Tiny Tortures

An oil lamp, the symbol of nursing in many cou...

An oil lamp, the symbol of nursing in many countries (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul.”  ~ John Muir

As of late, I have been poked, prodded and pinched, squeezed, squashed and searched, jabbed, jostled and ever so slightly manhandled. And all I have to say about it is: Thanks.

At one time or another, most of us have had to undergo medical tests which admittedly are none too comfortable. But we undergo these tiny tortures for the greater good. If we want good health we submit to mammograms, ultrasounds, blood tests, and a myriad of procedures that will hopefully find that we are in good health. If we find out otherwise, then we have options—options that would not be possible if we had not been pricked, prodded, and examined.

I am not the poster girl for preventative medicine—something has to hurt somewhere before I do something about it. A pain in my side that would not go away finally got me to make a doctor’s appointment and keep it. I have been putting my health on the sidelines for a while now, figuring if nothing is screaming out for attention, then everything must be okay.

First I had to have some blood tests. Sounds simple doesn’t it? When I went to to have my blood taken I did not warn the nurse that vampires have difficulty finding my veins, as I did not want to set her up for failure. It soon became obvious to her that I had tiny veins. She was gentle, but had to downsize her needle twice, but finally, she struck gold–err, I mean blood. Now, while we were going through this tiny trauma, I found out that she was getting married in a couple of weeks and we talked about her plans. I am convinced that if she had found my veins sooner, we would not have had this lovely conversation—so, even though I was jabbed a few times, it paid off in warm human contact.

Martha Stewart

Martha Stewart (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Last week I had a mammography. The less said about this the better. It hurts, darn it. But the nurse who took care of me was compassionate, and explained that a little pain was not much to ask when there could be so much to gain. I agreed, and read a Martha Stewart gardening magazine, while she went over the results. They have invited me back for an ultrasound. I would like not to RSVP, but I am trying to be wiser, so I will go back. Being dense (not just in the head) makes the mammogram results more difficult to read. I refuse to read anything more into it.

And just this morning I had an ultrasound in the area that initially sent me into my health care provider. In order to have this ultrasound, I had to spend the day before on a fat free diet. Do you know that everything has fat in it besides Jell-O, fruits and vegetables? Oh yeah, I was also allowed dry toast. Usually this would not be so bad, but it was Father’s Day, and I could not let the dad of honour eat my restricted diet—so I suffered through watching my family eat good food and dessert (something we do not have regularly) while munching on dry bread and strawberries. To add insult to injury, I also had to drink four glasses of water an hour before my appointment—so not only was I undergoing an ultrasound (which in itself is not all that bad)—I was undergoing an ultrasound with a full bladder.

I am back home, with a coffee and bagel under my belt, and trying to make a pact with myself not to eat everything in the fridge after yesterday’s almost “fast”. I made my family save a piece of the dessert, which I will be having for lunch. Bon appetit to me.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/06/18/tiny-tortures/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

39 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Enjoy your dessert! Hopefully the test results give you the answers that you need and any problems are easily resolved.

    • The dessert was too sweet, but I enjoyed my first coffee in two days. I am sure everything will be fine–I hesitate to write about health because people get concerned – but thanks so much for caring

  2. Aw, go ahead eat everything in your fridge including those cupcake treats hidden in your freezer.

    • I have no hidden treasures now, but may eat some of the cherry pie I bought for my diabetic husband for Father’s Day

  3. Hope all is well on the homefront :) Going through the same thing – tests, cataract surgery, DH the same – so far, all is well! But age keeps advancing… What are we having for desert today?

    • The turtle pie was too sweet – funny how we crave things when we cannot have them.
      Hope all goes well with your health issues – my dad once told me that getting old is hell–that is why I have resolved not to get old–at least in my mind

  4. I too have these thin veins that are pretty deep,I find scalp veining is the most tolerable ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winged_infusion_needle )

    • what is scalp veining?
      – I think tiny veins means we have big brains – what do you think?

      • I don’t know about my brains but I hate being a pincushion.Scalp veining is a procedure using a small needle attached to a flexible tubing.The arrangement is used to draw blood from the small veins of the hands.I find it painless.

      • I shall have to find out about this – painless and not being a pincushion is good. Thanks for the advice

      • Also in some cases a sono-mammo can be used instead of a mammo.And this is painless and there is no radiation,

      • Thanks again – you are very helpful

      • Well I’m stuck with them for the rest of my life,so why make the experience more unpleasant than it need be?

