UNIVERSE ~ Wakey, Wakey!

Aladdin (1992 Disney film)

Aladdin (1992 Disney film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Okay, Universe, listen up. I am supposed to send out positive messages to you, and in response you are supposed to grant me my every wish. Like a Genie or something. A big blue Genie—like the one in the movie Aladdin with Robin William’s voice.

So what happened here? Who broke the rules? I am sending all this positive energy to you, and what am I getting back? You say I am supposed to be patient. Get in line? That there are millions of positive messages out there, and while mine is important to you, I will just have to listen to the music and wait?

Cover of "Secret of the Ages"

Cover of Secret of the Ages

I have read “The Secret”. I am currently reading “The Secret of the Ages” which claims to be “The Master Code to Abundance and Achievement” written by Robert Collier and originally published in 1925. The language is a bit stunted but the message is the same. The blurb at the front of the book says “The time you put in aimlessly dreaming and wishing would accomplish marvels if it were concentrated on one definite object.”

It is obvious to me that I must concentrate on the wrong things. Truly, I want security and peace and wonderful things in my life, and while they seem to come in dribs and drabs, I want {without seeming too greedy here} a bit more than sustenance.

Seriously, Jack Canfield, what am I doing wrong? Maybe part of my problem is that  I do not follow directions well. In Collier’s book, he says that for happiness you should use these words to affirm your right to it by saying: “The joy is brighter than the sun at noonday and Thy Ways of expressing that Joy as countless as the sunbeams that shine upon our path.”

I do not generally walk around making flowery affirmations that I do not quite get. So, if I understand what Collier is saying, joy abounds and all I have to do is capture a few sunbeams?

It is obvious from my reading of Collier’s book that he is a religious man with fervour for his beliefs. He believes in letting the Big Guy take care of us. Now, I sort of do too, though sometimes I think the Big Guy could be a Big Gal—but that is a discussion for another place and time (I am just not sure what place and time.)

Meanwhile, I am not going to give up. I will persevere and stay on “hold”. I will not hang up–I don’t want to lose my place in line.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/08/11/universe-wakey-wakey/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

36 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m not sure I understand his point in the quote about the sun and sunbeams. Can you help?

    • me either–that is why I think we are supposed to get tans–or are you being facetious? Or if our path is shaded then joy goes out the window–or the guy was definitely on something.

      • He rather talked in circles, didn’t he?

      • crop circles I could understand

      • You would get a lovely tan putting in crop circles.

  2. i should really read those books! way to “hang on:)”

    • thank you — they are interesting but perhaps not useful in everyday life — but trying to stay positive is worthy

  3. Positive vibes coming from Cornwall for you! :)

    • appreciate the postive vibes and your three things everyday — I read them without fail

  4. I find I accomplish much more when I just follow my bliss, down all the various pathways that lead on and sometimes stop and sometimes turn around and come back… but all the while I am experiencing life…which to me is my greatest joy. I never would even imagine going to anyone else’s book to find out how to make me happy… Just be you… radiant you.. and you’ll shine!

  5. Which sun was Jack looking into. Stay in line, and if you could hold my place while I use the restroom, that would be great.

    • I am not sure about Jack or Collier but I will hold your spot for you if you hold mine for me. No cutting in this line!

      • It’s a deal. The line to the ladies room is very long.

      • Always :)

  6. Sorry but this is a serious response to your post so forgive me for that and please read on……What I think is, positive energy is the wrong way to look at it, if it’s just being positive without any source to it. If there is a loving God who loves us and wants only what is best then this can provide hope when things aren’t going well. For example, when my first marriage failed and I had 1year old twins things seemed terribly bleak. It wasn’t God’s fault that my husband made the decisions he made (as we all have free will in our choices, God will not remove that freedom from us, it’s his/her gift to us so other people’s free will/choices can hurt and be destructive). Did I lose hope, of course I did, until I began to re-group and then I saw God’s love in everything-the friend’s who came in to support me (including new one’s); family who backed and supported me; the fact that I kept my house (which I had paid for) and had a roof over our heads (and believe me when I say that was a miracle); the learning that was forced on me and which lead to a much better me (but it involved pain and the growth was not free of struggle and just all positive)….and the moments in the pain like when I looked at my two angels and watched them grow into the lovely young men they are…. I could go on but you get the message. To finish the story I have now been re-married for years to a wonderful man and we have raised 5 beautiful and successful children. So I was being looked after in the mess and I couldn’t see round the corner to how it would finish but I kept trusting In God and trying to be hopeful, rather than down and sad…positive energy seems to imply it’s all up to us but believing in a loving God takes all the pressure off me having to be positive and achieve all this on my own because I could never have hoped this big!!! I am going to post my response in a post of my own as I think the discussion you commenced is a great one.

    • what a wonderful response and so much of what you say is true–in the bad times people come through unexpectedly and you start to really believe in human nature and its goodness – glad you have an idea for a post –thanks for adding your thoughtful analysis and sharing your experiences :)

  7. I made a vision board several years ago. That helped (helps) me focus. :)

    • I have one too — but I am still losing focus — I think it is situational

  8. That affirmation made me laugh because I would never be able to remember such a long sentence. Short and sweet like “I am fine” then go to the mirror and give yourself a big grin. The effect should last around an hour – haha!

    • I like your affirmation, I could maybe remember it — or “cheer up, there is a frozen Hostess cupcake in your freezer”–boy I wish that was true tonight– where is that darn Genie?

  9. I find the hardest part is learning to not focus on what you don’t want. Too often we tell ourselves I don’t want…. Vs I would love..

  10. Whew! I feel like this is something I could have written! Glad to know I’m not the only one facing the same struggle…Hang in there, and I will too :)

  11. Now this is a nice witty post. You write the way I think sometimes.

  12. hahahahahahaha! whatever you do, don’t lose your place in line. you’ll only get hateful looks–no sunbeams–if you try to cut back in.

    • your words are too true–I am still hanging in there, but the music is crappy

  13. I listen to a lot of “spiritual” speakers, teachers, healers who are interviewed over the internet. E.G. Healing of the Masters…an on-going cast of people with very positive messages.

    I’ve noticed that every one of the people who address or who are asked about “where’s my abundance” – we’re all doing something wrong. Not enough of this or too much of that. Affirmations are missing or there’s too many. Wording is too specific and wording is not specific enough.

    I think Am Mindfulness For Now has it wrapped up in spades. Be it and more will come.

    • I agree with you, so many times these experts have messages that are not very user friendly
      Be it and more will come is great advice and simple

  14. Robert Collier’s affirmation is much the same as one of the praise psalms in the Bible. Sometimes when I’m in a funk and don’t know what in the world is wrong with me but I just can’t function well and sort of drag through the day, when I go to bed that night I’ll put the question to God: what’s wrong with me? what’s bothering me, etc etc. Then I’ll tell Him thanks for all the good in my life and around me and in the world – and then I usually cry (for what or why, I still don’t know the reason). But when I wake up in the morning I feel fine, normal, like nothing had ever been bothering me! And life goes on and I thank God for that.

    • Sounds like you have a pretty workable method here–thanks for sharing it –sometimes a good cry helps and with the added benefit of having God on your side, then you have a pretty darn good combo.

  15. At my age, I think losing focus is just a part of The Great Scheme of Things…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers

