~ J is for Justification ~

Close up yellow rose

Close up yellow rose (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Justification: an odd word. A word that seems to scream: “Excuses, excuses, excuses”. In this case my justification for deleting all the blogs that talk about September 11, 2001 or 9/11 is that it is still too raw.

I cannot let that much pain in today. Though it was eleven years ago—I remember sitting on my couch and watching as it happened. As that second plane crashed into a building that had living breathing people in it. And there were living breathing people on that plane. It is not something I can fathom, nor is it something I want to. There is no good explanation.

Justification or explanation does not make me understand 9/11. There is no reason, or rationalization, no excuse. It is ironic that I cannot read other posts about the day and then I find myself writing about it—almost against my will.

It was a day I hope we learned something from. People were brought together in grief. People today are brought together in remembrance. I just have nothing else to say…….

Published in: on September 11, 2012 at 1:54 pm  Comments (40)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/09/11/j-is-for-justification/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

40 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I know exactly what you mean, My heart breaks for the victims of Sept. 11 but I can’t stop also thinking why don’t we feel for the tragic loss of human life in other countries. Sorry – please delete this comment – I was just thinking about stuff….

    • if you really want me to delete it I will–but I think you have a valid point

  2. I thought about doing a post about 9/11 today and chose not to. But now, I regret that decision, I think I should have done :(

    Xx

    • For some reason it seemed to write itself – I did not want to go there today.

  3. very painful event… I did not turn on the tv this morning for the very same reason. I don’t want to revisit it. I do think its important that we never forget… but it hurts.

  4. I find I agree with you. For all the same reasons. I don’t think it’s justification as much as it is the rest of your words, raw pain and lack of understanding. Certainly true for me, my friend, Penny

  5. Nice, LouAnn. I chose not to do a 9/11 post. I saw the whole thing live from my house a mile north of the towers, so I didn’t really like the idea of writing about it. But I’m glad other people are.

    Having said that, I agree with jmgoyder as well—we need to remember that we aren’t the only ones who have ever experienced tragic losses through political aims.

    • I am so sorry that you could see it live – on TV was bad enough –
      and yes Julie is right — but I think that in grieving about this we are grieving about every tragedy – we just put a very specific name to it
      Julie is from Austrailia and I am from Canada- as a Cdn I grieve with you; and I am sure Julie does too – I am glad she made the bigger point

  6. I am totally respectful of your pain and others, hence my reason for NOT posting on it. To make it even more heartbreaking, the war we jumped into from the 9/11 aftershocks continues to cause pain for many. (I was at my desk @ work watching it on Live tv and I never have watched it since).

    • you are very wise – I did not mean to post on it either

      • Your post was was not a dredging up of pictures and such. I like your post!!

      • thank you :)

  7. there is no rhyme or reason
    and we will never know the whole truth
    our world is being desensitized to the agony of others
    I like you am not sure why I wrote today
    Take Care
    )0(

  8. Until I read this post today, I was caught up in my own world, and I lost track of the importance of this date, it is Important to remember, so thanks Lou for writing about it.

  9. It is completely understandable my friend. Pain caused by this cannot be dulled in a few years.

    Hugs
    Uru

  10. I agree, there is no justifying that horrid event. My uncle was in a building a couple of blocks away when it happened, he was lucky he was so far away. I understand why anyone wouldn’t want to write more about that day, I think it’s enough to remember.

  11. I felt like you today – had to write something. Great piece!

  12. Blessings, LouAnn… Blessings to all of us.

  13. I have just nominated you for the Wonderful Team Member Readership Award. I can’t wait to see what else you come up with for the rest of the alphabet

    • such an honour – it is always wonderful to be a part of a team- thank you so much
      this alphabet thing is a little harder than I thought, so I too am waiting to see what I come up with! (ha ha)

  14. Yes, even after 11 years it’s still an incomprehensivle act. I expecrt that everyone in the world has been affected by it in some way or another and I don’t expect any of the effects are good I quite agree that we can’t let that much pain in at once and dwelling in the pain can’t be healthy. Still, there has got to be some memory of this or it will be repeated… so hopefully we’re coming to a balance…if there can be such a thing with such an act????

    • I know what you mean–one hopes that lessons are learned, but they are heartwrenching lessons and the hard part is that while we have some control, we cannot always stop this kind of horrible act

  15. Good words LouAnn for as on that day, we were truly one world.

    • so true Frank – thanks for stopping by

      • Just making my post-vacation rounds. PS: Make sure you come to my celebration on Saturday.

      • will do :)

  16. I send you all love in remembrance of this day. This was a very sensitive post straight from the heart as it almost wrote itself. Xx

    • yes – it wrote itself despite the fact that I would have rather ignored the day–but it would not be ignored


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 603 other followers

