Canadians Do Too Have A Sense of Humour ~ Quote for August 2, 2012 ~

Statue of Queen Elizabeth II on Parliament Hil...

Statue of Queen Elizabeth II on Parliament Hill, Ottawa (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Preface:

I love Queen Elizabeth.

I was born on her birthday.

I feel a real kinship to her and her ever-present purse.

I love her hats~~

so this is no way is meant to be disrepectful, but come on — it is funny:

“Canada is a democratic society based upon the ideals of equality and opportunity for all. The symbol of this democracy is an unelected member of a foreign royal family whose status is determined purely by bloodline and an in-bred, out-dated hereditary class system. You know…sometimes the satire writes itself….”

                                         ~ Will Ferguson & Ian Ferguson ~ How To Be A Canadian (Even If You Already Are One)

Published in: on August 2, 2012 at 2:53 pm  Comments (37)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/08/02/canadians-do-to-have-a-sense-of-humour-quote-for-august-2-2012/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

37 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. During the opening ceremonies of the Olympics, I Saw the queen with Daniel Craig (James Bond) jump out of a helicopter, now there’s a lady with a sense of humour. (I do realize it was a stunt double.)

  2. We have that book by the Fergusons. We are a slightly tongue in cheek society.

  3. Love it!

  4. Thank you.

  5. LouAnn, OK, maybe I should know this, but are YOU a Canadian? I don’t know where you live. (But this was funny.)

    • Yes, through and through – live near the American border about 30 miles from Detroit–Windsor on our side -a small town called Kingsville

      • Really? Really? I grew up near Port Huron, Michigan, in a small town called Yale. We were practically neighbors!

      • And now we are blogging buddies – how cool is that –as they say – it is a small world after all!

  6. Yes they do. A post that makes the reader smile…or chuckle. Thanks.

  7. Funny, Lou Ann. I married to a man who’s roots are French Canadian so I love Canada. :).

    • I have a little French blood – though I am not from Quebec — maybe your husband and I are related –I am related to at least half the county where I live

  8. HAHAHA. Irony indeed! Thank you for this entertaining post!
    Russ

  9. i love it! it made me laugh out loud.

  10. :-)

  11. Thank you for making me smile :D
    Now we know maple syrup AND comedy are from Canada :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • I am sure you make good use of maple syrup in some of your wonderful recipes – thanks for coming by

  12. Cheers … and reports say that she has a good sense of humor!

  13. wonderful!

  14. Hi! I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! You can find your nomination here: http://palomasharma.wordpress.com/2012/08/04/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    • thank you so much – I am very honoured that you would think of me. I think you are trying to do a very good thing with your blog.

      • You deserve it. :)

  15. I love that we Canadians are so willing to laugh at ourselves – in a manner many outsiders simply do not ‘get’. Well, okay…so we just want to do it before anyone else can!

  16. Do you listen to the Canadian comedians on NPR? Hilarious! Of course
    Canadians have great senses of humor as does the Queen (probably.)
    Prince Phillip? He may think he’s funny with his quips, but sadly no one else does. Have you heard some of his gaffes? Yikes!
    Great blog!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 621 other followers

