Post 100! Day 15 ~ 200 Words

Speed (TV channel)

Speed (TV channel) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Battleground:  Television.

I love the Food Channel. My husband loves the Speed Channel which has the most annoying programming in the world. If there is not some car auction on with an auctioneer who will not shut up, there is a reality program about a family of motorcycle aficionados whose trials and tribulations rival the absurdity of the Kardashian clashes.

My interest in cars is threefold: does it have gas; is there enough air in the tires; and does it run. That is the full gamut. Sure I would like a little red convertible, but until that day comes, I do not care about cars.

The Food Channel

The Food Channel (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I love food. I do not love preparing it, but since the job has been left to me at my house, I watch Food Channel programs to bolster my enthusiasm for the task. I think my husband loves the Food Channel as much as I love the Speed Channel  (which coincidentally are side by side on cable).

I can tell when my husband wants me to join him to watch TV. He puts on one of my favourite programs:  The Big Bang Theory, reruns of the Gilmore Girls or Downton Abbey. These are programs we enjoy together:

Gilmore Girls (season 1)

List of The Big Bang Theory episodes (season 2)

Highclere Castle

You need a few of these in your married life.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/07/20/post-100-day-15-200-words/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

40 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ahh, the television battles. Thought I am not a big television person, our disagreements sometimes send us to different rooms.
    Funny piece about the car.
    Big Bang Theory is funny!

    • Us too. And because the tvs are in adjoining rooms we then have volume battles

  2. Great post! I have never understood the Speed channel. And I like cars! I guess it’s a guy thing. I’ll go to an antique car show or the auto show when it comes to town, but I just don’t get watching cars on TV. Luckily, my husband could care less about cars. He’s like you. Does it have gas in it? Is it working? Great, off we go!

  3. Happy 100th post!

    My husband will watch Storage Wars, Ice Road Truckers (this actually exists) The only shows we agree on are Hard Core Pawn and Big Brother (yeah, I admit it) I love Big Bang Theory. It gets slammed by people but I just love the show and everyone on it.

  4. My son says that Big Bang Theory makes fun of nerds–I did not think so –I thought it celebrated them–different generations have different takes. My brother watches Ice Road Truckers, so I have heard of it. There are a number of pawn shows on–I am not sure if I have watched the one you are talking about, but have seen others.

    • As a lifelong nerd, The Big Bang Theory tickles me. I can see a specific friend or family member in each character. I think the important thing is that it’s “by geeks, for geeks”, rather than the Hollywood stereotype of a geek.

      • My son is a self-professed nerd and is not that fond of the program –but I just love it. I like your defintion “by geeks for geeks”–that is how I perceive it too

  5. I’m glad my husband doesn’t watch the Speed channel. But he watches a lot of other stuff I don’t care about. For instance, he can watching Ninja Warrior until it’s on his retinas. I can’t do that.

  6. Husbands seem to have a lot of stamina when it comes to TV. Ninja Warrior eh– sounds very ninja

  7. Herb will just about watch anything on tv…..but speed channel is his fav….I like you can’t stand it, give me HGTV any day of the week.

  8. Gilmore Girls and Downton Abbey are two of my absolute favorites!!

  9. you have excellent taste

  10. Happy 100th post! It is a great achievement! :)

  11. I love the Food Network too. Food is a central theme in my novel and I’ve picked up several ideas from watching.

    Congrats on the milestone!

  12. if food is a central theme-I want to read that book – thanks for the congrats

  13. For us it’s been The Office, Firefly, and Sherlock.
    My wife kindly accommodates college football. I support her in watching Downton.

    Congrats on 100 posts. Good on ya!

    • I love Office, should look into the other two – my husband does not watch a lot of sports – we used to watch basketball with our eldest son.
      Thanks for the congrats

      • Happy 100th post! I have only encountered Big Bang Theory recently and it got me chuckling. I agree LouAnn, it’s great to enjoy TV shows with our partners and to have our personal faves.

      • Thank you – we are not all the same are we –but it is nice to share some programs

  14. Husband and I are big Netflix watchers and we love The Big Bang Theory too.

    Congrads on your 100th post. :-)

    • I have watched a bit of Netflix as my son has it – we watched the first season of Community on it and that has become a new favourite.
      Thanks for the congrats

  15. I wish I had written on this topic. My husband WAR over TV. First of all, I’m not a big watcher in the first place.

    But.

    If it has to be on, must it always be golf?

    Really?

    My interest in golf in zero-fold. When I met Hubs, he did not play. Now, he has a game twice a week in the summer. Gotta tell ya, it would have been a deal breaker.

    I love Project Runway and America’s Next Top Model and Top Chef.

    You know, TV for chicks. I don’t blame him for not wanting to join me on the couch — but please do not delete my recorded programs. Thank you.

    So what do we watch together?

    Big Bang Theory. (What’s not to love?)
    Dexter. (We’re still catching up from old seasons.)
    The Mentalist.
    This Old House.

    Oy.

    Congrats on your 100th post! And thanks for visiting me at my place today!

    • The first program my husband “introduced” me to was This Old House and I still love it – probably from the nostagis of newfound love.
      My husband likes to watch stuff about war–any war–I do not understand it – he is a history buff.
      Golf is your nemesis, scuba diving mine. My husband did not dive when I met him – it created some challenges in our early marriage–when he took it up a year after we married. Oh well, love him anyway.

      • Mine started golfing when our son was born! Arrrrrgh! Hello, soul sisah! ;-)

  16. Oh my god. I saw the picture of “Gilmore Girls” and it’s like I just got a rush of something. My husband bought me all seven seasons on DVD. I have a feeling I’m going to be watching some today, now that I got this reminder. Either that or “Felicity.” And then he can watch whatever he wants and I won’t complain.

    • I only have one season–but I have watched it to death. I liked Felicity too–but it was very dramatic.

  17. I personally enjoy the cooking channel too. Never even knew there was such a thing as the speed channel. ;)

  18. The Big Bang Theory is one of our mutually enjoyed programs, too. We also watch Breaking Bad, and the British versions of IT Crowd and Being Human. I am a huge Food Network fan and my husband doesn’t watch with me, but he doesn’t mind because the results of my viewing usually end up in his tummy.

  19. Ah, then your husband is a wise man. I am interested in some of your other favorites and will try to find them.

  20. I could watch reruns of The Gilmore Girls forever!!!

  21. speed channel sounds like torture ~ i love the food network & cooking channel here in the u.s. ~ of course downton is a must, have both seasons on dvd and can’t wait for the next

    my solution for volume is headphones ~ not only can you blast it without anyone complaining but i’ve caught nuances in dialogue that i hadn’t picked up on with speakers

    • I have both seasons on dvd too – got them for Mother’s Day
      -headphones – now there is an idea

      • they work great ~ i bought a set with a 10-foot cord which is perfect for sofa-to-tv distance, but there are plenty of wireless models out there

      • thanks for the solution


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers

