HOPE Sits Over My Closet

Hope & Faith

Hope & Faith (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yeah, yeah, we have all heard that “hope springs eternal”. Well, that is not true at my house. HOPE sits above my front hallway coat closet. Carved out of wood, painted blue, outlined in gold, and sporting white stars, it reigns over my house.

I have heard it said that if you have faith you do not need hope. I beg to differ. I think the two go hand in hand, and if faith is not your cup of tea, then hope is there to fill in the vacuüm.

The subject for this post today was handed to me by one of my favourite blogger friends, Heidi@lightlycrunchy. She was tagged by another blogger friend to write about hope, and she tagged me. Go see what she has written on the subject and you will be delighted. She has hope for the future, but some immediate ones too—delivered with her wry sense of humour and a recipe to boot.

There is no recipe in this tiny diatribe. Hope sometimes takes the desperate form of that old chestnut “this too shall pass” (though many times in my opinion, not nearly fast enough) and that gives me a kind of hope. But the hope that I want is the one that renews, the one that helps you face the day, the one that thinks “maybe this is the day (minute, hour, time)  when all will be well”.

My handy-dandy thesaurus that lives in my computer gives some synonyms for the word hope: confidence, expectation, optimism, anticipation, courage, and faith. Taking those words into account, I have confidence and anticipate optimistically that courage and faith will see me through my expectations. (See what I did there—used all those synonyms to create a sentence – talk about patting yourself on the back!)

I am not sure that I have risen to the occasion of the “tagging” but I have given it a shot, and I think that is all Heidi expected.

Published in: on August 8, 2012 at 1:57 pm  Comments (35)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/hope-sits-over-my-closet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

35 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You have really got me thinking again – how do you do that?

  2. I like that you say hope and faith go together. You hope for the best, and when the best doesn’t happen, you have faith that tomorrow will bring the best. As usual, a good post.

    • just like the TV program – they go together – you and I could be Hope and Faith, but I think we would both be Hope (not the Kelly character)

  3. This is the second post this morning I’ve read about hope! I loved yours Lou Ann and I think hope must definitely goes along with faith. Thanks for this — just when I needed it.

    • Thank you – read my reply to my sis above (Peggy)
      are you Hope or Faith? or a bit of both?

      • I try to be a bit of both. I really do!! (on my good days that is…) ;)

      • my sister says I was Hope and she was Faith when we were younger

  4. good post today! the hope that renews… Yes, that is the kind we want most. thanks for the post. btw, what does it mean to be ‘tagged?’ SB

    • someone asked Heidi to do something and tagged her to do it, then she tagged me, or asked me to do it — at least that is my understanding–thanks for visiting :)

  5. I think faith & hope go hand in hand too.

  6. See, I had faith that you would do it and you did. Beautifully written, as always. Thanks!

    • Thank you Heidi–it was fun – bet you did not know I had Hope over my closet (Faith is hanging on my dining room wall)

      • If my husband knew they made Hope signs, he’d probably have on installed over the headboard. :)

      • hope does spring eternal in men’s breasts (okay maybe not their breasts) –this is funny – lol lol

  7. Thanks for the encouraging word!

  8. Well said.. they definitely go hand in hand.. I think a home filled with hope & faith is a great place to live.. :-)

  9. Wonderful, thank you, Ellen

  10. I think we can’t hope for anything we don’t have a subconscious feeling that it will be true. In my life, I’ve found that when something isn’t right to hope for then something inside of me will not permit hope to form it’s tiny bud… We can’t see it… but something in our experience has told us it’s possible, and with hope, we are able to see clearly the path needed to take to make it a reality. It helps save all that anxiety energy for the task at hand so we can use the energy on something that is a creative solution. Anyway…sorry for all the words… hope my 2 cents helps.

    • your two cents very much helps–it is obvious you have put a lot of thought into this

  11. I completely agree that hope and faith go hand in hand together. Without hope, how would we be able to keep faith and vice versa? Lots of food for thought indeed. Glad you gave this ‘tag’ a shot! ;)

  12. Congrats my friend, I have awarded you and your awesome blog the Versatile Blogger Award :D
    Check it out here: http://gobakeyourself.wordpress.com/2012/08/09/wishing-for-spring/

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  13. Any post that gets one thinking is good … so well done!

    • thank you Frank – thinking is good–but so early in the morning?

      • Oh yes … I’m a perpetual thinker … and early morning is as good as any time.

      • before everything else gets in the way – that makes sense

  14. Thank God for hope. Without it I might as well die now…

    • me too – but you cannot die – I like your poetry too much–you have much to give


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 610 other followers

