Haikuish Sunday

                                            Day of rest declared

                                            Be it today, tomorrow

                                            Even yesterday

I call my haikus “haikuish” because there are so many out there who write them so beautifully that I do not think I should sully their creativity.  I do love the form and to play with words though.

Published in: on August 5, 2012 at 5:10 pm  Comments (30)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/08/05/haikuish-sunday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

30 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like :)

  2. What Boomie said–I like this very much.

  3. I like your Haikuish post!

    • do you think I have started a new genre here?

      • I believe so. It will be all the craze too! ;)

      • hop aboard

      • Don’t mind if I do!

  4. I like it too! Plus, every day should be a day of rest (in a perfect world).

  5. Today is a good day to rest and tomorrow and the next day…..can you tell I’m at the cottage? I like your Haiku, Lou!

    • That is what you should be doing — ah, cottage life. I tell people I have a cottage in Quebec but have not been to it yet.

  6. I just read your post and love your Haiku quote. Ironically, my post for tomorrow takes this to a further explanation. Glad to know someone thinks like me. You Matter! Smiles, Nancy

    • Will have to tune in tomorrow to see! It is not a quote though – I made it up, or should I say, I created it (lol).

  7. Hope you don’t mind that I tweeted this. It’s the perfect sentiment for today.

  8. I love haiku too! Mine are haikuish though – good idea

  9. I have used many Haiku in my magazine (Positive Words) over the years but received an email from a Haiku ‘expert’ (and I don’t mean that lightly, she is a master of the true form) telling me she was disappointed that I was using so many Haiku that were not true Haiku. My theory is that we are all trying to produce the best we can, not everything is a prize winner or ‘true’ whatever the style but it’s all about everyone having a go. I love ‘Haikuish’ and especially yours :)
    Would you mind if I re-blogged it on my blog?

    • I would be pleased if you reblogged it. I have studied haikus and found that the form is very forgiving and that it does not have to keep to the 5-7-5. I have books of haikus and I love them–I like to think I am a haiku rebel–but when people take things too seriously, they are taking away someone else’s fun and creativity. I enjoy visiting you blog btw.

  10. Very nice…I just found a new interest in haiku and really enjoy yours. Blessings, Patty

  11. Hi There I have given you an award come and pick it up over on my BLOG and Enjoy you are so nice you me and you always comment when you like something about one of my posts I am new to this and I want you to know how much I appreciate you and the others who stop by and do more than LIKE them :)

    • Thank you so much – I enjoy your blog. I have visited but do not see the award, but then again, I am not too bright. I am honoured nevertheless and visit again tomorrow. :)

      • It is on my blog Living and Lovin let me know if you can’t get it and I will help

  12. Haiku certainly is an art form that fascinates and brings us much joy. I always encourage others to write, read and study those haiku poets that mean something to them. I have found much wisdom along the way and have made so many marvelous haiku friends…. experiences that I treasure and that have nourished me for years.

  13. Reblogged this on positivewordsmagazine and commented:
    I love this approach to Haiku :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 621 other followers

