Random Things

English: Sorting a random list using merge sort.

English: Sorting a random list using merge sort. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Cristian Mihai wrote a blog with ten random things about himself and he got 150 likes and over 50 comments, so I thought I would give it a try to see if I can garner stats like that–so far only my About page has come close to that in “likes”, over a period of a year, not a day. (I have had some good “like” days, but never 150).

So here they are:

1. Like Cristian, I thought driving was too complicated, so did not get my licence until I was 35. Cristian is right, driving is too complicated.

2. I went to University until I was 27.

3. I love frozen Hostess chocolate cupcakes (the ones with the squiggle on top). I deny myself this treat until I can deny myself no longer.

4. I love watching General Hospital. This is a very difficult thing to reveal as it is my guilty pleasure. I have been watching it since I was fourteen. I gave it up for years cause it got weird (someone froze Port Charles or something)–and I don’t get to watch it everyday–but my answer to all of those who scoff at soaps — it does not kill your brain cells. This btw is my big reveal.

5. I love to read cook books. I don’t love to cook. Actually the cooking part is okay, it is the cleaning up part. I can channel my favourite food network cooks and chefs all I want for inspiration, but I know they do not have to clean up their messes.

6. I am not half as interesting as some of my favourite bloggers, but that does not stop me from posting.

7. I love the fall and all things autumnal. I love the word “autumnal”.

8. I was born on the same day as Queen Elizabeth, just lots and lots of years later. I consider her my soul sister. Can two very white women be soul sisters? I think so.

9. I have noticed that when I make a posting–if it is one where I need to be bolstered, the blogging community goes all out with kindness and compassion.

10. Despite what I write about my cat, I really do like him.

There you have it — ten things you could have lived your life quite happily without knowing.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/10/18/random-things/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

73 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m honored to be your first like on your way to 150!

    • Thank you so much – I may not reach my lofty goal, but I am glad you are with me

  2. Love the post and the idea…I may have to copy! :) Cheers to getting 150! xo

    • you are more than welcome to copy and knowing some random things about you has got to be more interesting than knowing random things about me!

      • Nah…I’m boring…but you gave me such a great idea…I’ll let you know when I do it! :) Enjoy your day!

  3. I almost fell off my chair laughing when I read the frozen Port Charles bit. I stopped watching at exactly the same time! Haha! it was beyond stupid at that point. LOL!
    I also love the chocolate Hostess cupcake. We have some things in common :)
    nice list.

    • See, it was good that Brigitte put us together–glad to find someone else who likes General Hospital–did you ever come back? And – do you eat your cupcakes frozen with a glass of cold milk?

      • Oh my gosh! Frozen hostess cupcakes with cold milk – delish!! There’s something about that little lump of buttercream in the middle that excites me! haha! I actually won’t eat desserts unless I have cold milk at hand and it has to be COLD.
        I think I did return to Port Charles for awhile… I don’t remember when I dropped off again. I used to watch the entire ABC line up starting with Ryan’s Hope, All My Children, One life to Live, and General Hospital. I did this for years. talk about a time suck! haha! Those characters made me feel pretty good about my own life. LOL!

      • they do, don’t they — thank goodness there is only one hour of time suck now –

    • ahh GH fans and Hostess… oh I love you ladies even more

      • :) – thank you, I think

      • closet gh fan and well,I love any prepackaged baked good.

      • have to say it is the first time I have admitted to being a gh fan–not the first time I have mentioned my weakness for cupcakes — sounds like we have a few important things in common

  4. WOW!!! University until you were 27?!?! I absolutely loved school and got amazing marks, but I think I pushed myself too hard, and then I was burned out after 2 years of university and quit. What did you study? Great list by the way :).

