Day 23 ~ 200 Words

Words Cloud 02/01-08/02 2009

Words Cloud 02/01-08/02 2009 (Photo credit: GRwitters)

I embarked on a 200  words a day challenge on July 5th. Here are some things I have learned from the experience:

1. Never ask a question you do not want answered.

2. You can say a lot in 200 words.

3. Sometimes you cannot say enough in 200 words.

4. Most of my new posts will be no longer than 500 – 600 words; some of my previous posts have been 750-800 words and I think that may be a bit long.

5. Writing philosophical posts do not get the most hits or likes, but do garner some of the most interesting comments.

6. I wanted to say so much more in some of my 200 word posts.

7. Sometimes I wanted to say less.

8. I found myself expanding on some of the posts in my answers to the commenters because I could not say everything about the subject in 200 words.

9. I liked the challenge most days.

10. A couple of days I did not like the challenge – sort of like life.

11. I notice that number 3, number 6, and number 8 are saying the same thing in different words.

12. Only two more 200 word challenges left!

Words, words and words

Words, words and words (Photo credit: Arslan)

Published in: on July 28, 2012 at 4:24 pm  Comments (38)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/07/28/day-23-200-words/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

38 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi there. You need to pat yourself on the back. You’ve done very well. :)

  2. Bravo!

    • this is me bowing

      • This is me saluting

      • this is me returning the salute- and straightening my shoulders

      • ha and this is my turn to bow!

      • we could go on like this forever -

      • ok – hahahahahahah!

      • now I have to go read your posts – they are waiting for me in my inbox–one of the favourite parts of my day (I am not just saying this)

  3. Well done! Almost to the finish line.
    *anna

  4. Very impressed that you’ve kept up with this so far. It’s pretty cool to see what we can do when we challenge ourselves like this, isn’t it? Two more to go, you can do it!

  5. When I read your posts, I think you may be reading my mind. I share and agree with so many of your thoughts. Congratulations on the 200 word challenge.

    • Thank you – I am glad we are sympatico -we seem to have many of the same memories and experiences

  6. [ Smiles ] Hmmm. I seem to do well in the Philosophical area.

    Even though a lot can be said in 200 words, it is okay for you to exceed it. For example, if you need 315 words to put your point across, use 315 words.

    Remember, my friend, that it is your blog. You are free to use 200 words, more than 200 words or less than 200 words.

    By the way, I really enjoyed your article.

    • I will be giving myself that freedom back in two days–though if I were truly honest, I did go over a few times, but I was under a few time too
      glad you enjoyed the article

  7. I love your #1….sometimes I really don’t like the answer to a question, mostly I think I want people to agree with me. Haha.

  8. I like your wrap up! I have been pondering writing the 200 word wrap-up challenge, too, but think I might steal yours because it’s so good! No, no, would not plagiarize. But I agree so whole-heartedly with so much that you wrote here.

    • I give you permission to steal them – after all I stole your 200 word idea.

      • You’re funny! We both learned a lot.

      • We did and made friends too!

  9. I’m not brave enough to take on such a challenge. You did (are doing ~ with two more left) a great job! Will you be glad when it is over?

    • In a way it will be a relief – in a way I enjoyed it. With your talent I have no doubt you could take on any challenge you wanted to –this just may not be the right one for you.

      • You flatter me, but I’ll take it!

        Since I don’t have a competitive bone in my body, anytime I hear the word “challenge,” I slink into a corner to hide.

        Hey, on a side note, is your blog slow today? Is everyone watching the Olympics and not reading blogs?

      • my challenge was only me competing with me – so it was a win/win situation cause I am very understanding of myself

        everyone is complaining of the summer blog blahs that I have been reading – I think it may just be midsummer burnout or everyone is out having fun or–as you say the Olympics – which for some reason have not yet caught my attention this year

  10. bravo luann. we’ve enjoyed every one!

  11. Well done. I’m very impressed that you got this far. Its not an easy challenge.

    • thank you – Monday and Tuesday – then I will be on to another challenge or a rest

  12. Kudos to you!!! I would so fail this challenge. I am a bit wordy, unfortunately…..

  13. How do you spell your name, Luann? Luanne? (Mentioning this post…if I don’t hear from you right away I will just pick a spelling and correct it later.) Thank you!

  14. [...] Louann also challenged herself.  You can read her assessment of the assignment here. [...]

  15. Reblogged this on Will Marquez Post.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 602 other followers

