Quotes That Need No Comment

“I can’t write five words but that I change seven.”~ Dorothy Parker

“Not that the story need be long, but it will take a long while to make it short.” ~ Henry David Thoreau

Walden.

Walden. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Published in: on August 4, 2012 at 1:18 pm  Comments (33)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/08/04/quotes-that-need-no-comment/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

33 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So true and such good quotes!

    I also love, “If I’d had more time, I’d have written a shorter letter.” – Mark Twain

  2. They were wise!

  3. Exactly.

  4. i love dorothy parker-her poetry, her reviews, her short stories. i give a copy of the dorothy parker reader to every young woman i know. i am amazed by how many of them had never read her work.

  5. what an excellent thing you are doing – Ms. Parker was the first Ms.!

  6. My only comment – these quotes are thought provoking with many interpretations.

    Cheers :)

  7. I agree wholeheartedly to both of them. Always have. Wish I didn’t have this problem, but I do. I write way too much then I have to go back and edit and cut and cut and edit and where was I going with this? I’ll stop. Now. Before I write too much. And I have to go back and take some out. But which seven do I cut and which five do I leave.
    See what I mean?? Brevity is not one of my virtues. But if I really try and write about what is one of my virtues, I guess it would be….

  8. your virtues are too many to name. my 200 word challenge taught me a lot–it is hard to be brief. In reading blogs I find myself lazy (unless it is someone special like you or julie or heidi or robin or anna –okay there are too many to name) I find that if they do not go on forever I am more likely to read them. If I am really interested in a subject, I will read it at length, but if I am only semi-interested and it is long — then I tend to skim.

  9. Sure are a lot of comments on quotes that need no comments!

  10. Very funny. :)

  11. “Brevity is the soul of lingerie”. Another Dorothy Parker quote. Maybe that’s the only time to be brief, not necessary for the written word.

  12. Enjoyed all the quotes… yours and the ones contributed by your commenters, as well!

    • don’t I have some of the best commenters (you included) in the world? I am sure you do too – but I am immensely lucky!

  13. INDEED, particularly the Thoreau

  14. Oh I am so good at changing words too….!! ;)

  15. No flipping kidding. Sigh.

  16. Oh Dorothy. She was so pithy and so wise.

  17. Absolutely. Dorothy Parker was so funny. I hadn’t heard the “brevity” quote (but sometimes think of “you can lead a horticulture but you can’t make her think” – not very PC nowadays…).

    • so many many things are not PC — poor Dorothy would have had quite a time today

  18. “I can’t write five words but that I change seven.”~ Dorothy Parker
    Oh, how I relate to this.
    But, in consolation: a good writer is a good editor.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 620 other followers