    • I would like to say I pushed myself too hard–though at times I did–but I enjoyed my years at univesity–obviously.
      I got an Hons BA in English and Communication Studies then did graduate work in Comm Studies
      So what was/were your major(s)

      • I actually took Engineering for two years at the University of Toronto which was ridiculously hard, but like I said I was burned out after 2 years. Plus I knew that I wanted to be a mom, and I didn’t think I could be the mom I wanted to be in that type of career, so I quit and started working. Now I have been a legal assistant (I know, quite the switch LOL) for 24 years, and it is a very challenging job that has allowed me to stay close to my kids and be home after school for them to help with homework, etc. My dream job would be something in research or a book store, but there is nothing like that around here. The pros and cons to living in a very small town you know :). One day I would love to write a book too, but we’ll see LOL.

      • I was a legal secretary for a while — a long time ago — and I was not trained for it — my father-in-law was a lawyer — it is a hard job particularly if you were an english major who could not type all that well–there were no computers in offices then!
        I live in a small town too–so it does limit the number of jobs we are qualified for. Engineering–that is so impressive and hard!

      • Believe it or not, we still have one typewriter in our office for typing up certain forms, but it is not working the greatest anymore :). It’s kind of a dinosaur now LOL!! And yes, engineering was very hard, but I don’t regret the two years I did complete. I learned a great deal!!

  5. Thanks for sharing this tidbits. The frozen treats got my attention! … and I’m working on my next set of there.

  6. Well I checked out that young whippersnappers blog and I certainly don’t understand how he got that many comments. But I like your straight line…that intrigues me. Can you teach me how to do that?

    • it is wordpress magic — they give you all kinds of options for pics when you do a post

  7. Oh and I love hostess cupcakes too…

  8. Lou Ann, I love your posts and your writing! Are soaps still on? We’ve seen their demise here because after all when you can watch “real” people acting badly why watch soaps (I’m being very sarcastic here — I DO NOT watch reality shows). I love how you say “I went to University.” Canadians have such a lovely way of expressing themselves. I grew up in WIDE open spaces so I learned to drive, probably when I was 14. I live near somewhere now where people have NEVER driven. It’s strange!

    BTW, I can tell you really love your cat, Kitty-Bob –? Thanks for sharing this and you’re VERY interesting.

    • okay okay, I attended university–you make me laugh.
      General Hospital is the only soap left that I watch — many of them got turfed. Yeah, if you watch those “real” people shows you lose faith in mankind!
      As for driving – wish I lived somewhere where I did not need to drive

  9. I loved it too :) Thank you, love, nia

  10. I’m working on a 16 year addiction to Coronation Street, so I would be the last person to say anything about soap operas. I love mine.. even the husband watches, though he rarely admits to it. My favourite freezer treat is frozen thin mint Girl Guide cookies and I show the cat that I like him by letting me bite me when I walk by. See, we are all alike..

    • we are – though being like me is questionable, while being like you is fun
      I never got into Coronation Street as when I watch it I feel I am in the middle of something I do not understand–though sometimes I watch it cause the actors look like real people
      you and I are such cat lovers – don’t let the secret out

      • Hmm.. just re-read my comment and it was supposed to say I let the cat bite me as I walk by.. biting myself would be a bit weird.

      • i got it the first time–as someone who mkes those mitakes all the teim

  11. [...] LouAnn began this morning’s post with her rendition of 10 Random Things, following Cristian’s lead at random-things. [...]

  12. 14 likes and growing! Good for you!
    So I did it ~ you inspired me…check out my post!

    http://misifusa.wordpress.com/2012/10/18/i-am-a-challenge/

    Hope it brings you more likes!! :)

  13. My ‘reveal’ is the Y & R…If someone doesn’t know what that is my secret is safe…Story lines sometimes lately are frustrating but there I am….I don’t think that I will ever write something that brings 150 likes though it does bolster me that my ‘About’ page has quite a few… but hope you make it …You’re right the blogging community is very compassionate when we need to hear it…Diane

    • I know what Y & R is but I won’t tell
      Am not really expecting 150 likes, but we all have to have goals! (lol)

  14. I can relate to the cook book reading but not liking to cook. And I LOVE the word “autumnal”. Good luck with the likes and comments. ~Gail

  15. Like #18 checking in ;)

  16. I, too, will be one of the 150 likes!

  17. I have a driving license, but I’m too afraid of sitting behind the wheel! I also agree with you on No. 5. I would love to create meals, but I can’t stand the thought of cleaning, haha.

