On Trend for 2012

You can thank me later. Flowers and chocolates are also acceptable rewards. To keep you up to date and on trend, I am providing for you “What is In and What is Out” for 2012. Of course I am not savvy enough or sustainably “with it” enough to come in with what is in and what is out by myself, so I turn to Detroit News Design Writer, Sue Pollack, who either has the audacity or expertise or the audacious expertise to predict what will be trending for 2012, and what is to be left by the wayside.

I do not in any way agree with all her predictions, and saying that people are out of fashion is not something I approve of, but I do love 2012’s new colour of the year: Tangerine Tango. I love orange in all of its flashy glory, from yellow oranges to this year’s tangy “high energy hue” which Pollack says is turning up in everything from “appliances and ottomans to pillows and throw rugs.” She says that it is “the perfect antidote to winter blues and all the recent doom and gloom.” (I think the Mayan prediction that the world is going to end in December is the doom and gloom she is referring to.)

Unfortunately if Tangerine Tango is the new colour, then there must be an old colour—and its demise is not one I will miss. Honeysuckle pink is apparently no longer the reigning queen of colours. Now pink is not at the top of my list of favourite colours, but if it is one of yours, I give you permission to ignore tangerine tango, or unite the two in a burst of colour combination and co-ordination henceforth unknown. Will pink and orange be the new black and white? Not in my world, but if it is in your world, the more power to you.

It just figures when I finally get a pair of Uggs (mine are fake Uggs) they are out. Supposedly L.L. Bean duck boots are in. But are they made of doe coloured suede with a plush lining? I think not. I will save duck boots for the spring thank-you and cuddle into my fake Uggs for the rest of this thus far mild winter.

I have a few bones to pick with Pollack (besides the one that has now labelled me a foot fashion has-been.)  She says Nate Berkus is out and the new program “The Chew” is in. Have you ever watched “The Chew”? The high level of enthusiasm is over the top and sometimes frenetic—I think some of the people featured on that program (Carla) could give you a seizure. I like Nate’s calm, cool, and collected demeanour—by no means would I replace him.

Susan Boyle, Charlie Sheen, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Maria Shriver are out, replaced by Michael Buble, Ryan Goslisng and William and Kate.

Lost (Michael Bublé song)

Lost (Michael Bublé song) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Live With Regis and Kelly” is out and Dr. Oz is in. I would like to know how you get to make these pronouncements.  Has anyone told Susan or Regis that they are out? I can just imagine that call—“Hello, I am calling to inform you that you may as well roll up the rug of your life, as you are no longer “in”. You are out of favour, out of style, and may as well turn in your keys.”

As you have probably gathered, I read these lists out of interest, but not because they are a guide to running your life in 2012. If you like ski masks and small brim fedoras, recessed lighting, frozen Yogurt, country crafts, pop-tarts, Craig Ferguson, clogs, and fast-food drive-thrus, then stay true to you and do not replace them with critter caps and trapper hats with mega earflaps, hanging light fixtures, Greek yogurt, kids’ art projects, steel cut oats, Jimmy Fallon, moccasins, or food trucks.

Myself, I will mix and match my “ins” and “outs” but probably not replace them, with one rather pointed exception. For some reason, bullying was on the 2011 list and has been replaced by acceptance for 2012. I would like to know when “bullying” was ever in. It was not “in” in 2011. I imagine it was put on the list to foster acceptance—but to ever put it on a list as “de rigeur”, even in the past, is just wrong.

These lists are valuable in that they predict the trends, but better than that, they make us think about what we hold near and dear, and what we are willing to let go. I do not mind if honeysuckle pink is no longer “in”, but it may be your favourite colour, and I respect that. I am happy my favourite colour is going to enjoy the spotlight, but when it is out of favour next year, I will not abandon tangerine tango.

Published in: on January 11, 2012 at 6:57 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/01/11/on-trend-for-2012/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh no recessed lighting is out….I just put them throughout my new house!

  2. Seriously-who listens to trends? You house is beautiful–you have no worries -


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 628 other followers

