~ Inspiration ~

Mark Twain

Mark Twain (Photo credit: iansand)

Inspiration from the blog world is easy to come by. Here are two I happened upon in the last few days:

Robert of 101 Books:

“Substitute “damn” every time you’re inclined to write “very”; your editor will delete it and the writing will be just as it should be.” –Mark Twain

I am guilty, guilty, guilty of overusing very. I find it a very good word, which I like to use verily. I believe I will take Mr. Twain’s advice, if not literally, at least in my editing process.

Nancy at Life Takes Over said this in response to a comment I made on her blog.:

I read a poster this morning that said: “No one can go back and change a bad beginning; but anyone can start now and create a successful ending.”

I love that we all have the chance to make our endings our own~and we are not held captive by bad beginnings.

Do you have a word that you overuse; or do you believe that “All’s well that ends well”?

Name That Shakespeare Play!

Name That Shakespeare Play! (Photo credit: Tracy Lee)

Published in: on November 12, 2012 at 12:51 am  Comments (50)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/11/12/inspiration/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

50 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think that it’s all good as long as you don’t write in the “ums.” ;)

  2. like like you know, right?

  3. I don’t have any expressions like that, anything I use or overuse. I do like that quote about creating successful endings, though, I’m going to copy and paste that so I can remember it myself.

    • it gives you hope doesn’t it–that endings can be better than bad beginnings

  4. However.

  5. Really. Well. Now. Very. So. It seems. There are more. I’ll stop with those.

    This list can go on and on. I use no- no’s or is nos? If I write as one should write, I’ll have to get off the Intenet and discontinue the blog habit. Really. It hurt my feelings when one quote said not to use an exclamation mark because this is as if one is laughing at ones’s self. Ha. Ha. Just how is this so? I thought an exclamatipon mark was for emphasis. Oh, well. I made a comment way back there that i am not a writer and I do not pretend to be one. I will continue to plod, plog, and plug away as usuaL.

    • thanks for reading me and I like your overused words — I use well and now a lot–I have to edit them out of my work constantly

  6. I recently read a novel and I was surprised by how often the author used the word very. Now for the life of me, I can’t remember which book it was. I’m getting damn old.

    • obviously did not use Twain’s advice

      • I might employ it. I prefer damn old to very old. It hits the right chord with me.

      • oh shoot–I did not catch it–though I like damn old a lot better than very old– it hits the perfect chord

  7. So. I say it a lot, so I write it a lot. Crap, there it is again.

  8. I find there are many words that I repeat, but when editing I always try to find alternate choices. You see, I was going to use words again at the end of that sentence, but I changed it LOL!! I love that second quote by the way :).

  9. I’m sure there are words that I overuse…but there are so many…I can’t settle on just one ;) (Nice to know my post/comment inspired another post.)

  10. Mr. Twain was one smart dude.. I like his advice!!

    • I do too – and if it gets rid of very every once in a while–I am very happy

  11. the “ya know” thing by people is driving me crazy. Athletes, politicians, anchor people. Some even start and end a sentence with it and it seems it has invades British conversation as well.

  12. I definitely have writing and verbal crutches I rely on, but none are coming to mind right now. Anyway, I love Mark Twain and that paddleboat picture makes me want to go on vacation on the Mississippi.

  13. I overuse the word dingbat.

  14. I overuse lots of words. “Amazing”. That’s one word that comes to mind. (But I kinda like overusing it.)

  15. [...] On The Homefront and Beyond brought ~ “Candy is dandy, but liquor is quicker.” ~ Ogden Nash [...]

  16. I tend to use the word “seriously” too much. Seriously. Maybe it’s because I write humour and I’m trying to lend it credibility. hehe.

    I also use noises like Ack, Ick, Blick, and Ew too much. But if you read my blog, you are likely thinking those things anyway.

    • never once did I think anything of the sort – love your blog and humour and noises–and I use seriously a lot too, damn serious

  17. yeah…you know what I mean, you know how it is, you how I feel… :)

  18. Hello LOU!
    So you know I knew where I was last comment, just confused who I was commenting to. So rude, i apologize profusely

    My word I use until is it nauseating,, but I still do use it…that word is “awesome”. It is part of my daily speak and comes out VERY often in my writing.

    Great post!

    • you are never rude and never ever need to apologize and I quite seriously think that you are so very awesome–truly

      • Way to make this Baroness’ Day Thank you my sweet & kind friend.
        You are pretty amazingly awesome too!! \

        (my other word used too often.. amazing)

      • :) amazing and awesome are words that cannot be used too often (is Caddo your real sister, or am I mixed up?)

  19. [...] up . . . On the Homefront and Beyond is hosting the next virtual cocktail party at her place on December 15th. Dress as your favorite [...]

    • theme – 70′s food
      Margaret Atwood will be doing a reading–she promised to not talk in monotones and to laugh

  20. The word “that” seems to show up on its own fairly regularly in my writing. It takes a ‘Where’s Waldo” event to find them all and give ‘em the boot!

  21. [...] ~ Inspiration ~ (onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com) [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 603 other followers

