30 Years and Counting

May Evening Perception with Buxtehude (366/142...

May Evening Perception with Buxtehude (366/142 May 21, 2012) (Photo credit: ConnectIrmeli)

I do not usually write off the cuff this way–but today I had to update my “About LouAnn”. Before today I had stated that my husband John and I had been married almost 30 years. As of today, May 21, 2012, we have officially been married 30 years. I cannot believe it–we have had ups, downs, and all arounds, but we are still here. Our secret? Not sure – except that we can talk to each other and we enjoy each other’s company (most of the time–as anyone who has been married for a minute knows–there are those other times,….)

Our wedding was small. My mom made my dress, which I still have tucked away–and no, I cannot get into it (although I have lost five pounds in the last little while–I would need to lose a few more–as I weighed about 120 when I was married–I do not weigh 120 now).

We were married in the small country church that I grew up in, with my sister as my maid– I guess matron of honour since she was married. The most important people were there — my family, and some friends. The reception was at my parents’ house, and I still  remember walking into the house after we had dinner in the banquet room of  a local restaurant, and finding all the candles in the house lit–it was so pretty. I remember a few things from the day–but whenever the focus is on me I tend to get overwhelmed–and if ever there is a day to get overwhelmed–I guess it is your wedding day.

Published in: on May 21, 2012 at 3:23 pm  Comments (27)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/05/21/30-years-and-counting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

27 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congrats on 30 years! Not a lot of people can claim that kind of success anymore.

    • Thanks so much–cannot believe I can have a 30 year anniversary when I am only 29 – lol uproariously

  2. Happy Anniversary! Do you remember me wailing at the back of the church 30 years ago? Sorry about that Aunt Lou – no crying from me today, sending lots of love and happy thoughts your way.

  3. I remember and was thankful-it made me less nervous–thank you Krista for the well wishes

  4. Congratulations–Happy Anniversary! 30 years is a wonderful celebration. We’ve been married, um, excuse me, must count on fingers, 33 years. Isn’t it wonderful when we can communicate with the one we’ve married after all these years?

    • Thank you – I will be where you are in three years–but then again you will still be three years ahead of me–congrats to you too. Communication is key–when it is not where it should be, tough times ensue.

  5. I remember the day vividly, it was a beautiful day. Congratulations and here’s to another 30.

  6. Very nice post… and congrats!

  7. Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary! You’ve been married longer than I have been on planet Earth! Hope I will be lucky enough someday to find someone to spend the next 30 years with. :-)

    • I did not get married until I was 29 and did not have kids until I was 33 and 38 –you have lots of time–so what if my youngest son came home when he was in grade 3 and said some of the kids in his class had grandmothers my age–

      • “some of the kids in his class had grandmothers my age–”

        LOL!

      • you can imagine I did not LOL when I first heard this – now I think it is funny

      • Actually this is the kind of tale that my mom would use as a warning to me. ;-)

  8. That was a beautiful post! I am that girl 30 years ago now, I pray that God carries us to 30 years and much longer. I pray the same for you and yours.

    • Can always use a prayer-thankyou for the compliment. On this side of it–30 years seemed liked nothing–it went by so fast.

  9. A great bit congratulations to you both. We are heading towards 25. Any points to getting to the big 30 with his head still on would be great :)

    • sometimes you just gotta have a bad memory and remember why you married him in the first place – works for me (I am just sort of joking here)

  10. Happy 30th anniversary!

  11. Happy Anniversary … and quite the milestone too! …. (and thanks for visiting my little corner of blogland.)

  12. That’s a huge accomplishment…congratulations!!! And to many more healthy ones

  13. Congratulations! My husband and I mark 25 years this year. The secret is marrying your best friend :) And thank you ever so much for supporting my blogging efforts. Means a lot!

  14. Thank you and congratsx on your silver! Enjoy your blog


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 611 other followers