    Great post! Here’s another one until your 150. ;)

  18. Wow yay for 150 my friend and love this post idea :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  19. I gave General Hospital up before the big freeze, so I don’t know that story line. but it was my big addiction in high school. I’m with you. I love looking at cookbooks, if only I had married the gourmet chef who proposed to me years ago. I burned out on cooking after years of preparing meals for family and wish eating wasn’t something I needed to do to be healthy. I’d sure save a lot of money too. :-)

    • I know–think what we could do with the money–unfortunately though I do love to eat

  20. For some reason I have been thinking about this post all day…. maybe because I am boring …..but I have just come up with some mathematical equations which I think will make you feel a whole lot better.
    Cristian has 18,437 followers… (no that is not the part that will make you feel better. ) You have 369 at last count. ( No that is not it either), but if you set up an equation comparing 18437 followers to 150 likes… then in proportion you will only need 3 likes to equal Cristian’s. You have already surpassed that!

    18437/150 = 369/x to solve for X multiply 369 times 150 then divide by 18437….. the answer is 3. you need 3 likes….
    Trust me this is correct.

    LOL as I count my likes

    • you are so sweet – so I have met my goal already–thank you my good girl (we are not far apart in age–as I could write about life in 60s, 70s and 80s) and you are obviously super smart too- thank you :)
      how the heck did he get so many followers?

      • Well I am not sure, but as soon as I visited his site…. I noticed that he visited MY site…. not sure how he knew I was there. He has it figured out.
        Plus he’s not a woman so he only has so much other stuff to do…. hahahaha
        I am not really very clear on the 80′s…. I had too many children at that point.

      • I was at that point in the late 80′s and early 90′s
        on a different note–he is on facebook and I have thus far refused to go on FB, so that may explain a little of his popularity and I think he is qutie young

  21. You are interesting! Great post…gotta go, I’m off to nibble on my favorite frozen snack, Hostess cupcakes and watch General Hospital.

  22. I actually really like when bloggers I follow do these kinds of posts because it makes me feel like I’m getting the inside scoop on what kind of person they are. I completely agree with you about cookbooks and cooking… I actually like the cooking part but HATE the cleanup part. My future husband is required to do all the dishes (though my dad said that’ll be a husband impossible to find). Fun post! :)

    • that is a good requirement — I don’t think it will be that hard to find- ha ha

  23. I don’t get it! what is it about Cristian Mihail???
    Anyway, here’s another comment from me, like adding another stone to the pile…and go well!!!!!

  24. What a great idea. Everyone’s got their own likes, dislikes, hobbies, dreams, quirks, interests and traditions etc and I think it’s interesting finding out little bits and pieces about other people. Hope you reach your goal!

    • it is doubtful, but you need to reach for the stars (boy I am just full of cliches) thanks for your well wishes

  25. Well looks like your “Likes” has has beaten his “Likes”..I i Like you like list :-)

  26. Thank you – telling me things you thought I could live without, actually was a perfect pick me up on this dreary rainy afternoon…I had fun reading about the little tidbits you enjoy…and btw I always knew you liked your cat! :) Blessings – Patty

  27. All my Children was my guilty pleasure, even when I would check in after weeks !!! away and nothing seemed to have happened.

    I, too, love the word “autumnal.”

    And the really burning question — what is the animated graph actually supposed to be showing? I must now, and I am not prepared to be disappointed. . .

  28. Must know. Not now. Sheesh.
    Although I wouldn’t mind knowing now; randomness? Really?

  29. I have a love hate relationship with my cat. I love him. He seems to hate me. Today, he sliced one of my fingers, when I was petting him. His method seemed over the top. Why not just walk away?

    • hmm- slicing your finger does not sound good -

      • There may have been a tear or two…and some bad words.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 628 other followers

