A Quote of Great Seriousness

Pen Name

Pen Name (Photo credit: diverter)

I seem to be on a Thanksgiving roll this week, so to continue the tradition, I have decided to quote a source that seems to have endless things to say. Unknown  and his brother Anonymous are so prolific~I seriously do not know how they found the time to comment on everything under the sun. Real soup to nuts guys.

I assume Anonymous and Unknown are male because they probably said a few things that their wives would not have approved of, and could not come up with a nom de plume or pen name  fast enough to cover their (mis)steps.

In honour of  Thanksgiving, Author Unknown had this little ditty up his sleeve and produced it I am sure to much fanfare. I hear Anonymous was jealous that he did not come up with it first. Without further ado:

Thanksgiving Dinner

Thanksgiving Dinner (Photo credit: The Vault DFW)

May your stuffing be tasty
May your turkey be plump,
May your potatoes and gravy
have nary a lump.
May your yams be delicious
and your pies take the prize,
and may your Thanksgiving dinner
stay off your thighs!

I understand that these words have no equals in the annals of literature, and should be praised as bon mots–but I do find the last line  a bit of a cruel way to go into this season of feasting.

I would like to challenge you, dear readers, to coming up with a less cruel way to end Unknown’s little poem, and I will include them in a post on this blog tomorrow.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/10/04/a-quote-of-great-seriousness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

34 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am ominous
    but not anonymous

  2. Oh that was really lame – sorry!

  3. It’s taking me later and later into each year to lose the weight I gained during the last holiday season. Don’t tell me the holidays are about to start again.

  4. May your thanksgiving dinner delight your heart…even though mine usually goes to my thighs :(. This might be the year of victory lol.

  5. May your yams be delicious
    and your pies take the prize,
    May your feast on the table
    Be one for your eyes.

    There – a low calorie way of ending that isn’t cruel.

  6. May your yams be delicious
    and your pies take the prize,
    and may your Thanksgiving dinner
    receive a round of high-fives
    :D

    • Excellent – you caught the spirit of it really well –I like this–adds a bit of a modern note!

      • I aim to please!

        I was tossing up between that and:

        And may your Thanksgiving dinner be monstrous in size.

      • have to say I like the second one too –

      • Huzzah! :D

  7. May your Thanksgiving gravy not drip on your ties..

    • very good –but I thought that was what ties were for–oh, you were rhyming! ha ha

  8. And may your Thanksgiving dinner
    Be all you surmised….. Diane

    • good one Diane — as long as no one surmises mine is going to be bad! but if they do, maybe I will surprise them

  9. May your yams be delicious,
    And your pies take the prize,
    May you loosen your belt after dinner,
    With a big satisfied sigh.
    :)

  10. “May your Thanksgiving Dinner stretch your Levi’s” :)

    This is probably just as mean as the one you stated. So maybe…

    “May your Thanksgiving Dinner mesmerize!”

    “May your Thanksgiving Dinner last till sunrise!”

    May your Thanksgiving Dinner create family ties!”

    As you can see I had way too much fun with this :) Lovely Poem!

    Adieu, scribbler

    • I love all your endings, even the Levis one — each one of them is fun or happy or memory making

      • Thank you!

        Adieu, Scribbler

  11. May your yams be delicious
    and your pies take the prize,
    May your Thanksgiving Dinner
    Be as delicious as the expression in your eyes.

  12. and may your Thanksgiving dinner be full of cute guys :)

  13. be a feast for your eyes!
    and I’ll see what else I can come up with :)

  14. bring you lots of allies
    or
    bring contented sighs

    Enjoy it whatever! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 614 other followers

