Keeping the Faith: Week 3 ~ Writers’ Devotional

Cover of "Please Don't Eat the Daisies"

Cover of Please Don’t Eat the Daisies

“Confronted by an absolutely infuriating review, it is sometimes helpful for the victim to do a little personal research on the critic. Is there any truth to the rumour that he had no formal education beyond the age of eleven? ”  ~ Jean Kerr

Week 3 of Amy Peters’ book, The Writers’ Devotional, is the best yet because it features Jean Kerr’s humourous quote up front and centre, setting the tone. Kerr was the author of Please Don’t Eat the Daisies published in the late ‘50’s and her book became what I want my phantom book to become:  a bestseller, a movie, and a television series. I love how Kerr deflected a bad review—putting the blame directly into the lap of the critic. That, to me is called survival.

Week 3  provides some  enticing  tidbits, of which I will only give you a taste—we have to honour authors and buy their books and not just be satisfied with some hack’s opinions (in this case-mine).

Monday of the third week tells us to balance the role of the critic and not give them so much power. Tuesday is an ode to positive thinking and poetry; Wednesday suggests writing a blog on a recently released movie,  giving it a “zippy” headline to create interest; and Thursday honours the word “said”. Enough said.

Friday features O. Henry, whose real name was William Sydney Potter. Teaser: he spent three years in jail. Saturday, Amy provides her read of the week: A Room of One’s Own by Geraldine Page. Just seeing  if you were paying attention here – of course it was Virginia Woolf’s “book-length essay”.  And Sunday, well, Sunday, which is writing prompt day provided a prompt I will not give away, but neither will I be using.

Portrait of Virginia Woolf by George Charles B...

Portrait of Virginia Woolf by George Charles Beresford Deutsch: Die zwanzigjährige Virginia Woolf, fotografiert von George Charles Beresford (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am treading a fine line here in not giving too much away and trying to keep your interest up. So I wlll be brave and bare my soul to you again, but this time in poetry. If any of you have read the “About LouAnn” section, (where I call myself  “a poet of little merit”) you know that my poetry skills are not my proudest endeavours, but nevertheless, I plug on.

W. H. Auden (I learned in the Tuesday motivational entry in Amy’s book) was asked if he wrote poetry and when he said he had never thought of doing so, he was prodded to try. So he did—and look what happened. Now, I am not saying that will happen here, but here is a humble offering of mine:

Holding the Faith

The slender bare tree limb

laces itself among its brethren

reaching its spidery fingers to the sky

Leafless, exposed

facing unguarded the winter chill

it survives the heavy snow

and icy tentacles that hold fast until

they slowly drip away

in the fading sun

A little boy drapes lights on the tree that

bears the slender limb–

Once dressed:

it glitters in the night sky,

lighting up the drab midwinter

as it reaches for the heavens

like a candle in the wind:

Holding the faith.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/06/02/keeping-the-faith-week-3-writers-devotional/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love Doris Day and love that movie. OH MY GOODNESS, your poem is beautiful and I could see it, feel it and I loved it. You, my dear, ARE a poet. I admire people who can write poetry — I never could. Lovely, Lou Ann, sooooo lovely.

    • I love Doris Day too – and thank you for the compliment, glad you liked the poem

  2. Loved your poem….”reaching it’s spidery fingers to the sky” is one of my favorite bits, truly poetic.

  3. I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Congratulations and thank you for your remarkable contributions! Here’s the link for the image and more info for accepting the award. http://mariewetmore.com/2012/06/02/its-awards-season-whats-your-favorite-blog-why/

    • I am honoured – thank you so much for the recognition.

      • You are welcome and you certainly deserve it.

  4. My daughter gave me The Writers Devotional for Mother’s Day and I love it!

  5. LouAnn,
    I love the poem. The visual imagery of your words vividly conjures up the scene in my mind. I am there watching the boy, until the second to last line. Due to the popularity of Elton John’s song with the same phrase, I am suddenly distracted. I wonder if changing the phrasing to “candle in the night” or “candle in the darkness” would achieve the same imagery without the momentary distraction that the “candle in the wind” phrasing creates.

    • good suggestion – actually I thought of that but then dismissed it–but if it is a distraction perhaps I should change it

  6. I loved the poem. I liked that I could see it happening as I read it.

  7. thank, loyal and trusted friend – I appreciate your feedback, it is always interesting and encouraging

  8. Cheers to Doris Day and her Cincinnati roots. ;) … oh … love the poem.

  9. Beautiful!

  10. Thanks, sweetie


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 632 other followers

