And The Winner is ~ Part 2

English: Saying grace before carving the turke...

Saying grace before carving the turkey at Thanksgiving dinner in the home of Earle Landis (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Never imagined I would be blogging for a whole week about Thanksgiving — bet you can’t wait to see what I will do for Christmas!

I have all the fixings for Thanksgiving now–got the whipping cream yesterday for the pumpkin pie, my son is home for a few days from college (real hugs are so much better than phone calls and emails), my guests are invited, and I am going to do a little of the preparation work today (make a spice cake with cream cheese icing, cook my new recipe up for sweet potatoes and apples with a yummy sounding syrup, make the “green stuff” up which consists of pistachio pudding, cool whip, pineapple, and something else–better consult the recipe. Got those cute little red potatoes to roast as that is how my youngest son loves them, and stuffing (already in the turkey if you remember from a previous post) for my oldest son, who just loves the stuff.)

This last sentence begs the question–can you have brackets within brackets? But I am not going to think on it too hard.

As promised, here are a few more of the winners who created a better ending for this Thanksgiving poem of sorts by Unknown or Anonymous, if you will. First the poem or as I like to refer to it–the poemette:

May your stuffing be tasty
May your turkey be plump,
May your potatoes and gravy
have nary a lump.
May your yams be delicious
and your pies take the prize,
and may your Thanksgiving dinner
stay off your thighs!

The first is from a favourite blogger friend of mine Julie, who instead of giving the poem an ending, gave us her rendition of anonymous:

jmgoyder said:

I am ominous
but not anonymous

diannegray said: 

and may your Thanksgiving dinner be full of cute guys

lillianccc said:

May your yams be delicious,
And your pies take the prize,
May you loosen your belt after dinner,
With a big satisfied sigh.
:)

Scribbler said:

May your Thanksgiving Dinner stretch your Levi’s.

Then thinking this was as mean as the one in the poem, she added:

May your Thanksgiving mesmerize.

She ended with: May your Thanksgiving create family ties!

thehealthywarrior said:

May your yams be delicious
and your pies take the prize,
May your Thanksgiving Dinner
Be as delicious as the expression in your eyes.

And last but not least:

 mybeautfulthings said: 

(May your Thanksgiving) be a feast for your eyes!

Thank you to everyone who submitted your rhyming thoughts. You are my heroes.

Thanksgiving (Heroes)

Thanksgiving (Heroes) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am now going to go chop and peel and bake and swipe a taste or two of cream cheese icing (the proven breakfast of champions!)

Published in: on October 6, 2012 at 9:59 am  Comments (28)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/10/06/and-the-winner-is-part-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

28 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  2. Nice! Family ties – doh! Didn’t think of that one. Enjoy your family dinner this weekend. I’m already thinking about the stuffing and the gravy. If I could have it for breakfast right now, I would.

    • me too – I love stuffing, but am addicted to gravy–Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

  3. My mouth is watering!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Hope your Thanksgiving is fabulous, and I agree that the real hugs are way better than emails and texts. Enjoy the time with your sons :).

  5. for my oldest son, who loves the stuff… if you did that on purpose I am quite impressed!

  6. I enjoy the “leading up to” preparations for Thanksgiving…..hope the final product is just as enjoyable….off to make the lemon meringue pie(I know it’s not traditional but it’s what my family wants). Happy Thanksgiving!

    • I do too – before the chaos of gettting the whole thing on the table while it is still hot — if your family is thankful for lemon meringue, then that is what you should make!

  7. Happy Thanksgiving! Looks delicious.

  8. Have the happiest Thanksgiving ever.

  9. Happy Thanksgiving! Thanks for the shoutout, have an extra piece of pumpkin pie for me ;)

    • since I have your permission I will have that second piece-thank you muchly ;)

  10. Mmmmm cream cheese icing! My favourite! Your Thanksgiving dinner sounds delicious! Happy Thanksgiving!

    • so what are you having or where are you going? Happy Thanksgiving to you too
      Just voted for you again

      • We’re having turkey at my sister-in-law’s. Normally, we would be at the cottage with my family, but the weather just seemed too cold and wet this year and we didn’t want to make the drive.
        Thanks for voting for me. I really appreciate it!

      • I will keep at it – enjoy your turkey day :)

    • so what are you having or where are you going? Happy Thanksgiving to you too
      Just voted for you again

  11. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family. Thanks for the mention! Glad you liked the line!
    All the best to you all :)

    • loved the line and thanks for the well wishes

      • :)

  12. Nothing in the mail as of today. I’m thinking my invitation to this fabulous dinner must have been intercepted by the mailman.
    Happy Thanksgiving to you & your family!

    • I cannot imagine what happened – you still have time to get here – dinner is at 5 and dress is casual fall

  13. Hehe, I love all of the answers!

    Have a lovely Thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 628 other followers

