as a child and one of the first gifts my husband gave me (32 years ago) was a huge Pooh.
      It is good to have people to talk “things” over with

  7. What a great post. I am fine being open and honest about the subject matter at hand, with the exception of my childhood. That one is more difficult for me to discuss, although I am working on it. I don’t dwell on the adversity in this part of my life but also don’t feel totally comfortable sharing all of it either.

    • Take your time, LuAnn. The sharing comes with trust, and with trust comes sharing. It just takes time. Big love X

      • Thank you. :)

  8. I am not the most open person in the world which has got me into hot water at times but poohs wisdom is so true – I should listen to that honey bear :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • I am like you, but when I finally do share, I get great support and answers.

  9. I don’t get my thingish things out there very well.. my blog helps.

    • so does mine- I am not good at it either

      • wordpress is lovely that way :)

  10. Oh my- such insight. I can hardly figure out what I want to write here. My words often seem as someone that had just put her foot in her mouth. I am pretty dry but my attempts to be witty look as as if a nut case just split open so I try to be cautious and I more often than not seem to brazen or brassy, or whatever. My daughter says that I don’t use enought diplomacy ahd that I tend to be too candid. So these thingish things get me into trouble. But I am working on it.

    Or, it could be that I just totally misread the entire meaning of thingish things. Please excuse my lame brain.I still love your posts.

    • you totally did not misread this and I like your insights — we are all in that boat sometimes (foot in mouth) but you should be glad that you attempt to make yourself understood

  11. How do I ket my Thingish things out? Blogging!

  12. I like that quote.
    Yep – I do. If I didn’t – I wouldn’t be me :)

  13. Definitely a blogger’s quote. Can you imagine if Pooh Bear had a honey blog on WP? He could be WP on WP. :)

  14. I love Winnie the Pooh and his comments too . Like another commenter, I wish the Disney pictures weren’t the ones most people now think of – the E H Shepard drawings are so special.

    Have you read The Tao of Pooh & The Te of Piglet by Benjamin Hoff? I think you would like it…

    I write and write to get my Thingish things out, but not always in the open. I write lists for myself and poems for myself and I keep my angst thingies out of my blog so that I can focus on the positive.

    I may have to feature Winnie the Pooh in my blog again today! :)

    • 1. I love Pooh too for his gentleness, kindness and wisdom
      2. Yes I have read both those books and liked them very much
      3. I try not to put my angst in my posts either–my sister says that sometimes she can tell when things are not going well, but I do not put bad stuff into words too often for general consumption–I do think, like you writing lists and poems for myself is my way of dealing with junky stuff

      • I knew we had a lot in common! I so love this blogging world where we can make friends across the ether. :)

  15. Okay first things first – you are a STAR. And secondly, because this post mentions me for some reason I felt the need to reply to almost every comment on here ; )
    I cannot express how touching it is to be mentioned on here. Thank you so much love. It really makes the feeling of community really strong, and that’s one the first times I’ve really felt that so thank you for that too. Big love X

    • You are a STAR too–thank you for your inspiration for my post

      • Ah, you never cease to touch. My total pleasure to inspire, it means the world that that’s what I did! xx

  16. Great post! I wish I did a better job at getting those thingy things out. Sometimes they flicker through my brain then disappear, and I’ve lost them before they can be fully vetted through writing. I lose so many I sights that way!

    • they will come back, then you can get rid of them–and hey, what is lost is forgotten!

  17. I’m an old fan of Winnie the Pooh! So many great quotes from those writings! I think you’re really talking about facing what scares you…and however you face “it” bringing it out into the open helps to diffuse the fear…Not sure how that works, really, but I know it does. Thanks for the thoughtful post! ~ Sheila

  18. I’m not good at getting the thingy things out if they are going to cause controversy.

    I love Pooh! Have you read The Tao of Pooh? Lovely take on the whole philosophy. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 610 other followers

