Day 24 ~ 200 Words

A.A. Milne

A.A. Milne (Photo credit: tatiana.nyanko)

 Used this in one of my Quotes of the Day and it was quite popular, so thought I would expand on it a little ~

  “When you are a Bear of Very Little Brain, and you Think of Things, you find sometimes that a Thing which seemed Thingish inside you is quite different when it gets out into  the open and has other people looking at it.” ~ A. A. Milne

The above quote is known in some parts as a “Poohism” and is part and parcel of the wisdom and philosophy of Winnie the Pooh, from the series of books created by A.A. Milne for his son.

Children are very wise. They understand complicated statements by their favourite characters. They know that Pooh is smart despite the fact that he is always saying that he is a Bear of Very Little Brain. And they know that sometimes something they are thinking inside their brains becomes something very different when it sees the light of day.

 When I first read this statement I did not necessarily think of it as something positive. Sometimes when we reveal what is inside of us to other people they think we are rather odd or do not understand us. But I got another reading on the statement from someone (Brigitte) with a different perspective. She saw this as a positive statement – that sometimes when we show our fears to others, they help disperse the fear or bad feeling and it no longer becomes troublesome. I like the second perspective.

Published in: on July 30, 2012 at 12:24 am  Comments (22)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/07/30/day-24-200-words/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s been a long time since we were reading Winnie the Pooh in this house. Brought back great memories. Thanks! :)

  2. I like the second perspective too, I like to look on the bright side of life….isn’t that a song?

  3. I like the second perspective as well. Love the poohism!!

  4. So true. Sometimes having someone respond to what we’re afraid to share helps to defuse it and make it seem less odd. It’s comforting.

    I think this is the first photo I’ve ever seen of A.A. Milne. I think Ralph Fiennes should play him in the movie.

    • I like that – good future thinking —
      And to answer your first point – the light of day does reveal that the ghosts were nothing

  5. I like the 2nd perspective as well.

  6. i love that Poohism its very me somehow :D

    • nice to recognize ourselves in the words of others – it makes me feel more included

      • it makes me feel less weird !!

      • that too!

  7. I love this quote – but it’s so easy to love AA Milne. A clever and brilliant human, he exposed his fabulous soul in supposed children’s literature. Thank you for sharing it – I shared it with my sister who is such a fan she can surely claim the Order of Pooh! :D

  8. My sister Winnie, is still fondly called Winnie the pooh. to this day by her siblings. She is 50 years old now. I like that quote by the way.

  9. that is adorable

  10. Lou Ann, thank you! I love your perspectives as well. :). Thanks, friend — this came just when I needed it. Works both ways. ;)

  11. “She saw this as a positive statement – that sometimes when we show our fears to others, they help disperse the fear or bad feeling and it no longer becomes troublesome. I like the second perspective.”

    Me too! I suspect that it has a lot to do with the quality of friends a person has. Thank you for this thought-provoking post!
    Russ

    • very astute observation – if you open up to the right people then they make you feel better


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 632 other followers

