S is for Smart (it is also for Stupid ~ but we are not going there)

Einstein's high school transcript

Einstein’s high school transcript (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Quote # 1: It’s not that I’m so smart, it’s just that I stay with problems longer.”~ Albert Einstein

Smart. It is something I have always wanted to be. I was pretty smart in school, except for when I wasn’t.

Actually, unlike Einstein, I have always thought of myself as smart ~ even that one particular year at school when I was trying to prove otherwise. It was pretty easy to do. I did not do my homework. I hid a novel in my math book and read during math class. I did not study. I missed my bus a lot. And then at the end of the year when I had to face the consequences—I was, of all things, surprised. Because I thought I was smart.

If I had followed Einstein’s lead and just stayed with my problems longer then I could be as humble as he was. It is easy to say you are not “so smart” when you are a genius!

Quote # 2:  “I wish my name was Brian because maybe sometimes people would misspell my name and call me Brain. That’s like a free compliment and you don’t even gotta be smart to notice it.” ~ Mitch Hedberg

Mitch is really on to something here. I have a friend whose name is Brian and whenever I email him, nine times out of ten I type Brain first.

Published in: on September 20, 2012 at 12:47 pm  Comments (47)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/09/20/s-is-for-smart-it-is-also-for-stupid-but-we-are-not-going-there/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

47 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like the quote from Mitch Hedberg.
    P.S. Good comment on the awards. We have gone a bit crazy about the awards in the Blogosphere.

    • I do too — I cannot keep up with awards

      • I wrote about a blog post about it – essentially once we have a night like the Emmys I’m in.

  2. Sadly, stupid comes to me unbidden…and often!

  3. That is so funny about “brian”. My oldest son’s name is Bryan, and he gets really pissed off if people spell it wrong. One year he went to science fair finals and when he got to the spot set aside for him to put up his project he was really mad because his name was spelled “Brain”. I told him to take it as a compliment!! LOL

    • see you are proof positive that having Brian or even Bryan (I like that spelling) is an affirmative name–who wouldn’t want to be called brain?

  4. Haha.. In that case I always act stupid, even if I could be smart. Many people confuses intelligence with smartness, but they forget one who is intelligent may not always be smart and the one who is smart is seldom intelligent… Huh!? :D

  5. Some days I’m smart, others not so much. But, I like that I have a few things in common with Einstein. ;).

  6. I might just change my name to Brian. It can’t hurt to have a leg up..

  7. Einstein’s quote is a good one. As I think back to my teaching days, I’ll say that achievement is different than smarts.

  8. I will never look at the name Brian the same.

    Also, I have nominated you for a brand new award…The You Make My Day Award. You can find the link here http://theembiggensproject.wordpress.com/2012/09/20/the-you-make-my-day-award/

    • sounds like a wonderful award – I am very honoured to be chosen especially since you only named eight!

  9. I was the smart girl in high school. For many years after I graduated, I did everything I could to live that down. Not to smart, huh?

  10. I was always a smart girl in high school, even when I wasn’t trying. Eventually I got too tired of maintaining my smart image all the time and just didn’t care anymore. Smarts can be exhausting. =[

    And I always misspell the name Brian, haha.

    • smarts can be exhausting–especially if not looked on as an accomplishment
      I always misspell Brain

  11. Haha I love the quotes my friend :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • you know I just love to hear from you – you are always so positive -you make my day :)

  12. This is such a cool site. Longtime poet friend Brian Miller, always misspell his name and have to go back (although Brain could apply to him, he’s a sharp one). Now a fan of Brain Tomahawk and have to wonder if perhaps his real name is Brian? But then I misspell HIS name, too. Guess it’s all about “vowel movements.” (Sorry, I could NOT resist that one, hope you’re not offended.) Thx too for your comment on “awards.” I’m too busy trying to keep up on others’ sites to do it, but I’m always flattered and always respond with an explanation. Thanks for visiting me, Amy

    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/09/17/incantations-in-jazz/

    • vowel movement – good one – I have trouble with i and e and have to say that little rhyme i before e except after c and then I forget the rest of it-so depend on spell check – but spell check does not help with Brian
      I love gettting the awards but feel same way you do

  13. I would like to meet Mr. Hedberg. I bet he would be fun to grab a beer with. What year in school were you when you slacked off? I’m guessing sophomore year of high school.

    • is sophomore like grade 11? we are not that sophistocated up here–it was grade 11, but if I had not gone through that trauma I am convinced I would not have gone on to university–I had to pull my socks up but quick

      • 11th grade is Junior year of high school, so I was close in my guess. All three of my girls slumped their sophomore years. It was like, “I got this high school thing, I’m cool, I don’t have to work so hard, I want to go to parties . . . ” They turned around quickly once they got the wake-up call of poor grades!

      • me too!

  14. Smart post!

  15. I feel like smart can be rather subjective sometimes. Plus, there’s all kinds of smart like book-smart and street-smart. Einstein was definitely onto something with his quote….. though as you said, usually only geniuses can afford to be so humble. ;)

    • I think you are right–it is subjective–but good ol’ Albert I think was just a bit too humble

  16. The smarter I am, the stupider things I do…or at least I think I should know better. I try to remember we’re all still a work in progress.

    • see you are smart enough to know you are doing stupid things–which is much further ahead of the game than most

  17. I do the same thing typing. I thought it was early onset dymentia – glad to be wrong.

    • I think that my right hand types faster than my left, so that is the excuse I use–therefore I type the i before the a (is anybody buying this?)

  18. I’m not super smart, never have been and i”m okay with that..

    • I think we all have a perception of our own smarts — and sometimes we may not all that right –

  19. I like that Einstein quote … and you’re right you can be humble like that when you’re a genius.

  20. Wonderful post. My wife tells me,”You’re book smart but not street smart, while I’m street smart and not much of a book smart.” So true. I have poor directions skills…especially driving and if not for her amazing navigation skills , I would have been lost so many time. Destiny has its way to balance things.

    • It does balance things – I too have poor direction skills and go more by landmarks than street names which is hard when you are out of your own locale

  21. Love the Einstein quote and enjoyed this post. I think I might leave it at Brain if I’d typed that! I’d see it as a compliment too! :)
    Family still not up! Might catch all the way up at this rate! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 628 other followers

