Quote of the Day # 2

~Success~

To laugh often and much;

to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children;

Grave of Ralph Waldo Emerson at Sleepy Hollow ...

Grave of Ralph Waldo Emerson at Sleepy Hollow Cemetery in Concord, Massachusetts (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends;

to appreciate beauty; to find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or redeemed social condition;

to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived.

This is to have succeeded. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

English: Signature of U.S. author Ralph Waldo ...

English: Signature of U.S. author Ralph Waldo Emerson. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Published in: on July 26, 2012 at 2:06 pm  Comments (23)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/07/26/quote-of-the-day-2-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

23 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like your definition.

    • although I would love to take credit – Mr. Emerson might turn over in his grave

  2. I am going to take this quote and try it out tomorrow – many thanks!!!

    • Glad you liked it – :)

      • I love laughing but was losing the talent for it!

      • not a talent we should lose – it gets us through “stuff”

  3. He was a great man…and he pinned a lot of great quotes.

  4. this man said some of the most remarkable things! When I saw “Ralph Waldo Emerson” at the end I just thought to myself “Who else?!”

  5. Spoke to me too, love the quote.

  6. Fantastic!

    • It is so funny that you would say that – I just commented on a blogger using the same word – thank you

  7. Love it. Its so positive.

    • It is, isn’t it? Wish I could come up with something someone would want to quote.

  8. “To know one life has breathed easier because you have lived”…I love that phrase…Diane

  9. i keep this card on my taped to my refrigerator. sometimes for inspiration to be a better person and sometimes to make me feel just a little better about myself.

  10. Very inspirational. Thanks to RWE and to you for posting.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 628 other followers

