Quote for the Day ~ July 31, 2012

 

English: Leonard Cohen

English: Leonard Cohen (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Here is a great quote to  wind up the sunny month of July. My sister sent it to me, and said she had read an article about perfectionism and how it can be a burden that “keeps us from taking flight”.

The quote says it eloquently and poetically. It is from the song Anthem by Leonard Cohen, one of Canada’s national treasures:

~  “There is a crack in everything, that is how the light gets in.”  ~

 

Published in: on July 31, 2012 at 12:22 pm  Comments (19)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/quote-for-the-day-july-31-2012/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Too perfect for words – thanks!

    • :)

      • I’m not so nervous of the cracks anymore!

      • I am a recovering perfectionist – it really does get in your way doesn’t it

      • Maybe I am a latent perfectionist and that is why I suffer from my own imperfections so much – ha!

  2. That’s one to remember!

  3. I am a perfectionist. I hate it. In everything.

    I grew up by two critical parents who did their best but I have to make my bed and have the pillows fluffed, and the dishes washed, the whole nine yards.

    It carries over into my writing.

    I wonder if I will ever get my novel to publication because unless i get an agent to tell it’s there, it will never feel perfect enough.

    I’m working on this.

    Blogging is helping me to loosen up.

  4. being a perfectionist is hard work and emotionally tough on you – glad blogging is helping

  5. Love it. I’m trying not to be so much of a perfectionist. Perfect is overrated and kind of boring don’t ya think? Life is joyous and messy filled with cracks!

  6. Hello, I nominated your blog for an award– More info can be found here: http://fortyteencandles.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/its-true-lightning-strikes-twice/
    Please don’t feel obligated to accept. I just wanted to pass on some appreciation for your great work.

  7. That is a “glass is half full” attitude! Love it.

  8. Loved your perfectionist quote! Thank you!

  9. I love it!

  10. [...] Quote for the Day ~ July 31, 2012 (onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com) [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 610 other followers