      • so true – you are wise

      • Got the idea from a doctor who saw the problems I was having.

  5. I am very sorry to read about your tortures. :( Hopefully the tortures will reveal nothing seriously wrong, and something that can be easily fixed. I got scared reading your blog about those veins. Not fun. P.S. If it ends up being your gall bladder, I can fully relate. My poor gb is now, alas, fully gone. Tried the fat-free diet for almost four years before succumbing to surgery.

  6. We will have to see – if it is gallbladder then i will have to ask you more questions – thanks so much for your concern -

  7. So sorry to read this. It’s awful isn’t it when you go for one thing and have a barrage of other tests as well. I hope that they turn out to be nothing to worry about. I also have difficult veins (never used to!) and can relate to the ouch factor of blood samples. My Dr recommended I don’t become a blood donor so that they can still find one good vein when they need to do tests! Take care and thank you for the lovely introductory quote.

    • Thank you for your concern – I hate medical tests (obviously) but if they are called for I am going to do them–did not always do this in the past

      I wonder why we have difficult veins- I am convinced it is because we are so intelligent (lol about me, not you)

  8. i’m sorry you had to suffer through all of that. most of all the missing of dessert. if we lived closer we’d bring you our newest find…sour cream chocolate cake with peanut butter cream cheese frosting…it is every bit as good as it sound.
    feel better!

  9. that sounds more than delicious – I wish you lived closer too. thanks for the feel better wishes–

  10. Sorry to hear about your recent journey, so be strong! …. and let the good results come your way soon!

  11. Hoping for good results!

  12. Just sending you good thoughts. Tests can be worrying and I hope the results are reassuring.Mr S had the fat free diet test too and I’d just like to say that if it does turn out to be gall bladder, he was a new man after the op.

    I am sorry too that the pud you waited for was too sweet. Love from Cornwall to you.

    • someone else mentioned gall bladder too – I would not mind being a new woman.
      I also bought my husband his favourite cherry pie for Father’s Day, so I indulged in that instead of the mud pie, so my taste for dessert was sated
      hey Cornwall is not that far away from Kingsville – we should do lunch (lol)

  13. I hate to be poked and prodded too so well done for not ignoring your body for any longer. I think dessert for breakfast, lunch and dinner is called for after your trials!

    • why thank you – I like your style – the prodding and poking is not over so I will have to deal with it with dessert!

  14. I hope your tests come back with nothing untoward, you’re right that it’s worth going through these proddings for the sake of potentially preventing something much worse, although it’s no fun at the time. I hate when you have to have a full bladder like that, but what an enormous relief it is when you get to pee! If I were you, I’d think up a few tasty treats to look forward to after your next round of prodding.

  15. that is a good idea – tasty treats to reward myself for undergoing all this scrutiny! Thanks for your encouragement – I am convinced that if there is a problem it can be readily fixed – you are right about the relief – I was asked if i wanted to get dressed first–could not believe I was asked that – I do not mind wandering around in those odd hospital gowns if it means not having an accident

  16. Sorry to hear about the evil tests. But I’m sure all will be well, your mind will be at ease and you’ll get to go through it all again next year!

    • that is a cruel thought – hopefully some of the tests I am having are not yearly – but I, too, am sure all will be well–thanks for your concern

  17. Those things are evil aren’t they, but being dense is not crime and you are not alone. I’ll be looking forward to hearing you got the all clear :)

  18. What did you find out with the ultrasound? oh those doctors and clinics are rather unpleasant places, I think!! I had a similiar experience with a mammorgram… all that worry over absolutely nothing! I hope you’ll write a follow up for your followers to let us know that all is well and that the medical industry ought to figure out another way than frightening people half to death for no apparent reason!!! SB

    • I agree with you – it seems right now, one test is leading to another – but I will write an update when I have all the info–if I thought it was going to be bad news though, I would not have written about it – must keep the positive attitude – though you are right about being frightened half to death for hopefully no reason

  19. I am a wuss when it comes to needles and medical tests and will only go to the doctor if I think I may be dying. It is really not a good way to practice preventive medicine, something that sounds and is beneficial.

    I hope the poking and prodding (and fasting) result in the ole’ no news is good news type of news.

    • me too – I only go to the doctor when I think there is something really wrong or a pain won’t go away–so far things look okay, but I am still in the midst of it all


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 633 other followers

