Manifest This!

Mercedes-Benz HighPerformanceEngines

Mercedes-Benz HighPerformanceEngines (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“…the way a man does one thing is the way he does everything.”

~written in Zen according to Regina Leeds

I will be the first to admit that I take instructions well, if I like the instructions. Case in point: Regina Leeds, in her book “One Year to an Organized Work Life” suggests that we create a dream board as a prelude to getting organized. She says that by taking on this project “you invite your inner thoughts and longings to rise to the surface; you will discover more of who you really are and what you’d like to manifest in your life.”

I am not too sure I want to discover more of who I am, but I would not mind doing a little manifesting—which is a term that seems to be thrown around a lot these days. Manifesting according to the Manifesting Your Dreams website is the “process to create what we want in our lives by bringing ideas and desires into physical form.”  Alrighty, then. According to Leeds, one of the ways to bring our ideas and desires into physical form is to cut and paste “images that correspond to the life you want” onto some poster board.

Anything that involves cutting and pasting is right up my alley. I can cut and paste with the best of them. So I gathered a bunch of magazines together and perused the pages, looking for things to manifest. Manifesting sounds like a lot more fun than organizing– maybe I can “manifest” my way to being organized.

Calling this exercise “simple, creative, inexpensive and powerful” Leeds believes that once the board is completed and you keep it in a prominent place, you will be inspired to go in the direction that it leads you. So, just where is my dream board leading me?

It immediately becomes apparent that I am not averse to the good life and all it entails.  I have a picture of a house which is a little smaller than a mansion, and a little bigger than one really needs; a Mercedes-Benz logo; a pile of cash with the word millionaire placed strategically across it; and a fine bottle of wine. But if you fear I may become a bit crass, I do have a whole corner of my poster board devoted to family life, home and good food; another area dedicated  to good health; and smack dab in the middle, a picture of my dream “ home” office, organized to the ‘nth’ degree.

The words “giving” , “smiles”, “friendships”, “laugh out loud”, “imagination”, “logic and emotion” (a seemingly weird and at odds combo), “gratitude” and “live life graciously” are dotted among the pictures.  The whole right hand lower corner of my dream board has a number of travel destinations listed that I want to manifest (how I am going to go to Hawaii without boarding a plane though is a mystery to me).

The centre of the dream board features a quote by Humbert Wolfe, a poet who was born in 1885. He said; “Listen! The wind is rising and the air is wild with leaves. We have had our summer evening, now for October eves.” This celebrates my love of all things autumn, and of course there is a picture of my favourite fruit of all—the pumpkin. (I know I cannot manifest Fall all the time, but that is what gets me through our hot, humid summers.)

There is also a picture of a drawer, with neat little compartments, and everything in its place. This denotes my need for organization. Under it are these word by the graphic artist, M.C. Escher: “We adore chaos because we love to produce order.”

Creating a dream board is introspective, and it took me months to do it because I had to talk myself out of thinking that it was silly. But it appeals to my sense of order, and if something comes of all this manifesting stuff, all the better. (Tried to talk my husband into doing a dream board, but his heart was just not in it. Guess he is not as enamoured with cutting and pasting as I am.)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/06/05/manifest-this/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

24 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great post! I made my vision board almost 2 yrs ago. It’s kept in a prominent area of my home office. As a professional organizer I can relate to the quote you provided ;)

  2. Have you found yourself manifesting any of the things on your board?

  3. YIKES! Here I am, a non-organizer commenting after a professional organizer.

  4. I’m a good cut and paste type too–maybe I should do this…hmmm. Is it working?

    • I did it once before and some of that came to fruition–so I am just waiting for this to manifest- my new favourite word

  5. there is hope for all of us – someday I too will be organized – until then I will learn from the masters

  6. Here’s an alternative way to create the dream board: Oprah’s “web-based application” dream board

    http://www.oprah.com/spirit/O-Dream-Board-Envision-Your-Best-LifeTM

    • thanks – I will have to check it out- sounds like no gluing and cutting–but maybe some pasting

  7. Your post is inspiring…time to do a little cutting and pasting….

  8. working on a vision board this past week… so far I’ve manifested nearly 50#’s off my bod, and daily exercise. *sigh* I admire your organization.
    *anna

    • I like being accused of being organied – good luck with your “manifesting”

  9. I tried doing a vision board, when I realized all I had was one picture of an old couple holding hands watching their grandchildren play in the sand. I tried adding to it, like a camera, a blue print, a book and a starfish but six months later I just turned it into a poster that I kept adding quotes to… simply what I dream for my future is to grow old with my husband and have lots of grandbabies living in a home I designed, surrounded by pictures he and I have taken over the years from beaches around the world while reading one of my best novels!

    • what a beautiful vision for your life together – I love it – and can think of nothing better to manifest

  10. My first experience with cutting and pasting at a friends birthday party in 1959 sounded so similar to this vision board! I think I kept this activity… got to get up in the attic and look around! Wondering how my thoughts have changed over the past 50 + years…

  11. If you find it, it will be interesting to see how many things you “manifested” in your life by doing this–let me know.

  12. I love the idea of a dream board. I’m used to making lists of things I dream of but it seems like a creative and fun alternative!

    • It is fun – even if you feel a little bit silly doing it – it is creative and gets you to think about your “lists” in a new way.

  13. I’m so out of touch I’ve never heard of a dream board or manifesting! But I understand the principles now.
    And how will you get to hawaii? the millions of course ;)

  14. a few of the things I am trying to manifest do not take money – but things that take money are almost easier than things that don’t – nevertheless, the millions would help get to Hawaii – but not my fear of flying

  15. I’ve been meaning to for so long, I really have. The problem is, I worry it won’t look like the one in my mind.

    • Maybe you just aren’t destined to cut and paste–perhaps picturing it in your mind is enough.

      • That could be true.

  16. [...] Beck's theory on how the law of attraction may work, Let the Law of Attraction Work for You, The Vision Board; A great read re: the law of attraction: "Excuse Me Your Life is Waiting" by Lynn Grabhorn This [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 621 other followers

